We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Disappointing Experience (Uncaring Staff - A Beggar Security)”
Review of ibis Amman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ibis Amman
Ranked #19 of 148 Hotels in Amman
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I am a regular guest at Ibis worldwide especially in Dubai, but the experience i witnessed at Ibis Hotel Amman was really disappointing and unusual from an Accor Chain Hotel.

I booked one twin beds room for my and my sister in October 2013 through ibishotel.com and i made it very clear to that i booked a twin beds room, however and when we received the reception, the lady at the reception told me that they dont have any twin beds room left and they will give a king bed room, i told her no way because im not travelling with my sister and not my wife and that's not my problem because i have already booked the room that i require online.

She kept us waiting for around 20 minutes to find a solution by calling her management, eventually they have decided to give us 2 separate rooms till the next day and until they have one twin bedrooms vacant.

We agreed and went to our rooms, later on same night i receive a call from the reception telling me that the twin bedroom is ready and that we should move there, i told the receptionist its fine but we were prepared to move the next day only as were extremely tired after the flight, she said no we have to move now, then i went down stairs to the lobby and the same lady told me that we still keep the rooms for tonight, i said it's fine then.

Next day we were coming back to the hotel and the same receptionist saw entering the lobby and called me from her place in a very load and a rude voice to come to the reception just to tell me that the twin beds room is ready and we have to move there, i said it's fine and we did shift to the new room.

The bottomline is why should any guest bear consequences of some internal mismanagement by the hotel? is this the policy of Ibis to make the guest satisfied in 15 Minutes?

Another thing i spotted and i took some snap shots for which you can see here, was the food trays from the room service kept in the walkways for more than 24 hours! when i told the receptionist about it, the guy told me oh yeah sir i know about and i saw it my self but i was handling another guest and i couldn't do anything about it, yeah i told the service to handle it but i guess they didn't go there to collect it yet!

And of course this is not a splendid scene especially when the expiring food smell starts.

Even the security guy outside was giving me the hints of a beggar to get some tips, now if the security personnel seeks tips? doesn't this jeopardize the hotel security in general?

Obviously, i will not visit this hotel again and i won't recommend it to any of my friends travelling to Jordan.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisAmman, Front Office Manager at ibis Amman, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Mr Samer


First of all I would like to apologize that your stay in our hotel did not meet your expectations, and would like to assure that your experience do not reflect our standards of Quality.

Please rest assure that we have reviewed your comments personally, with our General Manager and the team and all necessary actions have been taken to correct the incident you mentioned.

I would also like to stress that the 15 minutes guarantee is part of ibis standards worldwide, and we do actively applied it, I am sorry to see that in this case we did not manage it correctly and would me more than happy to discussed it personally with you in order to correct the situation.


Please feel free to contact me directly on my email or by phone on the bellow contact.


Phone: +962 6 5799090

Email: H6313-FO@accor.com


Once again, please allow me to express my sincere apologies and hope we can correct this incident in order to be able to welcome you again in our establishment.


Looking forward to hear from you,


Yours sincerely

Abdelelah Shurbaji

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
There are newer reviews for ibis Amman
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 572 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

It is a clean Ibis hotel located in a good neighborhood in Amman. The hotel looks new, the room are more spacious than traditional Ibis and offer a very comfy bed.
Mini bar is not available, water flow is not perfect, Bathroom is a bit tiny, breakfast is poor, but everything else was great.
Internet connection is fast, the staff were very helpful, valley parking available at 1Euro per night!!
If you wish to save on parking expenses you can just park the car next to the hotel for free.
I recommend this hotel but would have expected a lower rate, or at least free breakfast with this rate.
Cleaning is done on daily basis, and towels are changed.

Room Tip: Upper levels give a good view
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NaderH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisAmman, Front Office Manager at ibis Amman, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear NaderH

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Amman Al Madinah. It is always a pleasure to receive positiveyour

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.


Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.


Sincerely,

Abdelelah Shurbaji
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We went to the Ibis Amman on a family trip to Jordan.
The first disappointment came from the poor friendliness of the staff in contrast to the whole country which is on the contrary very welcoming.
The rooms are ok, rather small but I would say standard for this level of hotel. The design is ok.
The cleanliness can definitely be improved. We received a baby cot for our daughter in which I could find crums and raisins below the mattress (rather fresh raisins though - couple of days max!)
The breakfast offer is limited, especially on the sweets part (barely some pastries) and we had to explain to the staff that we opened an authorization by credit card at check-in so that we would settle the bill later otherwise we were asked to pay cash on the spot!
The locaiton is ok to come and go from the airport, but not optimal to visit the citadel for example (30 to 40 min drive!).
The wifi was working well and was very easy to connect to!
So overall satisfaction level is lower than expected, but for the best or the worst we stayed only one night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathanl293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisAmman, General Manager at ibis Amman, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear jonathanl293

Greeting from ibis Amman

On the beginning allow me to thank you for time you take to write your comment ,I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Kindly note that i had meet My Team and discuss the comments you mention in your review and action will be taken to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Again Thank you for your review and hope to see you Again in ibis Hotel Amman.


Sincerely,

Eric Seso
General Manager

Hotel Ibis Amman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Good hotel, comfortable, clean, modern, standard absolutely higher than European Ibis. Fast check in, free of charge parking with car valet service. Location ideal to start Jordan trip towards the north sites, e.g. Jerash or Dead Sea and to avoid to be involved in the crowded and chaotic traffic of Amman. Wifi very efficient. Good quality breakfast. Very good priced for value.
Very close to one of the best Arabian restaurants of the town

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank picbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisAmman, General Manager at ibis Amman, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear picbal


Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Amman Al Madinah.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Again I would like to thank you thank you for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.


Sincerely,


Eric Seso
General Manager

Hotel Ibis Amman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The ibis hotel in Amman fell short of expectations. I regularly stay at ibis hotels and find them usually conveniently located and significantly less expensive than other quality hotels. However, the ibis in Amman is only slightly less expensive than four or five star hotels in town, each of which offer much better service, facilities, and are more coveniently located.
The hotel was moderately clean but does not provide room service, the mini bar is empty and they do not even privide drinking water. It resembles a backpacker accommodation. The ibis in Amman is adequate but not for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisAmman, General Manager at ibis Amman, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Krissie1878

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Amman Al Madinah. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,


Eric SesoGeneral Manager

Hotel Ibis Amman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

...and not much more than that. a typical Ibis hotel, without frills. We had a short conference there. Conference facilities were quite adequate and I would choose them again. Service was also quite friendly.
Rooms typical, a bit too small, Windows cannot be opened, AC too loud and drafty. Breakfast OK, wireless Internet free and unlimited. A small mall next door and at least two huge Jordanian/arab restaurants within walking distance. The food at "Ward" was just great. The Ibis restaurant itself can be skipped.

All in all: useful for a short stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vienna-onthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisAmman, General Manager at ibis Amman, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear vienna-onthemove

Greeting from Ibis Al Madinah/Amman

I would like to take the chance to thank you for time to write your comment regarding your stay in our hotel

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.


Regards'

Nasser Al Faouri
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank MichaelKDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisAmman, Front Office Manager at ibis Amman, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amman hotels
5.0 mi away
Amman Pasha Hotel
Amman Pasha Hotel
#6 of 148 in Amman
908 reviews
3.7 mi away
Toledo Amman Hotel
Toledo Amman Hotel
#14 of 148 in Amman
795 reviews
4.7 mi away
Art Hotel Downtown
Art Hotel Downtown
#28 of 148 in Amman
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Corp Amman Hotel
Corp Amman Hotel
#20 of 148 in Amman
348 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ayass Hotel
Ayass Hotel
#3 of 148 in Amman
291 reviews
5.0 mi away
Arab Tower Hotel
Arab Tower Hotel
#22 of 148 in Amman
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Amman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Amman

Address: 61 Mohd Fayadh al Assaf Street, Amman 11953, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Amman
Price Range: $49 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Amman 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mr. Jason Crowther, the General Manager of ibis Amman hotel, would like to welcome you for business or leisure trips. Ibis Amman is located in the heart of Amman city center. The hotel is well noted for comfort, modernity and excellent value for money. Located only 30 minutes away from Queen Alia International Airport and in the heart of a business and leisure district. Suitably close to shopping centers, restaurants & corporate offices, ibis Amman is your ideal destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Amman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amman Hotel Amman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing