We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“English Pub... Amman Style”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rover's Return Pub

Ranked #157 of 620 Restaurants in Amman
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“English Pub... Amman Style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Rovers does have an 'English Pub' feel to it... nice large mugs of draught beer, the music and conversation are loud, and it's definitely a place for smokers.

The snacks are not bad, although the sea food can sometimes miss the mark.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarcHildreth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    19
    14
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Old English pub style with a twist”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

I love this place, it has a unique atmosphere, it has the right balance of noisy chit chat, music and waiters buzzing about. A great place to hang out and catch up with friends for a drink. Also the food is great especially some bitty sides to go with drinks are the spicy chicken wings.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DoctorTTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bit of The West in Amman”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We found this pub during Ramadan in Amman.it was one of a few places serving alcoholic drinks. Having a beer after a day in the sun at the Dead Sea was great, however there were other good points as well. Food, while English pub style was good - fresh and as expected, staff were friendly & it felt warm & inviting. It was smokey, but that seems to be a characteristic of many places in the Middle East. We enjoyed our visit and would recommend it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank USA1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Level Contributor
328 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Too much smoke for me.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Rover's Return has a good pub atmosphere - from the time before smoking awareness! As the evening goes on the smoke gets thicker. The pub is busy and the pub food is good but the smoke spoils it for me. The next day my voice was croaky form the smoke and my clothes smelt. I don't want this type of atmosphere any more.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great casual hand out after work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

I love to frequent Rover's Return, specially after a long day at work. Staff is friendly, food is very good, and atmosphere is nice. Our favorite salad is Salamon. Very yummy!! Although it is small, you always manage to find a seat, whether on the bar, or at a table. Summer time, you can enjoy the terrace outside, too.

Helpful?
Thank mkhaiy
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Rover's Return Pub also viewed

 

Been to Rover's Return Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing