We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice friendly comfortable hotel in west Amman”
Review of Le Meridien Amman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien Amman
Ranked #7 of 143 Hotels in Amman
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A nice friendly comfortable hotel in west Amman”
Reviewed October 27, 2009

I stayed here for two nights a few weeks ago. I thought that the hotel was great, the lobby was good for relaxing in the evening and for people watching, I found the staff friendly and helpfull. There is an outside pool and an inside one within a health centre, I'm not sure if you are supposed to pay extra for this but I didn't and I found the indoor pool very relaxing.

There are several restaurants in the hotel but I stayed there on a half board basis so I can only comment on one. The breakfast was good, a mixed choice of oriental, middle eastern and european, something for everyone and it was a bit busy and as someone has already said that it is like a cafeteria, yes I suppose it is but it's still of a high standard, what do you expect from a busy, big 5 star hotel. The evening meal buffet was good and had a few choices of international food.

The room that I stayed in was fine, (not old fashioned as some guests have described their rooms) and it contained a marble bathroom. The bed was really comfortable and I slept really well and didn't hear any outside traffic.

If you drink alcohol, it will cost you at the time of writing about 10 euros per pint (of Amstel) and there is nowhere to buy it nearby.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Amman and to anyone that has moaned about it, where else is better in Amman?

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TooWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    383
    140
    45
    20
See reviews for
176
285
104
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amman - Jordan
2 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2009

I slept in this hotel after my wedding before leaving Jordan for my honeymoon. this hotel was great! everything i need is available in it. high speed internet, coffee shop (starbucks), spa, swiming pool, valet parking, a well organized meeting room.
rooms are clean and fabulous. its the most beuatiful hotel room i've been in.
rooms area are quite and other area's are full of life.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmania07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times, most recently September 2009. It's a good big-chain hotel. Even the basic rooms are spacious and comfortable, and although I didn't use it, my room had a flat-screen TV. The curtains are thick, well-lined, and draw properly, so it's possible to sleep even when the sun is shining directly into the room.

The breakfast buffet has an enormous selection (everything from sushi to traditional English), and the food quality is generally very high. There is a wide choice of restaurants in the hotel for evening meals, from steakhouse to Lebanese. I found the staff friendly (without being over-friendly), and helpful.

It's also easy to get taxis from just outside the hotel, for considerably less than what the transportation desk can arrange.

My room was well supplied with lights, but not all worked. It's a shame there isn't wireless internet access in the rooms, but wired is available (at a cost) in room. There is short-term free wireless at the Starbucks coffee outlet off the lobby.

The hotel is obviously a popular venue for conferences and weddings, which can be a little noisy, but the bands stopped for the night at 10.45 pm, which I was happy with.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dew's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

We stayed here one night in September during Ramadan. The hotel has a nice swimming pool and many restaurants (even a Starbucks). Rooms facing Amman (south) have a nice view. The room was renovated (looked quite new) and had everything we needed and much more. We did a visit to Mecca Mall with a taxi (2.5JD one way), this is a modern Mall with a lot of stores and rather cheap prices compared to Europe (atleast to Belgium). We also enjoyed the Iftar moment here. Stores close around 18:00 and streets get very busy. We ate in the Mall where it was very busy but it was a nice experience. If you visit Jordan during Ramadan, go outside your hotel and enjoy Iftar at one of Amman's restaurants or malls ! Shops open again around 20:00 till midnight. We didn't try breakfast since we had to leave the hotel early, we bought food at the mall (0.200JD for water in the mall so if you want some go to there and don't buy in the hotel)
I would stay here again !

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
119 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

I used to enjoy this place. No more. Like a lot of Meridiens, it badly needs refurbishing -- but that isn't the problem. The problem is the service. The staff are in serious need of retraining and an attitude transplant. I'll be in Amman again in November and I won't be staying here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bagster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Despite contemporary design in public areas, the rooms not only need refubrishment, but also have depressing colours specially the wall-to-wall carpets and curtains. The Club lounge recepionist failed to greet us upon entering the lounge, also when leaving it and lounge waiter does not smile, nor did he exert the effort of removing the wrappings from the canapes dishes. Similar unfriendly and aggressive service was encountered at the Julien Bar at noon last Saturday. The dressing of the Caesar salad at the 282 Steak Restaurant is simply unacceptable.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HazemHussein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2009

Stayed 2 nights. The 'communal' areas of this place are top notch, and the Lebanise poolside restaurant is possibly the best food I have had anywhere in the Middle East. The service is just about ok for a 5*. The place is slightly let down by the rooms, which whilst fine, are on the edge of not being fine. I think people expect modern these days, and these were about 10 years old and looking their age. No Wireless, Old TVs, the odd cracked tile. No big deal, but I would be interested to check out the Four Seasons etc. (BTW popped into the Marriott and it look awful)

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rarely_stationary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amman hotels
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Amman
2.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amman
0.2 mi away
Amman Marriott Hotel
Amman Marriott Hotel
#11 of 143 in Amman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Amman
Grand Hyatt Amman
#10 of 143 in Amman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
1.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Amman
0.5 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Amman
Kempinski Hotel Amman
#12 of 143 in Amman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Amman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Amman

Property: Le Meridien Amman
Address: Queen Noor Street | Shmeisani, Amman 11195, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amman
#3 Business Hotel in Amman
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amman
#5 Spa Hotel in Amman
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Amman 5*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Amman is located in the centre of Amman and is a walk away from the Citadel, Roman Theatre, and many malls and shopping areas. The health club includes sauna and steam rooms, massage and facial treatments and indoor/outdoor pools. The hotel has numerous restaurants offering Japanese, Chinese, Italian, Lebanese cuisine, in addition to a steak house. World-class conference facilities include the Royal Convention Centre, which accommodates 1,200 guests and features the latest audiovisual equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Amman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Amman Hotel Amman
Amman Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing