We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay - food excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AlQasr Metropole Hotel
Ranked #15 of 151 Hotels in Amman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We spent two nights at this hotel and experienced two of the restaurants. The accommodation is as good as most hotels with all the usual facilities. Try not to get a room on the 6th floor under the restaurant as it is noisy until late.
The main restaurant has a good choice of food and a reasonable wine list. The trio of lamb is excellent. The Obe restaurant round the back is great for a drink and a lighter bite. Try to go at "happy hour" as the value for money is great.
Service all round was excellent.
Only issue is that it is a 15 minute taxi ride into old Amman, but the fare is only 2 dinar. Make sure you have details of the hotel in Arabic for the return.

Room Tip: Not on 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fencerjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 416 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

Overall, I can confidently recommend this hotel for people visiting Amman. The renovated lobby is much better compared to the old one. The rooms are well furnished and offer all what a business visitor needs. Food is excellent. Service, cleanliness and concierge service are also very good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Just stayed in this hotel over Xmas period. Far superior to the 4 star hotel we stayed in at the dead sea. Excellent customer service, quick and efficient. Rooms spotlessly clean and comfortable, tea and coffee making facillities. Trattoria restaurant really good and reasonably priced. A little out of the centre but taxis are so cheap, ask driver to put meter when you get in the car, most trips around Amman 2JD. Bonus-- on a reasonably quiet street, unlike some of the big hotels and been smaller feels friendlier. A relaxing and quiet place to stay away from the hustle and bustle. Definitely would stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed in this hotel recently for 2 nights. The check in staff is very friendly and efficient. Everytime when you come back to the hotel, there is always someone saying high to you. There is free wifi available and to us, this is very important.

The room is clean and is comfortable. However, the location is so so. We will need to take a taxi to go downtown. If you asked the hotel to order you a taxi it will be JD 5. Even if you come back from downtown to the hotel, as the taxi driver knows you are a tourist, they always try and rip you off. So you really need to know what is a fair taxi fare before you go anywhere.

The breakfast is a buffet breakfast. However majority of the food is quite salty and so we did not really enjoy it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastmeetsWestAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We arrived very late at night and the service was of the expected standard. The rooms were good reasonably spacious. We ate in the hotel and the food was fabulous, we had the fillet steak . Make sure you get a window seat and look out over Amman. The breakfasts were also very good. In short the stay at the hotel was very good. The one point I would make is the hotel is a little out of town so there is nothing to do in the immediate area. The taxis are so cheap that this was not a real problem. A tip for the taxis if you ask a price they always say 5JD but we did one trip (a learning curve) and the meter only showed 2JD. You can go a long way for 5JD so the tip is use the meter.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Resovoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed here in the snowiest December Amman has ever seen. The hotel was a warm haven, in spite of the adverse weather conditions outside.
Rooms are a good size and clean and comfortable. Internet is ok in the rooms and excellent in the lobby. There is also plenty of space in the lobby to sit and work (or relax!). Tried both restaurants. Preferred the one on the top floor - excellent views across the city.

Room Tip: top floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Opted for this hotel on the travel agent's advice and more than happy with my choice.
We stayed on two occasions and both times had a charming reception, super rooms with a balcony looking over the city and excellent breakfast. The upside is size (intimate and friendly with only 70 rooms), location (within a 5JOD taxi ride to the Old Town) and facilities (free Wi-fi, gym, and a range of reasonably priced eating onsite. Management were supremely professional and very visible, staff patently well-trained and couldn't do enough to help.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linkscres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amman hotels
0.4 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Amman
Kempinski Hotel Amman
#13 of 151 in Amman
958 reviews
1.7 mi away
InterContinental Jordan
1.4 mi away
Toledo Amman Hotel
Toledo Amman Hotel
#16 of 151 in Amman
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Grand Amman Managed By AccorHotels
2.1 mi away
Ayass Hotel
Ayass Hotel
#4 of 151 in Amman
345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Millennium Hotel Amman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AlQasr Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AlQasr Metropole Hotel

Address: Al Oroub St. 4 | Shmeisani, Amman 11110, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Amman
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amman
Price Range: $142 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AlQasr Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AlQasr Metropole Hotel is a charming four-star boutique hotel with 66 rooms that are completely smoke-free and a breathtaking view of the capital Amman. AlQasr Metropole boasts its dedication to provide services that are not only personable but also provide affordable 5 star hotel services. The hotel is notorious for its great outlets, which are considered to be Jordan's most popular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your AlQasr Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Amman
Amman Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing