We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic rooms but friendly service and good value in Amman” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jordan Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jordan Tower Hotel
Ranked #16 of 148 Hotels in Amman
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Basic rooms but friendly service and good value in Amman”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

We stayed in an en-suite room at Jordan Tower for two nights, paying 30JD for two people per night. As other reviewers have posted, the rooms are very basic, hostel style (thin bed linen, wet room, no toilet paper or towels) so don't expect luxury but the location is fantastic for discovering Amman’s historical sites and we received a friendly and welcoming service from the staff, especially the man that runs the reception.

The hotel is located in the older part of Amman which does mean there is more noise from the roads and mosques but in my opinion this is the best way to experience the city and get a true taste for the real Amman, we visited the newer side which was nice for a break from the hustle and bustle but could have been any European city. The citadel is a 15 minute up-hill walk with friendly locals pointing the way and the ampi-theatre is just across the road, a real benefit as taxis in Amman are expensive (getting to the new area costs around 5JD each way in traffic). Our taxi driver found the hotel easily which cost us a flat fare of 19JD. We arrived late and hungry and the receptionist made us a meal as all the local restaurants were closed. The reception also handed out useful bits of paper with place names in Arabic that you can give to taxi and bus drivers. On the last night we discovered the roof terrace with great views over Amman and the sites.

Overall, Amman is like Marmite (you’ll either love the chaos and noise or you’ll immediately want to escape) but if you do want to embrace the down-town area I would definitely consider staying here again due to service, location and price. FYI - no alcohol is allowed on the property which is common in Jordan.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireLouEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    192
    71
    18
    9
See reviews for
29
117
158
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

This is one of the cheapest hotels we've ever stayed in so we didn't expect much.
Firstly, it took some effort to find this place. However upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff.
The room was slightly dissapointing, The bed was uncomfortable and quite springy and the quilts had no covers on them. It doesn't look like the pictures on the venere website. You can hear alot from outside. Especially the Friday prayers from the mosque at 4.20am which disturbed our sleep but made us remember that we were in Amman!
We had a private bathroom which was adequate. It was practically a shower over a toilet but it was clean so that was fine and the water was warm.
Breakfasts were really good. A nice omelette with lots of fresh bread, humus etc. It certainly made the stay better.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Man_with_wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

Absolutely nothing. Smelly rooms. Dirty smelly duvet on the beds that are not washed. the duvet are with permanent covers and smell like sweat. all you get is one small flat dirty sheet. The so called en-suite was a small closet in the hall. other people used it and died there hair in it. with hair die everywhere and pooh in the toilet and the shower was small you had to have one food in the toilet to shower.
The English Woman owner is not helpful just puts on an act to please the customers. Excursions by her are extremely expensive. An example is that if there are two of you it is 25 JD each if there are three or four of you it is still 25JD each. the driver still get his basics monthly rate while she profits big time.
All the videos what are on the web are fake.

Very noisy location in the ugliest poor down-town. Spend a little more money and get somewhere else. If you want to change your booking forget getting any money back. Plus you have to pay for toilet paper and towel are not included

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aricklondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ammanamman, Manager at Jordan Tower Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
It's sad that the objectionable tone of your visit continues to reverberate - and one wonders what on earth is all this about? I suspect it was because you didn't like being told that alcohol wasn't permitted to be consumed on the premises as we do not have an intoxicating liquor license - Nevertheless, you didn't respect our request, nor the law of the land, and continued to consume large amounts of alcohol and leave your empties for the cleaning lady and for which we were quiet.

I won't even bother answering the remarks mentioning dirt and filth because it must be obvious to all that this is a malicious review for reasons best known to yourself but I would add that its strange that with all that filth and smell you stayed for 4 days and never raised this with the Manager - likewise the trips you mentioned ... if you felt they were too expensive - why did you go on one to the Dead Sea? You requested it, no one asked you to have one.

Further more the black hair die you refer to in the bathroom must have been the black mud from the Dead Sea which you brought back yourself from your trip. Toilet paper and towels are provided free of charge and it's a very cheap remark to make - if they need replenishing before the following daily clean then guests can simply ask for more.

Regarding the owner putting on an act to please the customers - actually the owner was not present in the hotel until the last day of your visit and never had any contact with you at all during the period of your stay and never set eyes on you until just before you departed.

The driver you mentioned does not work for this hotel he works for a Rent-a-car company. Staff at the hotel tried their very best to please you - unfortunately, to no avail.

We are a budget hotel - marketed as such and have no reason to resort to 'fake videos' as you allege. That's a vindictive allegation which sums up the malicious intent of your review.

Downtown Amman - is Downtown Amman and its very condescending of you to describe it as ugly and poor. However, this is nothing to do with the Hotel and perhaps you should have done more research on your destination before you decided on your holiday location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

We stayed at Jordan Tower for two nights recently and agree with the other comments regarding the rooms, meeting area, breakfast, and importantly the staff - all of which were great. Downtown Amman is pretty grungy, but it seems to be where the budget hotels are based.

The only however is that the hotel is sandwiched between two roads, and it is noisy at night. Being a relatively light sleeper, I was looking forward to a full night's sleep when we left Amman.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blurr_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perpignan, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

The Jordan Tower Hotel is nicely situated (across the Roman theater, and from the roof terrasse you have a splendid view of the Citadel). Our double room (with private bath) was simple but really very clean and offered comfortable beds. Breakfast (quite rich) was served in a nice lounge. As for the staff, we got the feeling they would do anything to please you. Friendly, sincere, apparently happy to be able to make you happy. Amman is a big and busy place, but the Jordan Tower hotel is a place where you can relax and enjoy. We sincerely recommand it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trekking66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

Just got back from a 4-day trip in Amman. I chose Jordan Tower Hotel based on the good reviews I read online; and they held true. Amman is a nice, old town. People are surely nice and welcoming. You can sense it in their language and manner of speaking.

The hotel is very basic, located in the old downtown of Amman (referred to by the locals as "el balad"), which is the east side of Amman. The west side of Amman is more modern with malls, tall buildings, and chain hotels. The hotel offers single rooms and shared, dorm-like rooms with shared bathrooms. Depending where your room is, you could be on the 4th floor. There is no elevator, so just be prepared. The hotel is a walking distance from the Roman Amphitheater, which is literally across the street. The Citadel is behind the hotel and you can see it from the hotel's roof. It's a good hike up the narrow streets of Amman to get to the Citadel, but that's the fun part as you navigate through these streets and alleys. The stores on both streets -- to the left and the right of the hotel -- have everything from groceries to souvenirs, so they could be cheaper than buying from the actual tourist sites. There is a local restaurant (VERY VERY basic) right down the street from the hotel called "Hashem", which merely serves Falafel, hummus, and such sides. It's excellent. Everyone loves it there and it's the most affordable! 1 JOD for the tasty meal. :) And, by the way, I was worried of getting sick, but that did not happen.

The hotel service is good and welcoming. Upon arrival, the room was ready. Jihad who manages the front desk is usually there and he's very helpful with local tips and in arranging transportation for the tourist sites. The owner is British who has lived there for a long time. She's really nice and knowledgeable. Their breakfast is plentiful, tasty and a good selection. People of all ages stay at this hotel - from young backpackers to families with children. The living room where the free wifi is most accessible is cozy. You can sit and watch TV, or rest on the couch or grab a table to use your laptop while watching TV or having coffee or tea. The rooms are very basic, but for sure clean. If you are a light-sleeper, ear plugs will help you! The streets are pretty busy until late and they resume the next morning pretty early too, so the car noise could be a bit annoying.

Through the hotel, I arranged to go to a few sites that I was interested in visiting while in Amman. The driver I had was Khaled. He was a great guy - laid back; he won't rush you in any place that you go to, so you can get the most out of it. He will tell you where the tourist traps are so you can avoid them and not get ripped off. I'm glad he was my driver.

Overall, the hotel is good for the value and location. Tourist sites in Amman have a fairly expensive admission, so staying at the Jordan Tower Hotel definitely helps balance out the budget.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mon82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

Jehad helped us a lot and was always very friendly and helpful. If we had a problem he always tried to fix it for us. We always felt welcomed by him and his boss. No luxury but clean rooms and a cosy lounge where we met people from all over the world.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megane15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amman hotels
0.1 mi away
Amman Pasha Hotel
Amman Pasha Hotel
#9 of 148 in Amman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arab Tower Hotel
Arab Tower Hotel
#17 of 148 in Amman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.3 mi away
Art Hotel Downtown
Art Hotel Downtown
#20 of 148 in Amman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Zaman Ya Zaman Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#23 of 148 in Amman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
1.3 mi away
Toledo Amman Hotel
Toledo Amman Hotel
#14 of 148 in Amman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jordan Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jordan Tower Hotel

Property: Jordan Tower Hotel
Address: Hashemi Street 48 | Downtown, Amman 11844, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 148 Hotels in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jordan Tower Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Undoubtedly the Best Budget Hotel in all Amman. Situated in a prime downtown location just meters from the Roman Theatre and a short walk uphill to the Citadel and offering a range of accommodation from simple segregated dorm rooms to private en-suite rooms with air conditioning/heating/hot water and flat screen satellite TVs in a safe, secure & friendly environment with 24 hour Front Desk Service and porter. Smoking is only permitted in the mezzanine seating areas, Jordan Tower is renowned for their warm, friendly and professional service and knowledgeable English speaking staff, who promptly attend to your needs both before and after you arrive to ensure your stay is enjoyable and memorable. The hotel provides a cozy communal smoke free lounge for guests to relax and meet other travelers and includes a small and well stocked library. The bright informal dining area has views of the streets below. Featuring a splendid roof terrace with panoramic views of the surrounding area including the Citadel and Roman Theatre. We offer the tastiest and heartiest breakfast around which consists of a wide range of fresh local produce with a choice of Arabic or Western style breakfasts with various local types of bread and as much tea / coffee as you like. We serve a range of inexpensive, delicious hot & cold snacks and various hot & cold beverages until 10pm. We arrange fantastic inexpensive shared, multi stop (small group) trips daily to all tourist sites in Jordan for those wishing to travel with others or we can advise how to use public transport where possible. We also provide airport transfers - and can arrange a rent a car at very competitive rates. All your transport logistics can be sorted to your satisfaction. Free Wireless internet is available along with free parking just outside in the street or just across the road in the Roman Theatre car park. We offer various FULL COMPLETE PACKAGES, room, food, trips, airport transfers - ask for a quote with a suggested itinerary. Whatever else you need - please just ask! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Jordan Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing