We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended - Excellent Hotel in Jordan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Amman
Ranked #2 of 144 Hotels in Amman
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
255 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Recommended - Excellent Hotel in Jordan”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

A classic old school luxury hotel with professional and very friendly service. Would rate it as a good 4 star place. Consider upgrading to a "club room". You get access to a better breakfast served in the club room, and free drinks and food (think airport lounge version) every night at hrs 18-20. Dinner in Bourj Al Hamam was really delicious. Wifi is only accessible free on the 8th floor, otherwise very expensive. The hotel has a big and well equipped gym. Hotel well located, best part of town. Sometimes Internet is slow. Stayed 5 times. Overall excellent business hotel and one of the best in Jordan. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveHom1796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoine F, Resident Manager at InterContinental Amman, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for having taken the time and effort to write us your feedback and recommend the Intercontinental Jordan Hotel, I was delighted to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are always pleased to receive very kind comments regarding our staff, quality of food and facilities, which we will be sharing with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make our hotel a leader in excellence. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Sincerely

Resident Manager,
Antoine Flouty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,087
    459
    133
    47
    38
See reviews for
195
280
138
866
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

A classic old school luxury hotel with professional and very friendly service. Would rate it as a good 4 star place.

It is definitely worth upgrading to a "club room". You get access to a better breakfast served in the club room, and free drinks and food (think airport lounge version) every night at hrs 18-20. This was extra valuable since we stayed here during Ramadam, and therefor the outside restaurant only started serving dinner from sunset (Iftar) and neither served alcohol, of course.

Still, later on, dinner in the famous restaurant Bourj Al Hamam was really delicious.

Wifi is only accessible free on the 8th floor, otherwise very expensive.

The hotel has a big and well equipped gym, although w old yuckie yoga mats.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ETWTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoine F, Resident Manager at InterContinental Amman, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear ETWTraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor from your recent stay with us at InterContinental Jordan. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and I sincerely appreciate you complementing our facilities.

We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

On behalf of the hotel, we look forward to welcome you again

Sincerely,

Antoine Flouty
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed there for 1 night when I was in Amman for business, comparing to any other intercon. I have been too, I would rate it with 4 stars, receptionists are not very friendly, I would say they're a bit arrogant, Location is good, rooms are ok, internet connection is weak in the rooms and overpriced, aircon. never worked for the night and the morning after in the lobby. they got a nice restaurant.

Wanted to speak to the front office manager there who was never available every time i asked for him!

I would recommend le royal hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the renovated building though it doesn't look new at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talaleeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoine F, Resident Manager at InterContinental Amman, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Talaleeno,

Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding InterContinental Jordan. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience during your recent stay.

I would like to deeply apologize for any inconvenience you may have endured during your stay at our hotel in particular the staff and internet connection. The comments you provide us with are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Once again, we are grateful for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. We all hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Antoine Flouty
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

hotel is adequate for everything it says really. poor do that the internet isn't always included, and when you do actually get on to it, its terribly slow.

Stayed 3 times, and every-time had an issue with checking out, whether the bill has been incorrect, late checkout time hasn't been noted, or people calling the room asking us when we are leaving, even though I'm sure they access to how long the reservation is....

however, all that said, i still think overall it deserves a 4/5, just easier to find the negatives sometimes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoine F, Resident Manager at InterContinental Amman, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Karl B,

Thank you for your review of the InterContinental Jordan Hotel, highlighting the the opportunities to improve. It is nice that you found our rooms to be Clean. However, please accept my apology for falling short of your expectations on this visit due to the Internet and Check out experienced.

I wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Again, thank you for the candid review and my apologies for the shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Antoine Flouty
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I stay at this hotel about once a month. The hotel is now 50 years old but in good shape due to recent renovations. Service is always very good. Restaurants and bar are quite expensive, better cheaper options are available close by. The gym and spa re very good. Never had a bad stay.
Give it a try.

Room Tip: In summer request a room away from the function areas if you would like to get some sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelvincraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoine F, Resident Manager at InterContinental Amman, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear kelvincraig,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a delightful review on Trip Advisor from your recent stay with us at InterContinental Jordan. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and I sincerely appreciate you complementing our facilities.

Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make our hotel a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for posting your comments.

Sincerely,

Antoine Flouty
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Love this hotel. Specially after the rooms renovation is simply the best for me in Jordan.

Fantastic tastes at its restaurants and room service, excellent service and professionalism at the personnel. The service is always, the last 4-5 years, that I am visiting excellent. Sometimes a bit slow but always polite and helpful. Breakfast is very good. The pools and the indoor gym are well equiped but sometimes a bit too crowded. I guess it is not only for the hotel guests except if it has the fittest visitors of Jordan.

The decoration at the lobby, the tiled stones of the floor and the living rooms relaxes and makes it a really warm,special place to enjoy your tea or your shisha.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Konstantinosss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoine F, Resident Manager at InterContinental Amman, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Konstantinosss,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience during your recent stay with the InterContinental Jordan,

We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our facilities. Your kind words are much appreciated. We will surely pass your comments regarding the staff and food quality to the team,

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Antoine Flouty
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

XXIst century, you expect that your room has water with no extra costs, weill you expect also to have internet, paying the 17 extra dinars (like 25 USD? per device) for a service that everybody will need, in a moment that people have probable several devices to connect is not good and will lead me next time to reserve elwere.

Otherwise the employees lovely, nights were quite noisy but then it was Ramadan, so I guess it will happen everywhere

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 395privi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoine F, Resident Manager at InterContinental Amman, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear 395privi,

Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay. We apologize with regards to the internet charges.

We hope that during your next stay it will be all convenient for your use. Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Jordan.

Sincerely,
Antoine Flouty
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amman hotels
2.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Amman
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien Amman
Le Meridien Amman
#6 of 144 in Amman
1,208 reviews
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Amman
Grand Hyatt Amman
#10 of 144 in Amman
1,020 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Boulevard Arjaan by Rotana
1.5 mi away
Amman Marriott Hotel
Amman Marriott Hotel
#11 of 144 in Amman
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Amman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amman

Property: InterContinental Amman
Address: Islamic College Street | PO Box 35014, Amman 11180, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amman
#2 Spa Hotel in Amman
#2 Business Hotel in Amman
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amman
#4 Family Hotel in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amman 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Jordan is well-established as the area s best business hotel,but leisure travellers are equally at home in the deluxe surroundings. Situated atop one of Amman s seven hills, the hotel is in the heart of the business district, within walking distance of the city centre and a short taxi ride from popular sites such as the Citadel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Amman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Jordan Hotel Amman
Intercontinental Hotel Amman
Intercontinental Hotel Jordan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing