We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Amman

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Amman
Ranked #4 of 140 Hotels in Amman
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level Contributor
89 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Room for improvement....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Overall OK. Staff faultless, but was disappointed in a couple of respects.

1. Was certain wifi was included in the (Club) room rate but apparently not! That said, on occasions, there wasn't even a signal in my room, so the benefit of wifi may be somewhat limited. I stay about 95 nights a year in hotels and being charged for Wifi is my biggest beef. This is a 5* hotel and absolutely should include wifi at least in the Club rooms or lobby

2. As others have commented, the rooms and furnishings are dated and minor maintenance is required (shower head sprayed everywhere for example), window almost impossible to open and room temp was too cold despite best attempts to increase it

Lobby area wonderfully impressive, gym was fine (but crowded around 20.00), plenty of choices for breakfast and as noted, charming and attentive staff at all points of contact.

Am returning as client gets a corp rate at le Merridien (though no cheaper than via here it seemed!), but would prefer a hotel with comp wifi and less dated rooms.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Cocoda-Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    333
    120
    40
    17
See reviews for
143
245
86
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I had a week-long stay for business at Le Meridien recently, and would stay here again. The hotel is spacious and comfortable, with polite staff and great amenities. The gym and pool were really excellent, and I enjoyed the outdoor jacuzzi and steam room on several evenings. The rooms are slightly dated, but comfortable and clean nonetheless. The conference rooms are very good, and the buffet breakfast was noteworthy- an excellent blend of middle eastern and western cuisine. I would also note that Al Mukhtar, the Lebanese restaurant in the hotel, was simply stellar. We ate there several times, and enjoyed shisha on the outdoor terrace- they had a live oud player one evening as well, which was a lovely touch. The Hercules temple and other historic sites were only a short cab ride away, so the location was also very good for some sightseeing. My husband took a day-trip to the Dead Sea arranged through the hotel and enjoyed it very much. Would recommend this hotel for business or pleasure!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank LadyEsqDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Le Meridien lives up to its 5 stars on an international level. All facilities (swimming pool, gym. Spa, etc.) are excellent. The rooms are spacious and well equiped. The hotel has some rooms that do not have heating. We recommend to check for this in case you stay there in winter.

Room Tip: Check if heating is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I had booked a night at this hotel through Expedia. The advertisement explicitly stated that the room package I had bought came with complimentary internet. This turned out to be a mistake (I think from what the hotel had posted on Expedia).

At checkout, I pointed out that I should not be charged for the internet. The front desk manager, Saleh, recognized the mistake on the Expedia advertisement and adjudicated fairly, refunding my fee back. He, and the rest of the lobby staff were truly professional, polite, and wanting to help whatever need i had; exactly what a guest hopes for in a 5 star hotel.
No staff and every detail can be perfect, but the attitude and response can be and that's exactly what I found here. They are great representatives of the country of Jordan, as I had only brief contact with this country.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelerinAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

staied in the hotel from 26 DEC till 29 th. Booked a club room and was given in the old building. Could not sleep because the room had no COLD AC only heater and the room was so hot.i complained and was given a suite in the new building, and now there is no heating only cold air,the room was so cold. Will never stay in this hotel, 5 star hotel and no normal AC with hot and cold.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Omarmohammed76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We spent 2 nights here and were really impressed! It is a fantastic value, the roof deck is incredible, and the staff do a great job (it even felt like there were more staff than guests!). It has great views and is the nicest place we stayed while in Jordan (for the same price point elsewhere).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raul t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I recently stayed at Le Meridien for a total of four nights broken up over the course of a week. During my first stay, I had a decent room which was clean but the heat wasn't working. They brought up a heater but it wasn't enough to heat the room, so they brought up another one. The staff was friendly, the shower was hot with good water pressure. Wireless Internet was pretty slow. I got the Beijing Duck at the Chinese restaurant in the hotel which was a little small but quite good. It was a nice change from Hummus and Pita.

During my second stay, they had noted that the heat wasn't working the first time so they sent me to the North Tower which was a much nicer, bigger room with a large bathroom and very long countertop. Everything was working great and it was clean. The staff was just as friendly during the second stay. I tried the Italian restaurant in the hotel. The food looked good but was fairly bland. Adding salt and pepper to both dishes helped a lot.

Overall, I had an enjoyable experience both times.

Room Tip: The room I got in the North Tower seemed renovated. It was definitely nicer than the one in the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ziad_Fostuq, Director of Sales at Le Meridien Amman, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Your comments regarding the staff and overall stay are highly appreciated, and were shared with the team. We apologize however of the shortcoming regarding the heating system.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and will be delighted of being of service to you.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amman hotels
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Amman
1.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Amman
2.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Amman
Kempinski Hotel Amman
#8 of 140 in Amman
4.0 of 5 stars 756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amman Marriott Hotel
Amman Marriott Hotel
#7 of 140 in Amman
4.0 of 5 stars 782 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Amman
Grand Hyatt Amman
#6 of 140 in Amman
4.0 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Amman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Amman

Property: Le Meridien Amman
Address: Queen Noor Street | Shmeisani, Amman 11195, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amman
#3 Business Hotel in Amman
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amman
#4 Spa Hotel in Amman
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Amman 5*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Amman is located in the centre of Amman and is a walk away from the Citadel, Roman Theatre, and many malls and shopping areas. The health club includes sauna and steam rooms, massage and facial treatments and indoor/outdoor pools. The hotel has numerous restaurants offering Japanese, Chinese, Italian, Lebanese cuisine, in addition to a steak house. World-class conference facilities include the Royal Convention Centre, which accommodates 1,200 guests and features the latest audiovisual equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Otel so you can book your Le Meridien Amman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Amman Hotel Amman
Amman Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing