We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fancy Hotel but Penny Pinching”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amman
Ranked #3 of 142 Hotels in Amman
DeKalb, Illinois
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fancy Hotel but Penny Pinching”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel was very nice and comfortable. The staff were friendly and the service was good. The location was terrific. My only issue is that on top of the 16% government tax on pretty much everything in Amman, the hotel adds on service charges, soft beverage charges, etc. We ate in the V Lounge restaurant and in addition to the bill, there was the usual 16 % plus 5% for a soft beverage charge whatever that means, plus a service charge added on. That accounted for 26% addedon top of our bill fr the meal itself. That's pretty high considering Amman is not exactly a cheap city nor is the Crowne Plaza an inexpensive hotel. We tookt the hotel taxi service and they charged us triple the price that a yellow taxi cost us. They charged us 10 JD for ten minute ride but the taxi who drove us back charged us 2 JD. Why take advantage of your clientele who are alady paying top prices? Makes no sense.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcn5195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bassam H, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Amman, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greeting from Crowne Plaza Amman,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Amman for your recent stay in Amman, however, its a great pleasure for the team to know that you have enjoyed your stay, meanwhile, your valued comments would be treated seriously for further improvement.

Thank again for taking the time to write and share your experience and comment and Looking forward to welcome you again at Crowne Plaza Amman at soonest.

Regards

Bassam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    209
    75
    26
    13
See reviews for
58
86
75
368
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This beautiful property is located in King Faisal Bin Abdul Aziz street on the 6th circle, and offers easy access to the rest of the city centre, including Downtown. A 15-minute taxi ride from the hotel to City Mall, for example, shouldn't cost more than 3JD ($4.25). A ride from the airport to the hotel costs 30JD, and can be arranged with the hotel.

Facilities in the hotel include two swimming pools, a tennis court and a spa/gym, as well as seven restaurants/bars. The hotel has plenty of security, so very safe as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rae M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bassam H, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Amman, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Madam,

Greeting from Crowne Plaza Amman,

I would like to thank you for staying with Crowne Plaza Amman as well for taking the time to write about your recent stay experience.

It's a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us,

Looking forward to welcome you again at soonest.

Regards

Bassam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Amman last month. We travelled from Dubai early morning and reached the Hotel at about 11am. Our suite was ready. It seems they have fully refurbished the rooms and the bathrooms. The suite was very nicely furnished,cosy look, and the lighting in the suite was well thought of. The staff were very attentive and friendly.
The restaurants, mainly the 24 hours dining were the staff (service and kitchen) were ver helpful and enthusiastic to help. Housekkeeping staff worked hard in keeping the suite spotless clean with bottled water replenishment for the cooffe and tea self service in the suite free of charge.
The cafe Vienna is a social get to gether place for snacks and shisha which I enjoy after a meal.The Hotel has a good Spa facilities but the outdoor pool was closed due t the rainy season at this time in Jordan.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnjohnDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bassam H, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Amman, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greeting from Crowne Plaza Amman,

I would like to thank you for staying with Crowne Plaza Amman as well for taking the time to write about your recent stay experience.

It's a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us,

Looking forward to welcome you again at soonest.

Regards

Bassam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We spent four nights here, part business and part holiday. The room was good, very quiet and clean. There was plenty of choice at breakfast with quick service. All the staff were friendly, helpful and extremely efficient. The food in the V Lounge was excellent and beautifully presented, again with excellent service. Overall an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimtamKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bassam H, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Amman, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greeting from Crowne Plaza Amman,

I would like to thank you for staying with Crowne Plaza Amman as well for taking the time to write about your recent stay experience.

It's a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us,

Looking forward to welcome you again at soonest.

Regards

Bassam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have just returned from a trip to Jordan and would thoroughly recommend this hotel. The staff were friendly and service excellent. The food was freshly prepared and delicious. A visit to the V bar is a must, lovely Jazz singer pianist and relaxing atmosphere after a tiring day sightseeing.
Good spa facilities.

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker they have non smoking rooms that really are for non smokers - not always the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esherbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bassam H, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Amman, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greeting from Crowne Plaza Amman,

I would like to thank you for staying with Crowne Plaza Amman as well for taking the time to write about your recent stay experience.

It's a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us,

Looking forward to welcome you again at soonest.

Regards

Bassam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I thought that Crowne Plaza meant uncompromising excellence, especially after the experience in Crowne Plaza Dead Sea , which we left the same day.
The breakfast restaurant was similar to the one of a moldovian regional hotel Very poor inferior or tacky I request cappuccino freshly out of the washing machine. WiFi At room Not even one flash , seating at the lobby lounge with your wife other eyes targeting you men there are very strange , i asked staff if we can change the table of shift the chairs to avoid those .
This stay spoiled our beautiful Jordanian experience. And will not lead us to come back

Room Tip: Not Recommended for Couples or single woman
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Amman, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Joan M,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. I am truly sorry to hear that the food served during your travel did not live up to your expectations. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.


Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
93 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

As the title suggests this is exactly what I'd expect from a Crowne Plaza, they get most things right and my stay was exactly that. Decent 4-5 star standard stay in a decent hotel.

Did n't use many of the facilities but breakfast was decent and my room was also decent, recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinclair1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bassam H, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Amman, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greeting from Crowne Plaza Amman,

I would like to thank you for staying with Crowne Plaza Amman as well for taking the time to write about your recent stay experience.

It's a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us,

Looking forward to welcome you again at soonest.

Regards

Bassam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amman hotels
2.6 mi away
InterContinental Amman
2.2 mi away
Le Meridien Amman
Le Meridien Amman
#5 of 142 in Amman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Amman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Amman
Grand Hyatt Amman
#9 of 142 in Amman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
2.3 mi away
Amman Marriott Hotel
Amman Marriott Hotel
#11 of 142 in Amman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Boulevard Arjaan by Rotana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Amman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Amman

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Amman
Address: King Faisal Bin Abdul Aziz | 6th Circle, Amman 11195, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Amman
#3 Spa Hotel in Amman
#6 Business Hotel in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Amman 5*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class service in a state-of-the-art hotel in Jordan's thriving capital. Overlooking the white city of Amman, the stunningly situated Crowne Plaza Amman hotel is an acclaimed destination for business trips and family visits to Jordan. Our prestigious location in the 6th Circle places you close to corporations and trendy mall, and just 10 minutes from Amman's Citadel, Roman Theater and Souq Zara. We are the closest 5-star hotel to Queen Alia International Airport, 35 minutes away. The hotel offers event and wedding facilities unrivaled in Amman, from graceful Nabatean Ballroom to the innovative Royal Tent marquee. Enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi with one of the highest speed internet access in town, a 24-hour Business Center and a staff that prides itself on anticipating guests' needs, you can expect a business experience that is seamless and stress free. Take a leisurely swim in our totally new heated outdoor hydro-pool during summer season or enjoy winter activity in our heated indoor pool during winter (age 16 and above). Re-energize in The Spa with its saunas, steam baths or with a massage and beauty treatment in one of 12 exclusive cabins. Watch the world go by over coffee and shisha in street side Café Vienna. The juiciest steaks in town await in V Lounge & Restaurant. The best views and Syrian cuisine are in rooftop Al Halaby. Explore Jordan with the help of our Concierge. Whether you visit Petra, Jerash or the Dead Sea, you can be sure of a warm welcome on your return to the Crowne Plaza Amman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, IHG, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Amman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amman
Amman Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing