We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easily the best mezze I've had in the MidEast!”
Review of Sufra Restaurant

Sufra Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 647 Restaurants in Amman
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
791 reviews
487 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
“Easily the best mezze I've had in the MidEast!”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Loved loved loved every mezze we tried, with the exception of the fattoush. The best was the dimseh-- a phenomenal lentil dish with pomegranate, tahini, and chili. The fried vegetable appetizer was also amazing, simple but perfectly seasoned. We enjoyed as well the grilled white cheese had a delicious cinnamon-sugar flavor to it, and the spinach pastry.

My meat-eating friends report that the meat entrees are hit-or-miss, really inconsistent... but for vegetarians, this is one place in the Middle East we can safely rely on again and again! Sit outside on the back patio for the perfect experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ajhorse21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    220
    61
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great place for traditional Jordanian food”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Being pedantic (vegetarian) we thought we would still try the local deli, even if most cuisines around the world would not really cater properly to us veggies.

Really liked the food here, and definitely one of the best Arabic meals I have had in a long time. Would recommend this for sure the same way this was recommended by a local person in town.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RG1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great Jordanian-Levantine Fare”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

a superb restaurant with real good local dishes and mezzes... Home-like cooking is done by lady chefs who are really talented... Try the meat Sajiyyeh (or the chicken), and (for the serious carnivours) the stuffed intestines (fouaregh)....Great ambience in an old Amman stone house..No alcohol served though..

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Traditional Arabic food in a wonderful setting”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

The restaurant is located at the first circle in Amman, and is set in an old house thats been renovated. Sit outside in the summer and enjoy the great weather. Its also lovely and cozy in the winter. They have a dish of the day and you can order a la carte. Wonderful arabic food - tastes just like grandma's food! have never had any issues with service, my husband always makes a stop at Sufra when hes in town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank possiblebliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Go for the setting”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The restaurant is a gorgeous old house. The setting is brilliant. But that's about it. Food quality is horrible. I returned my meat dish several times because it was as hard as rock.
The desserts are alright.
Won't go back unless i'm there for a cup of tea (who can mess that up?)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Serena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sufra Restaurant also viewed

Amman, Amman Governorate
Amman, Amman Governorate
 
Amman, Amman Governorate
Amman, Amman Governorate
 

Been to Sufra Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing