We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good budget stay in town!”
Review of Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cliff Hotel
Ranked #8 of 107 Amman B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“a good budget stay in town!”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Cliff hotel is a budget backpacker style hostel where young people tend to stay. It is centrally located with easy access to the main places of interest, the famous Hashem Restaurant is just accross the street.

The hostel owner is a great guy offering help to all the guests. He helped us arrange a minivan to airport at 30JOD. He also advised my friend how to go to Jerash in a cheapest way!

The rooms are quite basic. But the bed is too soft and requires replacement. Also the blanket.

The area is a sleepless place! So if you are unlucky like us, you will hear all sorts of noise the whole night! Like internal decoration work going on, hammering going on etc.

Yet you get what you paid for! It is a budget place to stay, if you are low on budget, still a good choice in town!

Room Tip: towards all the rooms in the corridor, choose left hand side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soleil_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    32
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
2
18
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The Cliff Hotel is a budget backpacker hostel located in downtown Amman. The building itself is fairly dilapidated and in need of repair and renovation. The beds are in need of replacement too. The rooms, or at least the three we stayed in were basic but clean.


We stayed in the Cliff during Ramadan and found it hard to sleep without ear plugs, due to all the noise of people eating and working well into the early hours i.e. 3am or so.


Despite the fairly spartan appearance of the rooms and facilities, the hotel makes up for it in the great service provided by those who work there. Andrew has to be given credit for being an absolute gentleman and was of great help to us the whole time we were there. If you are looking for any information on sights, how to get there, etc, Andrew is your man. Rather than try and waylay you and sell you his hotel's packages, he provides information on what buses and service taxis to take, to reach Jerash, Karak, etc for next to nothing. Meeting as an honest and genuinely friendly person as Andrew was a breath of fresh air.


The hotel is apparently planning on renovations after Ramadan 2012 has ended.

Room Tip: Room 14 and all the rooms on this side of the hotel appear to be quieter and cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElBackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

cheap place to stay a night or so, shared bathrooms with too many people, so take some sanitizers, hand towels, soap... etc.
you can't receive anyone in your room, no visitors allowed in your room, but you can stay in the lobby , which is 3 x 4 m, with other people smoking and talking loudly with the tv on.
I went there last year where I met a friend of mine in Amman, but couldn't stay and moved to a nearby hotel which was a lot better, and they allowed me to receive my friend until late.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novosibirsk, Novosibirsk, Russia
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Cliff hotel is open and very welcoming to its guests. The manager of the place is a very good man who cares for every person who stays there. You can be sure that you pay just for real things and no 'extras'.
I would strongly recommend the place for those who doesn't want to waste money on frills and commissions.
I enjoyed my staying there and morning coffee on the balcony in the company of the manager. It was a real experience of Amman and its people.

Room Tip: Rooms are basic and all the same. Choose according to your budget and your social preferences
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amman hotels
0.4 mi away
Amman Pasha Hotel
Amman Pasha Hotel
#8 of 145 in Amman
895 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jordan Tower Hotel
Jordan Tower Hotel
#17 of 145 in Amman
470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Art Hotel Downtown
Art Hotel Downtown
#24 of 145 in Amman
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Zaman Ya Zaman Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Farah Hotel
Farah Hotel
#41 of 145 in Amman
174 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Meridien Amman
Le Meridien Amman
#6 of 145 in Amman
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Hotel

Property: Cliff Hotel
Address: Amman-Prince Mohammad St | Front of Hashem Restaurant, Amman 11118, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing