We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place as a base for your Jordan holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amman Pasha Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amman Pasha Hotel
Ranked #6 of 138 Hotels in Amman
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good place as a base for your Jordan holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Amman itself has little to offer, but you should stop over for your first day to get ready. Get sim cards, exchange USD at better rates , car rentals etc.

Amman Pasha is ideally located to do all of the above, in the heart of downtown Amman , bang opposite the Roman Amphitheater. It's a quirky hotel , with characters on the front desk, restaurant and travel desk. You will not find the mechanised efficiency of 5 star chain hotels but the folks will help out.

Rooms are average , a bit gloomy, could do with better lighting. Bathrooms are basic but clean. Breakfast buffet is good , the Jordanian style cardamom flavored coffee deserves special mention. Don't bother with eating at their restaurant for your meals, there are plenty of better options available within a 5 minute walk, notably Hashem's.

The rooftop restaurant was being renovated when we went, but it has a good view when functional.

You will face the constant cross selling of trips , car rentals etc. I ignored them and booked most of my trip online, which worked out perfectly.

All in all , a decent place for the price.

Special mention to Ibrahim , the Sudanese man friday around the cafe , who was very courteous , helpful and took good care of our little daughter.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor, traffic noise would be lesser.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dipayan_Chakraborty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    241
    76
    39
    13
See reviews for
73
192
196
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Decent hotel in a really great location. Rooms are basic, clean and comfortable. Free breakfast was excellent. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Pity about the tourist operators that have a desk at the reception (the only place where WIFI works well) who do NOT STOP with the hustle and the constant attempt at up-selling. We could not sit at reception without someone trying to sell us a car service or tour.
Other annoyances: We asked if another person was getting a car to the King Hussein border the following morning, they said there was not. In the morning, another guest suddenly appeared was also headed there (who had also asked the previous night). This was obviously done to get extra commission for the car service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmhoneymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Pros
-Cheap
-Lovely rooftop view
-Bar on roof, worth just staying there for the night! (alcohol difficult to come by with such a view!)
-Staff friendly & helpful
-Staff helped us out with Arabic when we got ripped off by a taxi & a local tried to make out we had crashed into his car!(we hadn't)
-Walked to Citadel from here
-Great central location
-Room on one of higher floors, didn't hear any internal noise

Cons
-Basic rooms, en suites
-Disappointing breakfast, everything had run out so was offered an omelette (not nice, very oily) & then was asked to pay additional for this?! (we didn't)
-Some taxi's completely rip you off which is a shame (driving you miles out to drive you back in the town to your destination) google maps/ data on phone helped!
-External noise from city but to be expected with location

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Happylucy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

No complaints here at all about this hotel:

Staff - Everyone was very nice and helpful. They have a driver on site for well priced airport pick ups/drop offs, tours, and getting around. They can arrange everything and they can do it price conscientiously.

Location - Great base for exploring the city center of Amman. Across from the Roman Theater, right in the middle of city center. 12-15 minute walk to Rainbow St.

Restaurant/Bar - They serve local food and western food (although the pizza wasn't great, it was still a nice treat after feasting on kebabs and hummus for a week)

Rooms - The only thing keeping this place from a 5 star. Not bad, but more of a hostel than a hotel. Our room had two single beds and a bunk bed and was a bit funky. But, for the price, you cannot complain. That said, the shower head would not stay on and their was no toilet pressure so we had to flush 5 times everytime we used it.

Overall - Good hotel for the budget. Amman surprised me and this hotel was part of us being able to explore the city the way we did.

Room Tip: Don't stay too high up as there is one small elevator. You are encouraged to take the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamboJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The hotel is very centrally located, the staff are exceptional, the food is excellent and the room very comfortable. Anything that needs to be organised will be with open arms. Highly recommended and I know I will only stay here when and if I return to Amman.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aciram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syriafullbottle, Owner at Amman Pasha Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Carima
It was real pleasure meeting you the very first person we have at hotel who origin is from Matla,.and made Australia ,your new home.
I noticed that you are a senior contributor on Tripadvisor for which I congratulate you.
On this occasion for taking interest in the world best travel forum
Sadly mention that dozens of people who stayed at my hotel and promised to put a review.
(some of which sent me copy of their review but the review never made to be published).
being a first time a genuine reviewer it is a miracle to have the review pass the scrutiny of tripadvisor management.
I have been told this practice is discouraging to others who contemplate posting a review.
I wish tripadvisor team is more considerate when dealing/checking with genuine reviews.
I am glad I have a chance to vent my frustration on this occasion.
I got a bit carried away from subject.
I want to thank Carima for wonderful candid review.
I hope you have great time in Petra and see you tomorrow inshallah.
Welcome back to your home in Amman
Amman Pasha Hotel
Raymond and crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bredene, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Maybe this hotel is more a hostel than a hotel. Our room was very spacious, but I didn't had the feeling everything was as clean as I wanted. We had a room at the first floor and it was pretty noisy. The hotel is situated at a very busy street, so we had problems to find a good place to park our car. We stayed in other hotels in Jordan (same price range) that were much better.

Altough I didn't like "the facilities", the atmosphere there is nice.

On the roof top there's a nice view on the theater and the hotel is located perfect to visit the citadel hill.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Have not stayed there for 10 years. Still has it's charm, but slightly faded. Friendly staff and feels safe. Have steak dinner at the cigar bar.library and you will not be disappointed.charming lounge and happy hour make a drink or two reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikew112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syriafullbottle, Owner at Amman Pasha Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dependable quality”


I am so glad to hear they you stayed at hotel in the past.I heard it used to be the best hotel in downtown.Actually it went down hill when the owner died.
I bought the hotel from the court of bankruptcy just over 3 years ago.We try to add to charm that it had.It is the only classified hotel in the area.all others are not classified just hostel and guest house.We spent millions of improvement and updating to have it classified
Thanks for recommending the bar to others.
Raymond and crew
A big thank you for giving us the thumb up and how to see you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amman hotels
0.1 mi away
Arab Tower Hotel
Arab Tower Hotel
#15 of 138 in Amman
4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Art Hotel Downtown
Art Hotel Downtown
#21 of 138 in Amman
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jordan Tower Hotel
Jordan Tower Hotel
#14 of 138 in Amman
4.0 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Toledo Amman Hotel
Toledo Amman Hotel
#13 of 138 in Amman
4.0 of 5 stars 681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zaman Ya Zaman Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Amman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amman Pasha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amman Pasha Hotel

Property: Amman Pasha Hotel
Address: 4 Al Shabsough Street | Amman Downtown, Amman 11181, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 138 Hotels in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amman Pasha Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hotel in Downtown Amman. We're across the road from the Roman Theater and 500m from the Citadel.In the heart of Downtown, 40 rooms all with private bath, AC, and plazma TV, satellite,, spa and sauna. The hotel features panoramic views from the roof terrace. We also provide tours and airport transfers.Cooking class for Arabic food,Rent a friend service for tour of AmmanLibrary and heaps of helpfull information on Amman and tourist attractions and how to get to with a simple clear homemade map Cafe indoor and outdoor.Valet Parking in front of hotelRestaurant at hotel Pizza Roma Cae serves a wide range of drinks,Pizza and authentic Arabic food,Nightly entertainment song and dance group traditional Jordan dance.Toour Desk organise group and privte tours of Jordan and a Car Rental service desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Amman Pasha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing