We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old hotel but good food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amman International Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Amman International Hotel
Ranked #8 of 148 Hotels in Amman
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Old hotel but good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2006

That was my first stay in Intercon Amman, i went there for 1 day business meeting. At the entry the reception staff was quite welcoming, she even remebered my name when i can back asking her about certain activities in the hotel, big A.
The room was fine, complimentary coffee/te maker was there and some nice chocolate & fruits plate. The floor marble looks very old, the door access made some pain to open, you have to try couple of times swiping it until you get the access. Room service were almost not available as i went out of the room at 8 AM and returned at almost 3 PM and found it untidy as i left.
I used internet service in the room where an ADSL modem is there and it was free of charge, pretty good for a 5 star hotel.
At night i went to the terrace where they have couple of restaurants and i choose Burj Al Hamam to have dinner and watch the worldcup match between Poland and Netherlands. Food was good and i had hublee bublee (Shisha) which tasted also good. All the four restaurants where completely full, good indication for good food & service.
I recommend the dining in the hotel more than the stay.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wdalati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    124
    38
    12
    1
See reviews for
62
97
32
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2005

We stayed at this hotel fo 2 seperate nights stay. It looked like a nice hotel on arrival. We were dissapointed with the reception staff. We found them to be unhelpful and it seemed like they wanted to chat to themselves rather than help us. The room was average and was clean at all times. I found the room to be on the smaller size compared with other hotels we have stayed at in Jordan. The food was of an ok standard with an average range of variety. We bought lunch at the hotel and it was fairly nice. Although it was quiet in the restaurant, it took ages to get the food. There are various take aways about a 5 min walk from the hotel. The pool did not look inviting and we never saw anyone in it during our stay. For majority of the day it was in the shade which could explain why it was so empty. Overall it is an ok hotel but would prefer to stay elsewhere if I were to return to Amman.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LisaR77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2005

What a great all round professional hotel. The staff were friendly, rooms impeccably clean and large. Great bed. Nice quiet location. Breakfast was yumbo. The staff made us up omlettes every morning even though they weren't on the buffet and the fresh bread was delicous. It's in a great location next to Jordan uni, there are stacks of takeaway places up the road and cheap 24 hour internet, taxi's are ultra easy to find too, about 2-3JD to down town, 1.5JD to Abdali bus station,get them to use the meter. I would definately recommend this place and stay again!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank perugirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2005

Greeted on arrival by a middle aged man in tradional clothing who was extremely nice. The reception staff were very business like - not friendly at all. We ordered room service the first night and it was brought from the kitchen to our room without any covering, apart from the hygiene factor, the food was cold and the quality was poor. Breakfast was also very ordinary, we had to ask for napkins both morning's we stayed even though there were staff wondering around (not sure what they were doing!). We stayed there for 2 days then went to Petra and then came back for another day. The mini-bar in the room had only soft drink and no drink listing was provided. We had our own alcohol with us. On leaving we were asked to pay for 2 beers from the mini-fridge and were given a look of suspicion when we said there were no beers in the fridge when we arrived! On our second stay there were no towels, so I went into the foyer and asked one of the housemaids for some towels. She had a look in our bathroom first I might add and then gave us two bath towels. She had not hand towels and said she would return with them, but she didn't which was no surprise. I also found this hotel was too far out of the city. The rooms were very small, but clean the staff very unfriendly and the hotel was poorly managed.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bashar T, Manager at Amman International Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Greetings from Amman International Hotel, I'm very sorry for the late reply but we only recently discovered that you can respond to customers reviews.

Obviously I cannot make excuses for the conduct of my staff six years ago, I would like to offer my apologies for your experience in our hotel.

I would like to mention that we have used your review in our training programs over the last few years and I am happy to say that we have improved and changed dramatically.

Again I apologies and thank you for your review, without it we wouldn't have been able to recognize our problems and correct our weaknesses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2005

We stayed there at the end of May beginning of June, the hotel was clean and tidy and it was nice to be greeted at the hotel by a man in traditional dress who was very helpful, as were the reception staff.

We had a room at the front of the hotel and whilst we had a small balcony it looked over onto bare scrubland and wasn’t very nice. As you can imagine two females travelling together we simply had to sort out the most important things first – like ‘where do we plug in the hairdryer?’ We eventually managed to find a spare plug socket behind the dressing table which also housed the mini bar so it weighed a ton! We had fun and games moving that I can tell you!

This is definitely a business mans hotel and my friend and I felt a bit uncomfortable at the hotel despite the fact that we were staying there with a mixed group including children. On the days when we decided to rest and relax at the hotel we were sunbathing down by the pool – I must admit those pool side windows were sparkling – funny that! - A few women around in bathing costumes and suddenly the windows need cleaning!

One night we decided not to go out and we ate in the hotel the food was lovely but we felt as if we shouldn’t be there, we paid the full price on the menu whilst another couple who were travelling with us were offered a set menu – they ate the same as we did but paid an awful lot less! Couldn’t quite work that one out!

We then decided to go downstairs to the bar for a drink as it was still only about 10 o’clock! Hmmm bad move – the bar was full of middle aged men watching a huge TV screen showing nothing but swimwear fashion shoots with very very semi clad ladies! The waitresses certainly made no bones about the fact that we weren’t really welcome there!

And whilst I appreciate this is a Muslim country and they have their traditions – which we respected when we were out and about we did feel that for an ‘International’ hotel we should have been able to relax a bit more when in the hotel.

The location left a lot to be desired. It is close to the university so to find any decent restaurants you had to take a taxi ride into other locations, unless of course you prefer Burger King, MacDonald’s or Pizza Hut. Fortunately we were visiting friends out there so we only used the hotel as a base most of the time.

Jordan is an amazing country and Petra has to been seen to be believed – I’ve seen in on the TV – I’ve read about it in books but I really wasn’t prepared for just how spectacular it was. It’s a must! We went down by bus and stopped off at the Dead Sea on the way – we had a very relaxing afternoon wallowing in the sea and covering ourselves with the mineral rich Dead Sea mud – and yes it really does make your skin feel lovely and soft and glowing with health. We stayed overnight at a small hotel before getting up early to sample the delights of Petra – WOW!!

Whilst over there the Jordanian people we met were very friendly and polite and as we were there for a wedding we were made most welcome, it was lovely to be invited to join in their celebrations, the henna night (hen night minus men and alcohol) was an experience and although language was a bit of a barrier we did manage to have a nice evening and even got a henna tattoo into the bargain. The wedding party itself was full of tradition and we felt privileged to be there.

Shopping in Amman is another cultural experience and our suitcases were well over the limit on our return, costume jewellery, pashmenas, shawls and all manor of wonderful trinkets and nik naks!! Not to mention the nuts and the sweets!! (No best not mention them!!).

Taxis are cheap and plentiful but I advise you to close your eyes!!! Also some of the cars would never be allowed on the roads over here watch out for the fumes. We managed to find a very nice taxi driver called Emad who spoke extremely good English. We were so impressed with him we booked his taxi to take us to Jeresh for the day – and he acted as our unofficial guide – all for about £20! Talking to him we found out things about the culture that we would never have appreciated if we’d just been reading it in books. We were even invited to dinner by the lady who managed the rest rooms! With Emad as our translator we had a fascinating insight into the lives of the women over there – it makes you think about all the things we take for granted here! So if you want a really good taxi driver in Amman call Emad on 0795371307.

Have a great visit!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bouedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bashar T, Manager at Amman International Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Greetings from Amman International, I'm very sorry for the very late reply, truth be told we did not discover that we could actually reply to guests reviews until recently, we have been actually using your comments(and others on TA) for training purposes over the last few years.

Starting off with the rooms, we actually took your review into account and revamped all the rooms in the hotel to ensure that the guests had easily accessible outlets as well as a master power switch by the bed, we also installed energy saving switches by the door.

The scrub land is an eyesore(less so in springtime) we have requested from the municipality that something be done about it but it is out of peoples hands as the land is privately owned, and the owners are not interested in it, hopefully plans are being made in cleaning things up and planting it.

as you might guess, six years is a very long time and I'm proud to admit that we have changed dramatically over the years, we have new and improved management that ensures that staff are well disciplined and trained to deal with customers from around the world, we have also opened a new lounge/ bar for customers interested in a more quiet drinks, we also designated the bar you visited as a sports bar/ restaurant.

Thank you again and i cannot emphasize how much your review helped us improve and with our training for our staff over the years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amman hotels
3.6 mi away
Le Meridien Amman
Le Meridien Amman
#5 of 148 in Amman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
5.7 mi away
Amman Pasha Hotel
Amman Pasha Hotel
#9 of 148 in Amman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ayass Hotel
Ayass Hotel
#11 of 148 in Amman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
InterContinental Amman
4.5 mi away
Toledo Amman Hotel
Toledo Amman Hotel
#14 of 148 in Amman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
3.4 mi away
Amman Marriott Hotel
Amman Marriott Hotel
#10 of 148 in Amman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amman International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amman International Hotel

Property: Amman International Hotel
Address: Al Habbab Ibn Al Mundhir | Jordan University Rd, Amman 11181, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 148 Hotels in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amman International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amman International Hotel is a luxury four stars hotel with many benefits of a five star hotel, Ideal for travelers who seek business, leisure, and home comforts where relaxing atmosphere, warm welcome and personal service are naturally extended with a genuine difference. Its excellent location gives easy access to all main city attractions such as King Hussain Sports City, Royal Culture theatre, Military museum, whilst Jordan University, The citadel, National archaeological museum and Roman Amphitheater and many other modern shopping centers are all withen minutes of driving distance, whilst Queen Alia International Airport is just 17 miles away. The hotel can arrange comprehensive range of tailored services which includes guided city tours, day trips around jordan etc.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Amman International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing