We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Misk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Misk
Ranked #37 of 150 Hotels in Amman
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Misk hotel in Amman was our first stop in Jordan after Egypt. It is a modern hotel about 30 min taxi ride from Queen Alia International Airport and several killometers from old town Amman where the citadel and Roman theater are. There is large Safeway grocery store about 5 min walk from the hotel where water, fresh fruits and bakery can be bought with very good price. The hotel has its own restaurant, and several local restaurants are also within 5-10 min walk. The hotel has a 24-hour guard at the entrance. Amman, and Jordan, is of course very safe.
The hotel has standerd modern European style funishing and is very clean. Wireless internet connection in the room worked well. There are hundreds of TV channels from all over the world. The channels appear to be arranged in alphabetic order. So if you start from a low channel number, don't be surprised to find endless Arabic channels, because most these channels start with "AL".
We were most impressed by the efficiency and friendliness of the staff. We checked in pretty late in the evening. When we asked about a dinner at the hotel restaurant, the clerk took us to the kitchen to meet the chef who prepared us an excellent Jordanian fish dish. When we asked about hiring a reliable private taxi driver, we met Abu Rashad within 15 min. Abu Rashad has been working in tourist business for >20 years, speaks excellent English, is a safe driver and is very knowledgable about the tourist attractions, hotels and restaurants all over Jordan. In the subsequent 10 days, Abu Rashad took us to Madaba, the Dead Sea, Mount Nebo, Ma'in hot spring, Dana natural reserve, Petra, Jerash, the desert castles west of Amman and all the small attrations along the way. He made our trip of Jordan pleasant, informative and efficient.
We highly recommand Hotel Misk and Mr. Abu Rashad's service.
Lei

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank liul7788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 262 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed at the Misk for 2 nights at the start of our holiday. We arrived at 10 pm and asked the receptionist if they were still serving in the restaurant. He asked the kitchen and they said it was closed but they could cook us some Chicken and chips. This arrived with a lovely plate of olives and salad. This was greatly appreciated. We were also upgraded to a suite. I booked the hotel direct and had no problems at all.

The next day we needed to book transport to Petra. The reception rang some one for us and we agreed price etc. The driver was Firas. He was brilliant. We used him for our whole stay. We went to Petra, Aqaba and the Dead Sea. Between each place we visited lots of places. He was a safe steady driver. He also took us back to the airport. His email address is Firas.alomari.mail.com or ask reception.

If you want a clean tidy and great small hotel I would definately recommend the Misk.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

New building with still new furniture, but the service is not as expected since you have to carry your luggage from the taxi till the front desk the thing I rarely faced. The room had a smell of smoking that never ended till I left. Breakfast is poor but you can find things to eat. Location is very good near the Safeway.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PalestineTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The hotel is located in the business district of Amman, lots of bank around. It's quiet in the Area (and safe). Nothing much to do around the hotel, but it really comfortable to take a walk along the street. The hotel room is clean and good in terms of the price. slightly small room but serve all your need. Wifi is everywhere in the hotel, and staffs are helpful and friendly. You might want to try the hotel restaurant, simple, but good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roderick_Hsiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hotel room was clean and pleasant, though a tad small. Most of the facilities experienced were pleasant, presumably due to the fact that the property is new-ish. Decent location in Amman, Jordan. As Amman was the last stop after 12 days of non-stop travel, the cushion with the smiley applique found on the bed brought on a smile.

The dinner and breakfast buffet offerings are not too many, but sufficient. Some dishes tended to be a little salty though.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clarice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

I'm very impressed with overall service & condition. An excellent choice for buisness travelers. I reccomend booking airport pick up from the hotel. If you have time book a trip to the dead sea with the hotel - Abu Rashad speaks excellent English & Spanish , has overt 25 years experience. Well done to the hotel management, everyone has a good level of services. I would come back again if I have another business trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Warning: If you book this hotel with booking.com or any holding site, the price will be increased by 10% and then compounded by another 8% at the desk. We paid 70JD per night for a double room. This came to a shock to us. We did argue this with the reception but it got us nowhere.

About the room: Rooms were very cleans with a comfortable bed. We are such neat freaks and can easily find flaws in hotels. Being a new hotel, there were no flaws in sight. The bathroom with not small like other reviews say. I mean all you need is a a shower, sink and toilet. We aren't looking for a powder room in the bathroom:) Being a hotel country, I think most hotels probably have bugs..etc but this was a spotless hotel. I felt so comfortable and happy in my room.

Service: The English of the front reception area is poor. The main manager is the only one that actually speaks English but he is not around very often. The front desk gentlemen with a moustache is definitely not made for customer service. He was rude at times and I think they I ever saw him smile once. Oh well. I'm not really looking for smiles anyways.

Price: It comes out to $100 USD/per night. This is steep for us but we were only in Amman for about 3-4 days. However, it was worth every penny.

Surrounding Area: There is a Safeway and KFC around the corner but that is all! I think is is best to take a taxi to Abdoun Circle for food! I wish we knew about this on our first day! We ate too much KFC for the first 2 days!

Tours: Bovardia Tour is 3 buildings down and they have the most amazing driver name Ishaq. He was more than a driver. He became a good friend and guide for us. He was very trustworthy and we felt so safe with him. Please ask for him. I would highly recommend him and that company to friends and family!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Msekha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amman hotels
0 mi away
Gardenia Hotel
Gardenia Hotel
#34 of 150 in Amman
145 reviews
3.2 mi away
Larsa Hotel
Larsa Hotel
#28 of 150 in Amman
331 reviews
3 mi away
Art Hotel Downtown
Art Hotel Downtown
#27 of 150 in Amman
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
ibis Amman
ibis Amman
#19 of 150 in Amman
610 reviews
1.8 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#26 of 150 in Amman
226 reviews
2.1 mi away
Nishan Hotel
Nishan Hotel
#33 of 150 in Amman
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Misk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Misk

Address: Shmeissani, 118 Abdulhameed Sharaf St | P.O. Box 950333, Amman 11195, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 150 Hotels in Amman
Price Range: $56 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Misk 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Misk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing