We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an oasis to rest and eat in the heart of Amman”
Review of Sufra Restaurant

Sufra Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 636 Restaurants in Amman
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Biberach (Riss), Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“an oasis to rest and eat in the heart of Amman”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Wonderful and peaceful location in the heart of Amman: nice rooms inside and a beautiful garden outside; when air coditioning is on I suggest the latter as I'm not a fan of polar temperatures. Waiters are very kind and efficient. Food is good and served in great quantity. It's a place I'd like to visit again if I'll ever get back to Amman. Western people be advised: no alcohol is served in this restaurant (as - I guess - in many other restaurants in Amman).

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vigopix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    218
    57
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moraga, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great food, great ambiance!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Wow. What an experience! My friends and I arrived early - but not early enough - for a table reservation. So we enjoyed some appetizers on the rooftop while watching world cup soccer. Once our table was available we went downstairs. The ambiance is amazing! You'll dine among the palms with city views next to a lovely mosque. The food and service was exceptional! I'll definitely be back and highly recommend Sufra.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EinReisenderAusCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A must visit restaurant in Amman!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

A truly fantastic and authentic Jordanian dining experience. From the warmly welcomed greeting through to the fantastic service and high-quality Jordanian cuisine, I would highly recommend Sufra restaurant. The setting in the gardens tranquil with a beautiful waterfall in the centre is just delightful. The quality of the food and hospitality is second to none. We only ate here one night in our 10 night stay in Amman and looking back I wish we had patronised this restaurant more! Highly recommended

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Catching-You-Winning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“poor service, but good food”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We were impressed with the setting (garden, little fountain) of the restaurant and satisfied with the quality of the food.

What Sufra really lacks is trained and professional personnel. It was obvious that certain groups of apparently wealthy local patrons were favoured by the staff while other guests/tourists were overlocked and not served.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“One of the best Vintage restaurant I have ever been to”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Such an amazing idea to turn an old house into a vintage restaurant, I loved the experience of going to Sufra. The food is excellent as is the service, serving local Arabic food was great and close to home cooking which is healthy and clean, the staff were so friendly, and that's a perfect restaurant for visiting on Fridays with family members, calm and cool atmosphere.. where you can enjoy food, sunshine and Amman..

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eva-MichaelSunna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sufra Restaurant also viewed

Amman, Amman Governorate
Amman, Amman Governorate
 
Amman, Amman Governorate
Amman, Amman Governorate
 

Been to Sufra Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing