We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to scratch!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amman Marriott Hotel
Ranked #11 of 148 Hotels in Amman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The first Marriott hotel that has too much room for improvement. Definitely not a five star property and highly overpriced. The rack rate plus service charge and tax amounted to 185 JOD or approx. 264 USD. The positive aspects were lovely lobby, lavishly decorated for Christmas and New Year, prompt professional service and large comfortable beds. However, the level of cleanliness in the room was absolutely unacceptable. The shower curtain was so dirty, we didn’t dare to touch it. Every item was very dusty and the window looked like never washed in the last decade. In addition to that, there was a filthy sewage smell in the bathroom.
The internet, incl. WiFi, is chargeable, no slippers and bathrobes are provided.
On our first night we ordered dinner to the room and the food arrived a bit too cold. The quality of food could have been better (the chicken in the Caesar salad was extremely dry). On our second night we went into the Champions restaurant, which is a replica of an American sports diner. The service was agreeable, however a slightly higher level of English among the staff would be a plus. As to the food the choice was great and, basically, everything was fine, except for the fact that the chef managed to spoil fabulous Australian Angus steak. It appeared that he can cook only three variations – rare, medium and burned. As we are accustomed to order medium well, we were unlucky to get a burned version of the steak.
The breakfast was totally disappointing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elena076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed M, Manager at Amman Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Elena076:

Thank you for providing us with feedback on your experience with us during your recent stay. We appreciate your honest, accurate and detailed feedback on our performance, both positive and areas for improvement, and will use your comments to correct the issues you have brought to our attention.
We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience or discomfort these issues may have caused you and hope that we may be of service to you again in the future. We have shared your comments with our staff and have taken corrective action so that these issues should not affect our guests in the future. Thank you again for your feedback and we sincerely hope that we may have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (941)
There are newer reviews for Amman Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

574 - 580 of 942 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012

The beds were extremely comfortable and the room was pitch-black with double-glazed windows to block out the noise. I arrived after a long flight and went to sleep for 13 hours... Best sleep I've had in years!

The breakfast buffet was good with a wide variety of western and middle-eastern options.

The staff were all helpful especially those at reception and the waiters at breakfast.

The decor was not to my personal taste but it was not bad either. There were interesting views from the higher floors.

Get the taxis out on the street ... as you can imagine they are considerably cheaper than the hotel cabs.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank violetvelvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed M, Manager at Amman Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear violetvelvet:- Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor! We are extremely pleased to hear that we managed to exceed your expectations. We will surely forward your compliments to the related departments. We would like to thank you for your loyalty to our brand and hotel and sincerely hope to be of service to you gain in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

My tour group was in Amman Jordan doing some charity work and very low budget travel. The hotel we were booked in (a really bad hotel) lost all of our reservations - 5 rooms. When we showed up, they wouldn't help us and were very rude. Our tour organizers were left with splitting the team up in multiple hotels across the city, effectively ending our evening together. To save our last night, myself and one other person realized we had enough Marriott points to get all 5 rooms we needed. I am Platinum Elite with Marriott and have always been treated well, but I wasn't sure how they'd react with me using points to purchase 5 rooms for one night - but I couldn't have been treated better. The front desk staff at the Amman Marriott (Hadeel, Hisham, Nora, and Ghaith) welcomed our team warmly, and not only got us all rooms but upgraded me to a suite so that we had a bed for everyone on our trip! They not only welcomed those of us spending the last night in Amman, but allowed 4 other guests who were flying out late to shower before their flights, bringing whatever extra towels and toiletries we needed. They also offered our group a nice dinner at half price when they realized we were on a strict budget, and otherwise couldn't have afforded to eat there. In addition to the wonderful treatment from the hotel staff, the hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas, the food was fabulous, and the service was top notch. Our whole team stayed up late in the suite, visiting with each other until the last moments we had to depart. I can't say enough nice things about the way we were treated by everyone at this hotel, how comfortable it was, and how secure we felt. Thanks to everyone at the Amman Marriott for saving the last night of our trip and giving us a happy ending!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed M, Manager at Amman Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear Kathy V: Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor! We are extremely pleased to hear that we managed to exceed your expectations. We will surely forward your compliments to the related departments. We would like to thank you for your loyalty to our brand and hotel and sincerely hope to be of service to you gain in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed at this Marriott as part of a tour group prior to 2011 and can not recommend it highly enough. The staff were fabulous, the eateries were wonderful, everything was absolutely first rate. The ammenities in the rooms are great too, everything in working order, very clean and neat. I travelled solo within the group but at each Marriott hotel I was treated equal to couples ~ something that doesn't always happen in some countries. This hotel is very close to city events and shopping precincts. I doubt I will ever get back to Jordan but if I did I would difintely aim straight for the Marriott.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anubis2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed M, Manager at Amman Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear Anubis2012: Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor! We are very pleased to hear that our products and services were up to your expectations. We would like to thank you for your loyalty to our brand and hotel and sincerely hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Have during my 4 nights stay at Marriott Amman enjoyed a very high level of service.
Everyone from security by the from gate to reception/room and restaurant staff have been very helpful and attentive.
Rooms are ok, good size and clean.
Breakfast gives a lot of alternatives, although the quality of the bread is poor!
Also the ready cut fruits are of mixed quality and poorly presented.
I really appreciated that I was able to have a late check out, makes a big difference when heading for a long haul flight.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RosaRen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed M, Manager at Amman Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear RosaRen: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor! We are very happy to hear that our facilities and services were up to your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back and being of service to you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We arrived late, had a late dinner with good traditional local food plus the worst chewy fish (marlin??) we ever had.
Slept with the pillow over the head to fight the noise of the huge aircon cooling fans outside the building.
Not a pretty experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saveron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed M, Manager at Amman Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear saveron: Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on our performance during your recent stay with us. We apologize for the inconvenience and discomfort you may have experienced during your stay with us. We appreciate your input and will take corrective action to ensure any future guests do not share this experience. Thank you so much for providing your feedback and assisting us with improving our products and services. We would like to thank you for your loyalty to our brand and hotel and sincerely hope to be of service to you gain in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

One advantage of the Marriott group is that all their hotels are to a decent standard, if at times a little bland.

The Marriott in Amman is a decent hotel, in the middle of town, and certainly met my needs.

As a note, the local currency is the Jordanian Dinar, most commonly referred to by locals as the "JD"

Some Pros, Cons and Tips:

Pros:
- centrally located

- areas around the hotel felt safer than most European cities !

- staff friendly enough, although not as attentive as other Marriotts in the region


Cons:
- the immediate area outside of the hotel is fairly nondescript (housing, banks etc): the nearest small supermarket and alternate restaurants are ~10 minutes walk away, so taking taxis is required

- the main business park (KHBP) and City Mall are to the West of town - something like a 15-20 min 5JD drive

- the Restaurants at the Hotel are limited - an American style bar with a European restaurant. Sadly no local options !

- broadband was pricey (16JD/day) [although free for Gold Card users). although reasonable (even some Skype was possible)

- pool is small (on the ground floor)

- no outside balcony for rooms or even exec lounge (a pity)

Tips:
- buy JD before getting to Amman (you'll need 20JD in local currency for the Visa - it easy to buy at the airport prior to immigration)

- fixed fare taxi from main airport to Marriott is currently 22JD

- if you have time to explore, head over to the Citadel (be sure to ask for "Jabal al-Qal'a") - awesome views of the city and interesting ruins. Only a 10-15 minutes drive across town

- if you have more time, take the time to at least visit Jeresh (45 minute drive North)

- Hotel Taxis are available, but a 6JD compared to 2JD or so for yellow cabs. The Yellow cabs are available on the road just opposite the entrance - but make sure they either use the meter of you have agreed a fare !

- Ensure that your agree the fare verbally with the Hotel taxi before starting. As an example, fare to main airport is 40JD (if charged to your room) and I was told 25JD is paid in cash - but their driver demanded 30JD at the airport saying the fare had gone up over night !

Room Tip: A higher room has a nice view of the city, especially at sun rise
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happyemailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed M, Manager at Amman Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Dear happyemailer: Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on our performance during your recent stay with us. Your comment regarding the taxi fare is acknowledged and we apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused you. We appreciate your input and will take corrective action to ensure any future guests do not share this experience. We would like to thank you for your loyalty to our brand and hotel and sincerely hope to be of service to you gain in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amman hotels
1.5 mi away
InterContinental Amman
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Amman
Le Meridien Amman
#5 of 148 in Amman
1,241 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Amman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Amman
Grand Hyatt Amman
#8 of 148 in Amman
1,093 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Amman
Kempinski Hotel Amman
#12 of 148 in Amman
912 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Boulevard Arjaan by Rotana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amman Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amman Marriott Hotel

Address: Shmeissani Issam Ajluni Street, Amman 11190, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amman
#7 Spa Hotel in Amman
#8 Family Hotel in Amman
#10 Business Hotel in Amman
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amman
Price Range: $159 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amman Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the ancient city that was once part of the Decapolis league. Amman, Jordan's capital is at least 5000 years old. Amman is an incredibly pleasant city that offers a wide variety of historical sites and cultural attractions and is complemented by wonderfully welcoming people. At the Amman Marriott Hotel you will be steps away from the allure of this modern yet ancient city. The Amman Marriott Hotel has very easy access to all business and tourist areas of Amman and Jordan. Accommodation in Amman could not be any better with our newly renovated rooms that guarantee a good night's sleep. The Amman Marriott Hotel is Amman's preferred choice for business & social gatherings through legendary service. The qualified staff and hotel facilities combined, translates into more comfort for each guest. Stay at the Amman Marriott Hotel and take pleasure in the true Jordanian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amman Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amman
Amman Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing