We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not value for money”
Review of Amman Pasha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amman Pasha Hotel
Ranked #7 of 150 Hotels in Amman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014

we stayed with our family for 2 nights, Not worth the amount they charged for room, too small for family. The toilet was not working,had to keep informing for maintenance. Good location and Breakfast was good and staff was friendly though.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MadMAdonna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (966)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

482 - 488 of 966 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014

In many respects this should be a two star review. I base this on that fact that upon our arrival here at 11pm local time we were informed our room wasn’t ready. However, the chap at reception was very apologetic and invited us to sit in the bar where we enjoyed a can of the local larger. It’s called Petra and the alcohol content comes in at a staggering 10 percent. Cue significant light-headedness. The bar is the best thing about this place. Really quirky- lots of bizarre pictures on the wall (including one of Saddam Hussein). It had a really good feel to it. When our room was ready the porter made what we thought was a joke, suggesting we’d taken his room. However, I think there’s a very good likelihood it was his room as it was appalling. Two single beds and a filthy shower. However, I’m not going to score this place down because the staff are so delightful. Particular mention to Ibrahim. I don’t think he had any idea what we were talking about half the time but he always had a smile on his face and that counts for a lot.

The hotel is in a great location. Right next to both the Roman Amphitheatre and the ruins at the top of the city- both well worth a look.

When coming to a final score it’s worth thinking about expectations. This place costs £20 per person tonight. You ain’t going to get the Savoy for that but the staff are all great and really make the place.

Room Tip: Great location If you're going to be late make sure you tell them or else they'll give your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimReichardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syriafullbottle, Owner at Amman Pasha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you for taking time to review the hotel and a special thanks for your favourable candid review.
I am glad you enjoyed the local super strong beer the Petra at the bar.
I spoke to Ibraheim who actually admits it was a joke take you to a room that was not yours and it was just been checked out.He is that kind of person.A happy go lucky one.
Saddam Hussein is one of many contradictory leaders displayed on the walls at bar.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in future
Raymond and crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Very good location: across the Roman theatre (and a museum that houses original mosaics from churches of the 5th century). The staff is truly friendly, and room was spotless and quiet. I would definitely recommend this place for someone on a budget.

Room Tip: Do not stress to find an internet cafe if you need to print an important document such as a one-page...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elmaross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syriafullbottle, Owner at Amman Pasha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Elma
It was pleasure having you staying at our hotel.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and your trip to Jordan was fantastic and memorable one.
Thank you for giving us the thumb up a heart warming stuff for the crew
we hope to see you again in future and wish you well with your life/work in Oman
Raymond and crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed here 3 nights in April 2014. Came back last night from Amman.

Pros:
Location: You could not ask for a better location than this joint. Located opposite the Roman Amphitheater, it is also close to Rainbow Street, the Amman Citadel and the old souks downtown. The best part if they have someone around they'll drive you there.

Price: If you are a solo it does not come better than this, for 29 JD per night with no BS hidden fees and/or surcharges you'd be hard pressed to find a better bargain.

Service: These guy go out of their to help out. Wish I could give 5 stars to indivduals but Mr. Marwan (the general manager, his photo attached) went out of his way to help out. Like having a Jordanian dad who ofcourse needs to get paid :) Just watch out for one of their drivers especially this one guy who left me stranded at the Dead Sea Mariott for 1.5 hour and then tried to pass it off by saying that all Jordanians are always late.

Cons:
Facilities: I knew going in that this is a budget hotel and I have to confess that I've never really stayed in a budget hotel at this price point. So I set my expectations accordingly. Even so I was pretty taken aback by how sad my room was. I'll let the photos do the talking but by far my biggest complaint was the bathroom. The shower was weak with the hot water taking pretty long and the flush never worked. I asked to have it fixed thrice but every night when I returned I found it broken. Thankfully I was going to the Dead Sea Mariott spa everyday so took my showers and such over there. Also the "gym" is a joke.
I am 6'3" and had to sleep diagonally on the single bed as I barely fit. But the bed is nice and firm the way I like it. Maybe it was just my room so it would be worth it to check out the room and ask for another if possible. I did but the hotel was full.

Food: The breakfast buffet was super basic and everything felt a little stale. I mainly just ate cucumbers with hummus and that's it. While the restaurant has a nice atmosphere, the dinners can get a lil pricey especially given the options you have right around the corner in the old souk area.

Summary:
This is the hotel for you if you are on a budget and need to be located centrally. Also don't be afraid to rent a car in Jordan. Again a special shout-out to Mr. Marwan, who should be awarded the best hotel manager in the world!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank farcry80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located at vrry good location but the quality of rooms and toilet is poor. Toilets not working and the room size for a family of 4 is like room size for 2. Staff is friendly and helpful snd the breakfast is good. For the price what they are charging its not worth staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Haresh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Spent in total 5 days (split) at the Amman Pasha,location is superb and the staff really go out of their way to help out.When you get there generally the taxi guy that collects you will be available to be your guide throughout your stay.Richard collected me at the airport and i have to say found him a bit over powering when it came to trips....each day asking me where i wanted to go and seemed unhappy if i didn't want to do anything....i then had Ibrahim who i used after that throughout my stay.I have to say guys he is an absolute gentleman.......you need to be aware of this Raymond (Owner) as to have a guide who is relaxed and not forceful in his approach with people makes a big difference,Im sure Richard is a good guy but he needs to learn how to distance himself from tourists....otherwise my experience of the hotel is top notch....check out the rooftop too!!Once again thank you to Ibrahim for a really relaxed and chilled trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syriafullbottle, Owner at Amman Pasha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for review well received and appreciated.

Point taken for Richard.He is a nice man new in the business he needs some fine tuning..

Ibraheim is delighted to see his name me

Thank you for choosing our hotel

we hope to see you again in future

Raymond and crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Very welcoming, helpful and friendly staff. Super location opposite roman theater. It has the charm and spirit of a very good backpacker hotel, but is much more comfortably and clean. Nice terrace on roof. The cafe is charming, but breakfast is rather basic (compared to the price for non-residents).

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jensen_nielsen_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syriafullbottle, Owner at Amman Pasha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank for reviewing our hotel.A special thanks for giving us the thumb up and recommending it to other travelers.
the cost of breakfast for non residence is 5 jod which is a fair price for what you get.A buffet breakfast some twenty dishes tea coffee orange juice ,water and fruit salad.
As you mentioned you find hotel offers a friendly congenial atmosphere which makes it easy to meet others like minded people in the communal area ,restaurant,lobby,outdoor cafe and roof terrace.
We thank you for choosing our hotel
Raymond and crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amman hotels
0.3 mi away
Art Hotel Downtown
Art Hotel Downtown
#27 of 150 in Amman
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arab Tower Hotel
Arab Tower Hotel
#23 of 150 in Amman
581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jordan Tower Hotel
Jordan Tower Hotel
#22 of 150 in Amman
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Toledo Amman Hotel
Toledo Amman Hotel
#14 of 150 in Amman
823 reviews
5 mi away
ibis Amman
ibis Amman
#19 of 150 in Amman
611 reviews
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Jordan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amman Pasha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amman Pasha Hotel

Address: Shabsough Street 4 Al | Amman Downtown, Amman 11181, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 150 Hotels in Amman
Price Range: $34 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amman Pasha Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hotel in Downtown Amman. We're across the road from the Roman Theater and 500m from the Citadel.In the heart of Downtown, 40 rooms all with private bath, AC, and plazma TV, satellite,, spa and sauna. The hotel features panoramic views from the roof terrace. We also provide tours and airport transfers.Cooking class for Arabic food,Rent a friend service for tour of AmmanLibrary and heaps of helpfull information on Amman and tourist attractions and how to get to with a simple clear homemade map Cafe indoor and outdoor.Valet Parking in front of hotelRestaurant at hotel Pizza Roma Cae serves a wide range of drinks,Pizza and authentic Arabic food,Nightly entertainment song and dance group traditional Jordan dance.Toour Desk organise group and privte tours of Jordan and a Car Rental service desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amman Pasha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing