We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice value for money - Economical”
Review of Canary Hotel

Canary Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canary Hotel
Ranked #88 of 145 Hotels in Amman
Goma, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice value for money - Economical”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

After spending 4 nights in a so-called 4 star hotel in Amman, forced by the organizers, I shifted here to spend 2 nights. It was Dec 2006. Since the days were spent at Hyatt Hotel in the exhibition, therefore needed hotel only to spend the night and breakfast. Was lucky to find a friendly swiss couple who gave me a well needed pain killer. It is a small, neat clean hotel for those seeking an economical option to spend their nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    9
    5
    7
See reviews for
4
13
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I had a nice day in this hotel. It is a good hotel if you are looking for something very simple, and you need more like a room only for sleeping. But, if you are looking for a relaxing place where you can have spa, or swimming pool, this is definitely not the best choice.
It was perfect for me, when I came in my room it was clean but I have stayed there for one week, and it is important to mention that they did not clean during my stay.
Also, the staff is nice even tough they barely speak English, except one named Sam, working at the reception mainly the morning, he is able to speak and to understand you in English.
So, I recommend this hotel if you don't have too high expectations, you should go for it...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This small hotel is in a convenient quiet residential location . It is reasonably clean and serves a basic breakfast. It 's strong points are the reasonable cost, the helpful English speaking manager and having wifi in the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel reminds me of places I stayed with my family in Athens in the early 80s - no frills, but conveniently located with very helpful staff. I stayed here in Dec 2012 with my cousin and mother while travelling around Jordan. We had a triple which was a good size - enough space for all of us. The bathroom is basic, but there was hot water and it was clean. the hotel is located in a residential neighbourhood, but is a short walk to streets with lots of cabs. We found it very quiet except for the early morning call to prayer, but there's no getting away from that. Breakfast was, again, basic Mediterranean (there's a theme here) but definitely enough to fill you up.

The staff were helpful with any questions and when my mother left her cell charger in the room the first time we stayed there they kept it safe and gave it back to her when we returned.

Should I ever find myself back in Amman, I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank telechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Excellent two star hotel, very cheap and decent. People there are very helpfull and they have great contacts in many areas in need of any help. Its in the city so close to everything. Beds are comfortable. The toailets are weak in a way when you flash the water so dont throw anything in it like papers etc. They have a kitchen and fridge to use and Internet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashraf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The last time I was here was in 2002. A long time, I know but I stayed for nearly three weeks. The staff were absolutely excellent. Extremely friendly place, small and very helpful staff, including the manager/owner. So much better than the non descript chain hotels. This a true taste of the Jordanian capital. Next to downtown Amman and close to abdeli (sp) bus station, where you can catch a bus to almost anywhere. I can't wait to go again and this is where I will stay.
Thanks for the extra egg you gave me at breakfast each day,
I'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AltyDek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have stayed at the Canary Hotel 2X and the price has always been fixed, so I am not sure what the misunderstanding could be about the price. I was there 2 weeks ago as the "construction", that was mentioned, was a man who was installing stone to the wall for decoration and improvement. There was no issue and it looked great when he was finished. The staff are great, very helpful, knowledgeable and always smiling. This is a budget hotel and I found it clean and yes, lots of hot water anytime I needed it. It is worth the money and walking down the hill to get a cheap cab to anywhere, was never an issue.

Room Tip: This is a quiet hotel in a residential area so room location is good anywhere in the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amman hotels
3.2 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#25 of 145 in Amman
222 reviews
3.8 mi away
Zaman Ya Zaman Boutique Hotel
3.8 mi away
Ameer Alsharq Hotel
Ameer Alsharq Hotel
#84 of 145 in Amman
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kahramana Hotel
Kahramana Hotel
#104 of 145 in Amman
12 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jordan Tower Hotel
Jordan Tower Hotel
#17 of 145 in Amman
471 reviews
3.6 mi away
Arab Tower Hotel
Arab Tower Hotel
#18 of 145 in Amman
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canary Hotel

Property: Canary Hotel
Address: Al Karmaly St, Amman 11191, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 145 Hotels in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Canary Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Canary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canary Hotel Amman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing