We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good in-transit hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amman International Hotel
Ranked #4 of 142 Hotels in Amman
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good in-transit hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night after a 4-day tour of Jordan. We departed the country the following day. The room was a bit small but was clean and quiet. The internet was free. The hotel staff allowed us a late checkout (2pm) with no charge. The restaurant was fine and we had both dinner and breakfast there. There is a small workout room which we used in the morning. The location of the hotel is up a side street on a bit of a hill. We went for a walk along the main road which straddles Jordan University. There really wasn't much to see or do in the surrounding area so we just went for a long walk and returned to the hotel. Overall, the hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. If you're looking for a clean comfortable hotel on your way in or out of Amman this place would suit your purposes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    127
    39
    12
    1
See reviews for
64
102
33
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Good: The housekeeping was exceptional. The free wifi was fast and signals were strong across the hotel, the breakfast was ample and tasty, the room in itself was tasteful though sparse, the staff were very helpful and the location was perfect.

The bad: The hotel is def. a bit dated, and it shows. I was pretty taken aback by how small the rooms were, for a hotel that claims to be 4 star. The in house cab service was 2-3 times the price of taxis on the street. Again, for a 4 star hotel the swimming pool was freezing - a heated pool should def. be on their list if they are serious about upgrading.

The Ugly: I paid a premium 12JD ($18) to be taken to the bus stand (4 min drive, 2.5 km max) in a beat up old car that looked older than myself! That was a truly disappointing experience considering that the hotel had 2 alternative, newer and far more decent looking vehicles available to begin with. That was def. not cool.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SemiMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bashar T, Manager at Amman International Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello

I'm very happy you enjoyed your time in our hotel, and that you were satisfied with our staff and services.

The hotel is only 30 years old and we are on a constant cycle of improvements and upgrading, as you may have read from previous guests , we have just completed a brand new floor and gym. we plan to work on our lobby next.

The reason our car prices are higher is that we offer a better quality service that your standard street taxi, the driver has a more extensive knowledge of the city, he speaks English, the cars are tracked by satellite, and insured for any accident. of course when guests do not wish to use our service we happily send for a yellow cab for them and do out best to make sure the guest reaches their intended destination and knows how to get back.

About our Pool, we usually heat the pool throughout summer when our guests use it the most and switch it off during fall and winter. I apologies for the cold and I will reassess our policy.

Concerning your trip in our car, I have investigated the situation and would like to apologies for the car they took you in, the night shift manager made a very poor judgment call. I am told it was very late at night and the other cars were not available, so he gave you the only car we had available(our service car), I believe you should have not been charged the amount and offered the trip for free, in fact I will send you a personal message in a moment to get your details so that we may refund the amount you were charged as soon as possible.

Hope you have a nice day, and apologies again for the lapse in service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

the hotel is quite old, though hygiene, food and service are good. staff is very customer oriented! since we'd a rental car and the taxi rates (for 3JOD) to city centre cheap the location was ok, two remarks: 1. moskee in the street, 2. own cab service is 3x higher!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tvd78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Food: it is better than most five stars hotels in Amman! yes belive it or not.
Location: Perfect, not so close to the main street (Jordan University St.) not too far , quite in the mountain middle section , no noise unless there is a wedding of course :)
Service: depending on the staff and like human beings: no one is perfect , but still they will make up for any inconvenience, as the hotel is working strongly to become 5 stars.
Restaurant: Pool/ mountain view terrace
Rooms: try to get in the 5th floor which is new and for non smokers , still other hotel rooms are very good.
Executive Suites: one of the best I've ever seen

Room Tip: Fifth floor and suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Since I come every month on business to Amman, I tried this hotel once. Small rooms but clean. Staff is friendly, but not professional. I saw a staff member in the restaurant picking up nuts from the breakfast buffet and eating every time he walked up and down, which surely is not a sight you would expect. The toiletries are cheap roadside stuff - surely not the kind you would expect in a self professed 4 star. So, you bring your own toiletries. Frequent travellers like me may forget a tooth brush and if you ask for one from the house keeping, you will pay as much as $5 for a flimsy stuff.

As for price, it is just a couple of dinars less than Holiday Inn or Ibis, where at least house keeping is more elegant and would not cost you anything extra. As such, the price advantage does not work well for Amman International.

In all, a 2 to 3 star quality hotel labelled as 4 star. Professional training of the staff can improve the quality.

Surely not a hotel that I would return to as you will get better value for that money in Amman in Holiday Inn or Ibis.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sramaraju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Amman International Hotel while doing day tours to Jordan attractions. The staff are very welcoming and want to make your stay as relaxed as possible. Our room was clean and fresh and the whole hotel in excellent order and in a quiet area of Amman. The WiFi worked well and allowed us to catch up with family and friends. Best hotel we have stayed in of its type in the Middle East.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antonio1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

It was a short stay, nice hotel, nice rooms, clean and neat, very good servic, location is great, few minutes from major attractions and businesses, it was Ramadan yet the breakfast service was good, a good place to stay for business, pleasure and relaxiation,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darra2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amman hotels
3.6 mi away
Le Meridien Amman
Le Meridien Amman
#5 of 142 in Amman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
5.8 mi away
Amman Pasha Hotel
Amman Pasha Hotel
#10 of 142 in Amman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ayass Hotel
Ayass Hotel
#7 of 142 in Amman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
InterContinental Amman
3.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amman
3.9 mi away
The Boulevard Arjaan by Rotana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amman International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amman International Hotel

Property: Amman International Hotel
Address: Al Habbab Ibn Al Mundhir | Jordan University Rd, Amman 11181, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 142 Hotels in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amman International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amman International Hotel is a luxury four stars hotel with many benefits of a five star hotel, Ideal for travelers who seek business, leisure, and home comforts where relaxing atmosphere, warm welcome and personal service are naturally extended with a genuine difference. Its excellent location gives easy access to all main city attractions such as King Hussain Sports City, Royal Culture theatre, Military museum, whilst Jordan University, The citadel, National archaeological museum and Roman Amphitheater and many other modern shopping centers are all withen minutes of driving distance, whilst Queen Alia International Airport is just 17 miles away. The hotel can arrange comprehensive range of tailored services which includes guided city tours, day trips around jordan etc.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amman International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing