We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Palace Amman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Palace Amman
Ranked #37 of 148 Hotels in Amman
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at the start of our 7 night independent tour of Jordan and one night at the end. Our tour was organised by Atlas Tours for Bunnik Tours (Australia). This hotel was quiet, clean and provided a pretty good standard of accommodation. Our first room was spacious, airy, and quiet and although it had definitely been a smoking room, the lingering smell was not so bad that we needed to ask for a change. We felt that the reception staff were somewhat off hand but this didn't bother us unduly. Wakeup calls were on time. We loved watching the pups playing happily on the rooftop of the neighbouring building. The beds were a bit old and the springs could be felt, however this didnt stop us getting a good sleep. Our 2nd room, at the end of our trip, was next to the first, but it did not smell of smoke and somehow appeared to be much brighter. We really enjoyed our room on the 2nd visit. The bed springs were still able to be felt... time for replacements? Sleep quality should only be "good" - I couldn't change the rating. Each time, the breakfast was excellent. Dinner on our last night was included in the package and it was superb! It was in the adjoining hotel.
This hotel is perfectly ok for middle of the road accommodation. Nothing special, but great value. The hotel seemed to be reasonably centrally positioned in a quiet area of Amman.

Room Tip: Ensure you specify non smoking and ask for a room with a new mattress!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    104
    123
    28
    9
See reviews for
37
91
28
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We staid at the Grand Palace for one night only, on our arrival in Jordan and before setting off on a tour of the country.
The hotel is about 40 minutes drive from the airport, but bear in mind that traffic at peak hour can be manic.
The hotel is nice and spacious, we were welcomed by the very smiley staff and swiftly checked in.
Our room on the 4th floor was absolutely huge, one of the biggest I've ever seen.
Decor was perhaps a little '80s, but all very nice and tasteful and in good condition.
Lovely spacious bathroom with lots of toiletries. And complimentary bottles of water too, together with coffee and tea-making facilities.

The hotel offers WiFi, which is very fast but a little too pricey at 10 dinar for a day. A 4 star really ought to offer this service for free.
We had dinner at the buffet restaurant, which had a decent variety, something for everyone, though again not 4 star quality I think.
Breakfast in the morning was much nicer, with a big variety of everything.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel for an overnight stay, but perhaps they should consider making the WiFi complimentary and improve the food quality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuisaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel was chosen because it was 5 minutes away from an event I was attending for work. The last time I stayed in Amman I was dissapointed so I was hoping for a better experience at this hotel.

Whilst the decor and the rooms are a bit old and dated, they are very comfortable and a nice size. The rooms were not serviced very well - the minibar was not replenished, the toiletries didn't include shower gel/body wash, conditioner, or body lotion. The towels were not replaced either. So this was dissapointing.

However, the room service food was great and always very timely. The staff on the front desk were very knowledgable and were able to advise me about distances and how much to expect a taxi to charge me for a journey. They also gave me a free 7 day internet password which saved me 50JD.

So all in all, if you want outright luxury, this isn't your place, but if you want somewhere comfortable with genuinely friendly staff, then give this place a go.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Briangreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Rooms on the smaller side, but quite comfortable. Problem in March was the ventilation: no AC was switched on, and rooms were very hot.
The wifi functioned well, and the bread selection and quality is worth to mention for the breakfast. max 10 minutes by shuttle to the airport.
Will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasparainens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for several nights in February 2013, as part of a group. The hotel accommodations are pleasant. The rooms are decent-sized, with well appointed baths. The European plan meals in the dining room are fine, if not elegant. Wi-fi is fast, but but wasn't included in our room rate, but was a bit pricey. Service is cordial and efficient. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: High floors are better, but the neighborhood is not noisy, so any room should be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrumpetDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel was a decent one included on my 9 day tour of Jordan.
The staff was pretty good, they were able to answer all of my questions.
The room itself was alright, a little bit shabby and in need of some upgrading, and re-decorating.
It wasn't the best hotel I've ever stayed in, but not the worst either.
There isn't much around the hotel itself to go and do or see, I would consider it a good stopover hotel and that's about it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plavaseka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
421 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I found it difficult to rate this hotel. There was nothing wrong with it: the rooms were comfortable and clean and the bathroom was quite nice. It was located just a short walk away from shops and some small local restaurants. However, there was nothing really great about it either: the decor was a bit old and outdated and the breakfast was pretty uninspiring with stale bread and a selection of various hot and cold dishes that didn't look very appetising. Overall it was a fine place to come back to each evening after a full day of sightseeing but not somewhere I would want to spend a long time at.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missyb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amman hotels
0.0 mi away
Regency Palace Amman
Regency Palace Amman
#36 of 148 in Amman
3.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.0 mi away
Corp Amman Hotel
Corp Amman Hotel
#22 of 148 in Amman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sulaf Luxury
Sulaf Luxury
#40 of 148 in Amman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Imperial Palace Hotel
Imperial Palace Hotel
#107 of 148 in Amman
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.5 mi away
AlQasr Metropole Hotel
AlQasr Metropole Hotel
#17 of 148 in Amman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
1.3 mi away
Toledo Amman Hotel
Toledo Amman Hotel
#14 of 148 in Amman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palace Amman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palace Amman

Property: Grand Palace Amman
Address: Queen Alya Street and Sport, Amman 11192, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palace Amman 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Palace Amman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Grand Palace Hotel Amman
Golden Tulip Hotel Amman
Golden Tulip Amman
Amman Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing