We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Amman Cham Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amman Cham Palace
Ranked #60 of 142 Hotels in Amman
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Stay away”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a group tour. From the moment we checked in, I know there's nothing but trouble with this hotel. First, the front desk guy told us that there was no reservation under any of our names. So, I had to open my luggage and retrieve my reservation confirmation per the group tour. When he saw my reservation confirmation, he "looked" at his list again, and lo and behold, my name miraculously appeared!
The bellhop who "insisted" he will help us with our luggage (though we repeatedly said we were okay as we only had one luggage each) lingered in our room for a full awkward minute after we said our thanks and goodbyes, and only left after I gave him tip. I'm not stingy with tips if I requested the service in the first place. So sleazy.
Our room had dinghy carpets and dark despite the "upgraded" room with a balcony. The bathroom was okay but has clearly seen better days. The bed was uncomfortable, the linens flimsy, and the blanket threadbare. Clearly, we were very disappointed. So, when we were scheduled to come back for another night of stay after an overnight stay at the Hilton Hotel in Dead Sea, we told our travel,organizer that we'd rather stay another night at the Hilton (& pay out of pocket for the room), and forgo our already paid room at the Cham Palace. We found out later on that the rest of our tour group people had asked for the same arrangement. That was how very unappealing our stay was at the Cham Palace. The buffet was okay but there was not much change in the food selection between breakfast and dinner. We would have eaten someplace else if we haven't paid for the meals in advanced.
Next time I'm in Amman, I wouldn't hesitate to pay a little extra and stay at the Le Meridien instead. We had a wonderful 2 night stay there before we moved to Cham Palace. The savings is not worth the discomfort.

Room Tip: None. Stay away if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    74
    108
    26
    14
See reviews for
26
71
18
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hawalli, Kuwait
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

The hotel is full of tourists who come on tours, the breakfast buffet was ok, no fresh juices, no free wireless, also there some maintenance works at the hall during my stay, rooms are noticeably old need a refurb badly

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muratovich77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan, Armenia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

What a great all round professional hotel. The staff were professsional and friendly, rooms impeccably clean and large. Great bed. Nice quiet location. Breakfast was great. The staff made us up omlettes every morning even though they weren't on the buffet and the fresh bread was delicous. It's in a great location in Amman, I would definately recommend this place and stay again!

Room Tip: we stayed at 319..i think all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaritaNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Decent hotel but in a terrible location (not really close to any shopping or restaurants). Hotel was overall Jordanian clean. There was no free wi-fi as we had read in some of the reviews. Staff was nice. Taxi rides to downtown Amman were 3 JOD (you need to negotiate, as many times taxi drivers quoted 5 JOD). Included breakfast was fair. Could have used more fruits.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank screwie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
137 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel is just average in all ways, with its location and food being poor. The hotel's property is very dated and shabby. I would not recommend staying at this hotel unless it's a location selected by your tour group.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelHistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with a group of people from Canada attending a wedding. Once the hotel staff were aware of the reason for our stay we were treated with extra consideration enough though the wedding party/reception was at another location. The hotel was at full occupancy as it was accommodating medical refugees from Libya which sometimes made for slow service but staff remained pleasant at all times and we were able to get our desires met as long as we were patient and persistent. The building itself is a little worn but in better condition than many hotels in Amman at this price point. We received a preferred rate for our group (7 rooms) and it was good value for the price we paid. As the hotel was 100% full staff were often overwhelmed with guests requests. Stay friendly but firm, patient but persistent, and you will get what you want. Allow for some misunderstanding due to language differences and keep your sense of humour.

Room Tip: We had rooms on 3 floors. All were fine after we arranged for extra pillows and blankets and had the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCtraveller012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is just one of many mid range hotels in the Shmeisani district which, other than a place to rest your head, has little to offer a visitor to Amman. However, taxis are readily available which will take you downtown for around JD2, depending upon the traffic, (JD3-JD4 to the Citadel ticket office/entrance up on the hill) - make sure the meter is reset or agree a price before setting off! We arrived at around 20.00hrs and got to the restaurant shortly after. We found the restaurant manager fairly unhelpful: We were not greeted by any staff although they were walking around the practically empty room and when I finally made myself known and asked whether we were to select our own table received a rather vague hand wave in the direction of the tables. We sat for awhile with nothing happening so I approached a waiter and asked for a menu. What I returned with turned out to be a drinks list! So I made a second approach, this time to the suited member of staff who appeared to be cashing up at the till desk. Again I asked for a food menu and enquired whether both restaurants were open. The reply was far from clear but as the only other people who were eating (2 smallish groups) were in the main restaurant we remained there. These were relatively minor issues but seemed totally unnecessary. The pizza was fresh and good, although not cheap. A far better option, one which we discovered the following day, was to eat at a small place opposite on the corner, called Twist. A menu in both English and Arabic offers a range of items - for just JD3 I had half a chicken and fries, flat breads and a can of cola. The chicken, eaten with your fingers, was amazingly tasty and fresh. Open to both locals and visitors, the guys at Twist made us extremely welcome and went out of their way to have a chat to us - wrap up warm and eat outside at one of the few tables to watch a little of the local life go by. Back to the hotel: the staff on the front desk we helpful and pleasant. Our room on the 6th floor, at the end of the corridor with an end of building window rather than a side balcony, was above average size with a seating area, desk and a bathroom with ample hot water and toiletries, perhaps a little grubby, on the tired side and calling for some refurbishment. The bed, described as king size but looked like queen size to us, was comfortable provided neither one of us moved: We only had to blink or move a finger to send the mattress into a wave of motion that resembled a water bed more than a standard mattress! The breakfast was more than reasonable with a good selection of breads and pastries, cold meats, cheese etc. All the items were fresh. Although not the best breakfast we had in 4 star hotels in Jordan, it was no where as near as some earlier reports suggested so maybe they have improved.

Room Tip: A top floor, at the end of the corridor overlooking local life at the back rather than a tourist vis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coastalchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amman hotels
2.4 mi away
Geneva Hotel Amman
Geneva Hotel Amman
#36 of 142 in Amman
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Hotel Suites Amman
1.8 mi away
Ayass Hotel
Ayass Hotel
#7 of 142 in Amman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Toledo Amman Hotel
Toledo Amman Hotel
#14 of 142 in Amman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
1.3 mi away
Imperial Palace Hotel
Imperial Palace Hotel
#105 of 142 in Amman
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.9 mi away
Star Plaza Amman
Star Plaza Amman
#87 of 142 in Amman
3.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amman Cham Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amman Cham Palace

Property: Amman Cham Palace
Address: Shmeisani St, Amman 11194, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amman Cham Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Amman Cham Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amman Cham Palace Hotel Amman
Cham Palace Hotel Amman
Cham Palace Amman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing