We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good room, nice staff, poor wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Boutique Hotel Amman
Ranked #3 of 107 Amman B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great location, good room, nice staff, poor wifi”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

It's difficult to rate a place that's lacking in one significant way, but is otherwise fine. I'm giving this hotel three out of five because the location is great - near Hashem, Habiba, Jafra and other great places to eat, near all the Old Town attractions and just a steep walk uphill from Rainbow Street and the inner part of West Amman. The man at the front desk, Elias, was very nice and generally helpful during my stay. I was in the basement room, which was clean and comfortable, if small and fairly basic. However, the hotel explicitly advertises free wifi in all rooms, but the wifi simply doesn't work in the basement room. The staff is clearly aware of this, because when I checked in and asked about the internet, I was told there are issues with it in the basement. Can't say I'm surprised given the router is several floors up. There is an unplugged router on top of the dresser in the basement room, but it doesn't do much good needless to say. I raised the issue a few times, but I was simply told nothing could be done and that I could use the internet in reception several floors up from my room if I need it. So if internet is important to you, I wouldn't recommend staying here (or at least in the basement room). I wouldn't mind so much if the hotel wasn't so clearly aware of the problem and yet still chooses to advertise wifi in all areas. Otherwise a fine place to stay in Amman.

Room Tip: Avoid the basement room if you want wifi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagisterKnecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ala S, Manager at The Boutique Hotel Amman, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Our dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review , i wish there is way so that i can compensate the experience you had staying with us due to the fact the wifi was not working in the basement room. we wish that we could fix in time you were here.....

the only thing to say that i am sorry.
knowingly we fixed the router yesterday and it is working as it has been always .

hope that you enjoyed the Jordan as we do
thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    65
    21
    4
    5
See reviews for
17
84
73
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The location is excellent with all the attractions being just a walk away...There are plenty of cafes and eating joints on the same street as the hotel..very close to the main market as well..the rooms are functional but maintained well..very friendly owner who is very helpful..can also help arrange cheap tours to Petra, Dead sea..overall a great value for money...

Room Tip: Prefer rooms on the non-street side, will be quieter..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ogre1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Ala was a fantastic host and gave great personalised advice on local spots including map and route and suggestions for locals' food spots and things to do -- both Ala and the housekeeper could not have been more helpful. The location is right downtown and perfect for exploring and experiencing the citadel, amphitheatre, downtown buzz and the real Amman. The room was very clean and comfortable, it is not a Four Seasons 5* Western luxury hotel (and does not advertise that it is) but you are getting great downtown hotel quality for a hostel price. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quentsez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This Hotel is nothing fancy, it provides basic but clean rooms. It is pretty good located in the old town of Amman. All the main attractions are in walking distance, as well as the rainbow street is.

Ala, the owner of the hotel, is really nice and very helpful. He gave us map for a trip through the city and arranged transports to Madaba and Jerash to a reasonable price.

If Ala is not in the hotel, you have to deal with the other staff, which is not really able to speak English. In the case of questions and arrangements you should wait until he is back.

Only things we have to complain about are the loud music on two days from the bar across the street, which the hotel is of course not responsible for, the smell which came out of our bathroom. (We don’t know the reason for that smell, but we noticed that a couple of hours after we flushed the toilette the water became yellow) and the missed opportunity to offer us breakfast (maybe because Ala was not there, when we arrived).

If you are looking for a basic accommodation in the old town of Amman, you should give this hotel a try.

Room Tip: Maybe try to get a room not facing the street, because it gets loud here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rommat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ala S, Manager at The Boutique Hotel Amman, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Rommat,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience ,

,if you may next time send us an email before you book and we will make sure to book for you the quieter rooms.
and i am sorry about breakfast ,but now Elias joined our team , and he can prepare breakfast and speaks english quite well

sorry again for all the things we missed while you're staying i wish that i can do anything to make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very clean, downtown, opposite the famous Jafra coffee and walking distance to Citadel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I really enjoy my time here, of course only to sleep at night.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank VanNguyen_Hanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ala S, Manager at The Boutique Hotel Amman, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Van

Thank you for the nice word , we surely were happy to host you.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tianjin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stay four night. The owner and staff are very nice. The room is clean. The location is good to find local restaurant and service taxi station. The hotel can arrange taxi for airport pick up and drop off which is very cheap.

Room Tip: I feel the room along the street is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael621022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ala S, Manager at The Boutique Hotel Amman, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Michael,
we are always happy to get our guests with the best deals available
take care
enjoy Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Room
I am travelling with a young child, and we stayed for 7 days in the same hotel. Reason is to avoid packing and unpacking so we have stay in 1 hotel thruout our stay in Jordan but we travel all around. We have an ensuite, very clean bed sheets, towels and every 2 days, the housekeeping lady will clean our room or we can request to clean it anytime we want, no issue. The water is clean and good pressure and we can adjust to cool or warm water for a shower. Just a note to all travellers, the room & reception is on the 3rd flloor, there is no lift so we have to lugged our extremely heavy weight luggage up an down but since we stayed thruout, it wasnt that bad but still we manage with the hotel's satff help - so no issue.

Transport
Unless you are an adventurous back-packer, you can choose your own way of transportation but with a little girl, we want to spend more time enjoying the trip and less hassle with inconvenience with changing buses/taxis. So on the first day, we have the reception, Hani and Yousef arrange all our trip to Jerash, Petra and Dead Sea, including the picking and taking us back to the airport. Very convenient, we can stop anywhere for toilets or to buy food or souveniors.

Food & Shopping
The location is fantastic, food is all around the corner, either takes aways or restaurants, all local food. Walk a litlte down the road (towards the mosque), that is lots of shopping and there are lots of souks and markets that you can venture.

Service
We had a good chat with Ala about travelling and service, very friendly and even bring in a chocolate spread for the bread for my daughter. Very thoughtful. Hani and Yousef is excellent, with all our stay and transport, direction and advice needs.

Overall is a very good stay for all of us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KindCompassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ala S, Manager at The Boutique Hotel Amman, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Fiza,

Thank you a lot for taking the time to share your experience ,especially the fact that we are on the second floor with no elevator, so future guest can take it into consideration

serving you was our pleasure , and please say hi to your little daughter, my kids are playing with the playhouse you left in the room it is a great hiding place :) thank you

take care bye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amman hotels
0.4 mi away
Amman Pasha Hotel
Amman Pasha Hotel
#8 of 145 in Amman
887 reviews
0.1 mi away
Art Hotel Downtown
Art Hotel Downtown
#24 of 145 in Amman
195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zaman Ya Zaman Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arab Tower Hotel
Arab Tower Hotel
#18 of 145 in Amman
569 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jordan Tower Hotel
Jordan Tower Hotel
#17 of 145 in Amman
467 reviews
1.0 mi away
Toledo Amman Hotel
Toledo Amman Hotel
#14 of 145 in Amman
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boutique Hotel Amman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boutique Hotel Amman

Property: The Boutique Hotel Amman
Address: Prince Mohamad Street, building 32 | downtown, in front of Jaffra Cafe, Amman 11101, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Boutique Hotel Amman, located in the heart of old Amman. We offer the perfect combination while being located within walking distance from the Roman Amphitheater, al-Balad Theater, antique and local produce markets. You will experience the warmth and hospitality of staying in an original house that has been fully renovated in 2012. Accommodation in downtown Amman could not get any better with our newly renovated rooms with spring mattresses that guarantee a good night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your The Boutique Hotel Amman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing