We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourists, Jordanian Culture and Live Music”
Review of Jafra

Jafra
Ranked #1 of 16 Coffee & Tea in Amman
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tourists, Jordanian Culture and Live Music”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Jafra is located right at the entrance of downtown amman. The atmosphere is nice, albeit a little busy, the live music is entertaining, save for the frequent breaks for the Sana Halwa song to be blasted on the sound system (Happy birthday).

The food is tasty, pricey for downtown but not in comparison to anything in europe.

I'd recommend it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    183
    53
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“I ate like a king.”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Recommended by a Jordanian woman who I met on the plane en route to Amman.

It's dark, you have to enter a dodgy looking building to get up to it, but once you are there the select of Jordanian foods is great, the atmosphere is electric, and the smell of food and sheesha is intoxicating.

We order Baba Ganouj, Thyme Bread, Humous and Chicken & Herbs then loads of pittassent to the table too. In all it cost about 20JD and we couldn't finish it.

I'm told it also has live music and dancing, neither were there on our visit, but it is a great place just to hang and people watch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frewba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oranjestad, Aruba
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Jafra - Delicious food and amazing atmosphere!”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Came here with some travellers I met at my hostel on a recommendation. The food was absolutely delicious. We all had different dishes and had a taste of each others too, and the portions are quite generous. The atmosphere was excellent - the whole place felt very authentic. It can be a little loud at times when there is a live singer but it all adds to the experience. After our meal we had coffees and shisha. This just completed the evening as a couple of our group had never tried it before. The food may not be as cheap as some places but it is still great value when compare to UK prices. Don't miss this restaurant!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff_Y82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
“Nice Introduction to Jordanian Cuisine”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This was one of the places recommended by our hotel and we are glad we decided to go here. We really had no idea what we were ordering so we just ordered a bunch of different things from the menu. Warning, portions are pretty substantial. We didn't even come close to finishing everything. And despite ordering a ton of food, the bill was very reasonable.

Not everything we tried we liked, but what we did like we liked a lot. A very good sampler of what we would be eating for the next week. Service was aloof at first but got much better as we went on. Also, Jafra had the absolute best lemon juice with mint in all of Jordan. I'd go back just for some more of those!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GracyInVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good to relax”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Our guide told us that he knew this restaurant and that he liked it very much. When we walked in, the ambience was nice, but would have been much better if so many people, or rather, almost everyone, weren't smoking sheesha. We had gone to drink some tea, but later decided to have iced coffee as well in the group. The taste of the tea and the coffee was very nice. And we enjoyed going there and thought it was a good decision.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnujkAgarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jafra also viewed

Amman, Amman Governorate
Amman, Amman Governorate
 
Amman, Amman Governorate
Amman, Amman Governorate
 
Amman, Amman Governorate
Amman, Amman Governorate
 

Been to Jafra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing