We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveler rating
13
13
22
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
13
22
3
4
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 55 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2010

The best thing about this hotel are its front of house / reception staff who were always friendly and helpful.

The rooms themselves are simple and rather dark as one cannot open the curtains (closed in order to keep the daytime heat out, I guess). There was a flat screen TV, though. Minibar was only partly stocked but further drinks were brought to the room on request.

Breakfast was rather disappointing: bread for toast felt as if it had been on display for quite a while; the supply of croissants disappeared very quickly and did not seem to arrive daily; the coffee had an odd flavour.

The hotel is situated in a quiet residential area but taxi rides into town cost only a couple of JD. Apart from a nice coffee/juice bar opposite, the only other facilities within walking distance are a collection of jewellery shops.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2009

I have travelled extensively to Amman, Jordan. When its on business and a client is paying, I typically stay in the Meridien Hotel. However, I like to spend a few days in Amman on my own getting out of the Middle East heat, I go for a 3 star hotel and save myself some money. I've stayed in a bunch of them around jd50 per night ($70) and my favorite (by far) is the Ocean Hotel.

Its in the heart of the Um-utanyah gold souk, which is a very pleasant quiet neighborhood off the main roads but close to everything. Its got about 30 rooms, very clean and it sits on one of Amman's most famous Lebanese restaurants. The rooms are big and clean, the reception desk very helpful. Breakfast is included, however there is a very nice coffee shop across the street.

They don't really have a proper reservation system on the internet, so I've usually booked by sending them an email off their site.

The rooms now have flat screen tvs with satellite reception (although you have to hunt through the hundreds of stations to find the few English ones) and there is wi-fi in all the rooms, for jd10 per day which I consider absurd. Its a slow connection unfortunately. Cilantro, the coffee shop across the street, has free wi-fi as does the sandwhich shop around the corner.

If you want a nice clean room, great neighborhood in Amman for a reasonable price, this is the best I've found in Amman so far.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews