We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over-rated”

Sugar Daddy's Bakery
Ranked #3 of 8 Bakeries in Amman
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Over-rated”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

I ordered 3 different cupcakes and all of them were extremely sweet and dry. The icing was disgusting it was as if I ate sugar straight from the bag. The cupcakes were very dry and stale, there was absolutely nothing special about the place. It was not worth the trip there. The prices are average, I did not find them pricey;however, their desserts are not worth the cost. I believe the place is over rated for what it has to offer. I was very disappointed, I will not be returning there nor would I recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Flaa04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good - and pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

My favorite from this bakery is the carrot cake. It is simply perfect. They have cakes, cup cakes, etc. All the usual things you would expect to find in a old-fashioned American style bakery. Great tasting, high quality and like most everything in Jordan - over priced. If you are looking for a taste of home - this is a great place to get desert, but don't get sticker shock. :-)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank American Travel... N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
98 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Sugar Daddy's provides yummy desserts that would definitely satisfy ones sugar hive, however the taste of the cupcakes are not as good as their toppings/icing. another thing to consider is that the prices are a bit high and not worth the final product as it is of home-made quality. also there are many better confectioneries in Amman such as The Cakery which is AMAZING and provides decedent deserts and sweets.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HmdNab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“ simply much less than what you expect ..stay away”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife insisted we go and try this place as they have a nice page on facebook
So we did and we both had a bad indigestion issue that took us three days to recover from. Lets put it this way ....my wife deleted their page from her facebook account.

Helpful?
2 Thank wael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Love Sugar Daddy's. I would stongly recommend their banana cream desert-not sure of the name though. Their cupcakes are also really good, but definitely try other deserts besides cupcakes and you won't be disappointed. I wish they had more branches around Amman.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Han813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Daddy's Bakery also viewed

Amman, Amman Governorate
Amman, Amman Governorate
 
Amman, Amman Governorate
Amman, Amman Governorate
 
Amman, Amman Governorate
Amman, Amman Governorate
 

Been to Sugar Daddy's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing