We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to the five stars hotels standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Jordan
Ranked #2 of 150 Hotels in Amman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The hotel reception area is really lovely, we went during Christmas and it was nicely decorated. We were shocked when we went to our rooms they are so old, i personally have stayed in other intercontinental hotels and they are honestly a way fancier. The service in the hotel is not impressive at all we asked for 2 bottles of water and it took forever to bring them. As for the Mexican restaurant which was the only choice we had because we checked in late (10:00 pm), the restaurant is overpriced, doesn't offer a menu only few snacks are offered after 11:00, i wasn't impressed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LKhamis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoine F, Resident Manager at InterContinental Jordan, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear LKhamis,

Thank you for having taken the time and effort to write us the feedback of your stay with us at InterContinental Jordan

It was truly disheartening to hear of your dissatisfaction while you were our guest. Please accept my apology for the disappointment and the inconvenience you may have experienced due the service issues during your stay.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. I appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

We look forward to welcoming you back at InterContinental Amman, Jordan.

Sincerely,

Antoine Flouty
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,912)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,275 - 1,281 of 1,912 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

I was in Amman for business the day after the country experienced its largest snowstorm in over 122 years. The InterContinental had everything under control. Its my understanding the IC was one of the first grand hotels of Amman. In some ways it could use a few upgrades. I stayed in a suite which was quite nice but was quite put off by the cost of WIFI in the room. I believe the price worked out to about $50.00 for three days. The breakfast buffet was included and there were several choice restaurants within the hotel. The indoor gym, steam and sauna were a great way to warm up after being outside. There is a great swarma stand just down the street and walking about the area seemed safe but was difficult due to the snow on the sidewalks. I would stay at the IC again.

Room Tip: the suite was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingFarmer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoine F, Resident Manager at InterContinental Jordan, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear TravelingFarmer V,

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback following your recent stay at InterContinental Jordan and for your kind comments, regarding the food and the facilities provided.

I am delighted to note that you experienced a pleasant time with us and it will be a pleasure to have you again at your home in Jordan.

On behalf of the staff, we look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Jordan the next time you are in Amman.

Sincerely,

Antoine Flouty
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The hotel overall is a good choice for Amman. Excellent breakfast, friendly staff and a reasonable location not far from rainbow street if you want to explore the novelty of it. Rooms are fine, the main disappointment being no wifi - there's no excuse for this in an international hotel group when small b&bs can arrange it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevd112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoine F, Resident Manager at InterContinental Jordan, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear kevd112,

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback following your recent stay at InterContinental Jordan and for your kind comments, regarding the staff, and the facilities provided. I am delighted to know that you experienced a pleasant time with us and it will be a pleasure to have you again at your home in Jordan.

On behalf of the staff, we look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Jordan the next time you are in Amman.

Sincerely,

Antoine Flouty
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

This used to be one of Amman's, if not Jordan's, foremost hotels. Scores of stars and statesmen have graced this place. Yet it maintains very little of its former glory.

The rooms are small and sport oldish, run-of-the-mill furniture and fittings. Ours was of the so-called "deluxe" category. We had received an upgrade. Few things worked in the room. The pressure shower was impossible to activate; the remote control of the TV disintegrated; and the phone (some 20 year old yellowish machine) was so complicated that it took a call to the reception and an "engineer" to come in order to understand which button to press to respond to a call. So much for the room.

The common areas of the hotel contributed nothing to changing my view. It all felt like a chain hotel in Washington DC. Kind of depressing. Badly heated on top of that, providing little comfort from Amman's December chill.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weltenbummler2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoine F, Resident Manager at InterContinental Jordan, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Weltenbummler2007,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the Room Condition may have caused you. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.


Sincerely,
Antoine Flouty
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This hotel is well placed in Amman and not far away from the Rainbow Street where you find lots of cafés, bars, restaurants, etc. The service is good and we even got an upgrade to a superior room. The rooms have everything you need except free wifi which is nowadays a must in a 5 star hotel. The breakfast is just incredible. You get everything you need and the personel is very keen to accomodate all your wishes. The spa area and the indoor pool are also nice and you get also free tee whil relaxing in the pool area. Overall it is a very nice hotel with great service and lovely personel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johannes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoine F, Resident Manager at InterContinental Jordan, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Johannes M,

Thank you for having taken the time and effort to write us your feedback.

I was delighted to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and your kind comments are very much appreciated.

Your feedback is of tremendous value to all of us and your evaluation will form an important part of our ongoing program to continuously monitor the quality of our services and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back at InterContinental, Jordan.

Sincerely,
Antoine Flouty
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

The ambience and the room were nice enough but it felt like the concierge was only willing to help us if there was a chance to make money. We arrived in Amman following a snow storm and the airline had lost our luggage. Getting some warm clothing was a priority. We explained we wanted something cheap to last a few days but the concierge tried to sell us a JOD 25/ hour private car shopping trip. He did not help to find cheaper solutions such as getting a taxi outside. they refused to help follow up with the airline on the missing luggage and told us we should phone ourselves from the room. Next day we arranged a trip to Jerash. Again expensive at JOD 80, but because of the snow it took longer than expected and the charge was increased to JOD 100 when we returned to the hotel. No mention of the flexible billing was made when we booked. Internet access is also charged extra. All in all after a long journey with our luggage missing it felt like the hotel didn't do what it could to help us.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rene-Artois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoine F, Resident Managre at InterContinental Jordan, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Rene-Artois,

Thank you for having taken the time and effort to write us the feedback of your stay with us at InterContinental Jordan.

It was truly underwhelming to hear of your dissatisfaction while you were our guest. Please accept my sincere apology for the disappointment and the inconvenience you may have experienced, regarding the transportation during the unfortunate weather conditions.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. I appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

We look forward to welcoming you back at InterContinental, Jordan.

Sincerely

Antoine Flouty
Resident Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Just returned from 6 days workshop in this beautiful hotel, and my experience was perfect ( apart from the snow storm on last day).
I arrived early morning, the reception immediately got the room and finished my check in process with in 10 minutes ( maybe less).

The hotel maybe is the oldest 5 stars hotel in Jordan, but you can not notice that! my room was on the 7th floor ( overlooking the entrance) the room was clean -specious enough.
breakfast was good, and I can say all the staff was helpful and friendly.

I can not comment on prices, as my accommodation was covered by the workshop, one thing they can improve is to offer free internet ( at least in the lobby).

All in all

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fahademad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoine F, Resident Manager at InterContinental Jordan, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear fahademad,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a delightful review on Trip Advisor from your recent stay with us at InterContinental Jordan, i am pleased to receive your comments about the excellent service you received from our colleagues on your visit to our hotel. Our colleagues will be most delighted to hear about this when we convey to them your message. Your satisfaction is our priority and we do appreciate your choosing InterContinental Jordan for your stay.

On behalf of the hotel, we look forward to welcome you again,

Sincerely,

Antoine Flouty
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amman hotels
2.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Amman
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Amman
Grand Hyatt Amman
#6 of 150 in Amman
1,178 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien Amman
Le Meridien Amman
#5 of 150 in Amman
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Amman Marriott Hotel
Amman Marriott Hotel
#11 of 150 in Amman
960 reviews
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amman
0.9 mi away
The Boulevard Arjaan by Rotana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Jordan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Jordan

Address: Islamic College Street, Amman 11180, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Amman
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amman
#2 Spa Hotel in Amman
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amman
#4 Family Hotel in Amman
Price Range: $169 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Jordan 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Jordan is well-established as the area's best business hotel, but leisure travellers are equally at home in the deluxe surroundings. Situated atop one of Amman's seven hills, the hotel is in the heart of the business district, within walking distance of the city centre and a short taxi ride from popular sites such as the Citadel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Jordan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Jordan Hotel Amman
Intercontinental Hotel Amman
Intercontinental Hotel Jordan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing