We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hospitality”
Review of Ocean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Hotel
Ranked #74 of 148 Hotels in Amman
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We made two separate visits to the Ocean Hotel in May. The hotel staff were warm, friendly ,and cared about the hotel.

There were few tourists. Mostly business people from other Middle East countries.

The location was in a leafy suburb. We enjoyed walking around the neighborhood.

The attached restaurant was excellent value.

You can check-in, have an excellent meal, and be treated like family.

Excellent on-site Manager and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelingOurDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 54 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2010

The best thing about this hotel are its front of house / reception staff who were always friendly and helpful.

The rooms themselves are simple and rather dark as one cannot open the curtains (closed in order to keep the daytime heat out, I guess). There was a flat screen TV, though. Minibar was only partly stocked but further drinks were brought to the room on request.

Breakfast was rather disappointing: bread for toast felt as if it had been on display for quite a while; the supply of croissants disappeared very quickly and did not seem to arrive daily; the coffee had an odd flavour.

The hotel is situated in a quiet residential area but taxi rides into town cost only a couple of JD. Apart from a nice coffee/juice bar opposite, the only other facilities within walking distance are a collection of jewellery shops.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2009

I have travelled extensively to Amman, Jordan. When its on business and a client is paying, I typically stay in the Meridien Hotel. However, I like to spend a few days in Amman on my own getting out of the Middle East heat, I go for a 3 star hotel and save myself some money. I've stayed in a bunch of them around jd50 per night ($70) and my favorite (by far) is the Ocean Hotel.

Its in the heart of the Um-utanyah gold souk, which is a very pleasant quiet neighborhood off the main roads but close to everything. Its got about 30 rooms, very clean and it sits on one of Amman's most famous Lebanese restaurants. The rooms are big and clean, the reception desk very helpful. Breakfast is included, however there is a very nice coffee shop across the street.

They don't really have a proper reservation system on the internet, so I've usually booked by sending them an email off their site.

The rooms now have flat screen tvs with satellite reception (although you have to hunt through the hundreds of stations to find the few English ones) and there is wi-fi in all the rooms, for jd10 per day which I consider absurd. Its a slow connection unfortunately. Cilantro, the coffee shop across the street, has free wi-fi as does the sandwhich shop around the corner.

If you want a nice clean room, great neighborhood in Amman for a reasonable price, this is the best I've found in Amman so far.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled solo
Thank Magalivoyages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank omaberingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jcgourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Juan290874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amman hotels
0.0 mi away
Kahramana Hotel
Kahramana Hotel
#105 of 148 in Amman
12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amman Inn Hotel
Amman Inn Hotel
#84 of 148 in Amman
40 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kindi Suites Hotel
Kindi Suites Hotel
#72 of 148 in Amman
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gondola Hotel and Suites
Gondola Hotel and Suites
#66 of 148 in Amman
25 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hisham Hotel
Hisham Hotel
#59 of 148 in Amman
131 reviews
2.8 mi away
Canary Hotel
Canary Hotel
#89 of 148 in Amman
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Hotel

Address: Arterya | Amman 6th Circle, Amman 11190, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 148 Hotels in Amman
Price Range: $66 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing