We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A faded beauty, but still a great choice...”
Review of Torwadah Hotel

Torwadah Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Torwadah Hotel
Ranked #22 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Amman
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Once upon a time, the Torwadah was probably quite a swish hotel with a lift and central heating. Neither of these now work, the furniture is a little tired and the hot water temperamental. Having said all this, do not dismiss this little gem of a hotel...
Centrally located and close to the balad/downtown of Amman, the Torwadah is handy for the amphitheatre, citadel, shops and eateries. The owner and his son are extremely helpful, despite limited English. I booked an airport transfer which worked seamlessly, was hassle free and definitely worthwhile if you're arriving in the evening. The driver was waiting for me in the arrivals hall with a clearly printed sign and took me straight to the hotel.
My room had tired furniture, though was clean and comfortable. The hotel has no heating, so in February it was very cold. Extra blankets kept me warm in bed, but lack of heating left the room cold. There was hot water most of the time and my room was very quiet.
In summary, I would stay again without hesitation in warmer months, but in winter I think I'd fork out a bit more for somewhere with heating.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Awayfromeastbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for Torwadah Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 23 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2011

Excellent service from entertaining and informative manager. Located close to most sites of interest in downtown Amman including Roman Theatre. Despite being in very busy part of Amman the hotel is in a quiet location. Room a bit scruffy but everything worked. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alanaplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

This is a budget hotel, centrally located, just 5 minutes walk to Roman Theatre. Only basic furniture in the room, such as writing table, stool and a side table. Small TV with various selection of Arabic and English channels. Hot water was not available in bathroom. Couple of Indian/Pakistani restaurants were around other than local restaurants/coffee shops. Just 20 meter from the hotel there is public call cabin from where can make very cheap telephone calls to any country. There is a service taxi stand (White Taxi) just 50 meter from the hotel. 0.35 fill only to JETT bus station where one can catch JETT bus to Aqaba, Petra etc. Also will get taxi to "Mugama Shimal" for 0.35 fills from where there is Airport Bus service available every 1 hours at JD3.0 only. The onwer of the hotel, Abu Rashed is a very helpful person, but have very limited English knowlede. Early in the moring at 5:30 he personally took me to the service taxi stand for getting taxti to JETT Bus station for going to Petra. This hotel is good for budget travellers/backpackers. Breakfast included in the room rate but they dont have a restaurant, he sent me to the next door local cafetera for breakfast; Arabic bread, egg or Phool Madamus, tea and water only served.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Movarip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I chose that hotel upon a recommendation from my friend I had met earlier in Lebanon. I stayed there 3 nights in a double room offered for a single room price. The hotel was run by a very polite older man of Egyptian origin. The place was simple, but clean and very quite which I enjoyed a lot after 3 weeks of backpacking and sharing rooms with the Lonely Planet followers. The hotel has several floors and is located very close to the old citadel. Nearby are many places with cheap food and street kiosks with fresh fruits and juices.
In short: very reliable place for a good (low) price.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Arek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

From start to finish this hotel was truly excellent. Located right in the centre of Amman, you couldn't ask for a better setting, a five minute walk from the amphitheatre and the main street. A great big big breakfast of endless hummus and falafel was also a great start to the day. However, what really made this hotel stand out was the kind heartedness of the owner who made us feel as if we were family guests. Constantly going out of his way to make our stay memorable and make us feel welcome. It was this sort of hospitality you cannot put a price on, and it was this that made our stay so special.

When I return to Jordan I will not even consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roddycun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miho2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Yuri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amman hotels
0.7 mi away
Hammodah Hotel
Hammodah Hotel
#118 of 148 in Amman
5 reviews
0.8 mi away
Art Hotel Downtown
Art Hotel Downtown
#28 of 148 in Amman
205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roman Theater Hotel
Roman Theater Hotel
#44 of 108 in Amman
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hawa Guest House
Hawa Guest House
#1 of 108 in Amman
165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hamoudah Hotel
Hamoudah Hotel
#35 of 108 in Amman
11 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rafi Hotel
Rafi Hotel
#6 of 108 in Amman
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torwadah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torwadah Hotel

Address: Downtown Al Reeda St, Amman 11115, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Amman
Price Range: $23 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Torwadah Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Torwada, which derives from the name of Troy, is located in Amman, very close to the site services which means you will be able to enjoy conveniently your sightseeing: we are located 5 minutes by foot from the The Roman Amphitheater. We offer budget accommodation in private rooms as well as in shared dormitories for those travelling on a tight budget and who don't mind sharing. Close to the hotel is a garage for private parking (at a daily charge) and several restaurants and cafes. Extra service we offer are Internet access, laundry, airport pick up, security , luggage storage, telephone/fax, 24 hour reception, travel desk / travel tour, taxes included, 24 hour cheek in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Torwadah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing