We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and friendly staff”
Review of Firas Palace Hotel

Firas Palace Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Firas Palace Hotel
Ranked #105 of 145 Hotels in Amman
Nice
1 review
“Good value and friendly staff”
Reviewed April 26, 2009

Stayed at the hotel for two nights, as I was passing by Jordan with a friend for our vacations.
The hotel staff where extremely friendly and helpful on more than an occasion.
We where considering staying at a five star hotel but the prices of most hotels where just too high for our budget, this hotel just fitted our budget for this stay.
Rooms are spacious and clean. We had a nice view of the citadel which is very close by. The location is amazing if you want to explore the old downtown of Amman which is just minutes away from the hotel.
Food t the hotel was good as we only had breakfast their.
This hotel is great for anyone travelling with a limited budget.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex-Live2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
1
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2009

A nice big room and clean and comfortably furnished but the wiring in the room was dangerous with lots of piggybacked plus and powerpoints that only worked when you jiggled them. There was also no hot water as they don't turn on the water heaters until late in the day as a cost saving measure.
There was a large foyer and an ancient glass elevator giving access to the upper floors. There was a bar at the back of the foyer and a glassed off section that was used as a breakfast room.
Breakfast was quite good. Eggs, tomato, cucumber, flatbread, olives, yoghurt, cornflakes and unlimited tea and coffee.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gurubob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amman hotels

Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2009

I stayed for 3 nights. TV didn't work. It was freezing cold - heater just blows out cold air. Bed was fine. Bathroom was clean & no problems with hot water. Overall room wasn't bad - I've had better & I've had worse. Expect to pay about 40-50JD/night.
Huge open foyer in the middle of the building with a stain glass ceiling. It would look beautiful if it was cleaned or taken care of a little better - applies all aspect of the hotel actually.
The breakfast was sparse but acceptable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They were very nice to me - provided me with information and everything else I needed.
The location is good if you want to be close to shops/downtown. Located uphill from the streets and market (mainly souvenirs & flea market type of shop). Not a bad location but not much going on around there either since the market is good for about 1 night's entertainment.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadiankiwi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damascus
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2009

we booked the hotel for 2 nights but did not bother coming back. Travelling in early March with small children, we found the room ice cold. The reception organised a repair man who apparently only switched on the heating fan in the room, which resulted in more cold air. We opened the window to get some heat in from outside. Water luke warm at best; however, reception response was that this is hot water. TV not programmed, or possibly not connected to satellite TV at all. Really wondered why we had to pay 80 JD for these basic things missing. Room was spacy and clean.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2009

Stayed for 2 nights in December. the decor and feel to the place is that it used to be classy, but now looks a bit shabby and dated. Though it was clean and the shower worked fine, which are the main things. Had no problems during the stay.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2008

Firas Palace is a large hotel on one of the Amman hills. On entering, it appeared to me long past its glory days: one day this hotel must have been vibrant with life. Somehow, I could imagine Poirot or Agatha Christie wandering around there. But now it is quiet and a bit gloomy. The staff hangs around and does not really know what to do, they are just waiting for the next group to enter to carry luggage upstairs or something. They are however very friendly and helpful.
The rooms were ok, but have not changed anymore since the seventies. The beds were ok. The air con did not really work well and the rooom remained quite hot at night. We did not have cold or hot water, but something in between which was not ok to wash e.g. your hair. Sometimes the toilet flushed, sometimes it did not.
The breakfast was really nice, and there was a lot of choice for Middle Eastern standards.
A great tip for Amman is to go to Books@cafe to eat a pizza. It is a trendy and loungy place in the middle of a Middle Eastern city

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sushi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amman hotels
0.4 mi away
Hammodah Hotel
Hammodah Hotel
#116 of 145 in Amman
5 reviews
0.2 mi away
Art Hotel Downtown
Art Hotel Downtown
#25 of 145 in Amman
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dove Hotel
Dove Hotel
#92 of 145 in Amman
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rama Hotel
Rama Hotel
#114 of 145 in Amman
21 reviews
0.4 mi away
Farah Hotel
Farah Hotel
#38 of 145 in Amman
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
New Park Hotel
New Park Hotel
#62 of 145 in Amman
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Firas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firas Palace Hotel

Property: Firas Palace Hotel
Address: Jabal Al Weibdeh | P.O.Box: 9119, Amman, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 145 Hotels in Amman
Hotel Class:3 star — Firas Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Firas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing