We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over rated but still one for the bucket list...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Dead Sea

Dead Sea
Book In Advance
More Info
$143.75*
and up
Private Departure or Arrival Transfer: Petra Hotels with Dead Sea tour
Ranked #13 of 179 things to do in Jordan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Not only the lowest spot on earth, but also the saltiest and most mineral-laden body of water in the world, the Dead Sea, which joins Israel and Jordan, is legendary as a source of healing, and has become a popular center for health, rehabilitation and beauty treatments.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
148 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Over rated but still one for the bucket list...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

On a week-end we drove from Amman through the mountains to the dead sea and made a quick stop at Mount Nebo. Overall this is quite an awesome drive through this biblical landscape. It doesn't look like it has changed much in the last two thousand years.
Seeing the Dead Sea for the first time, glittering in front of you, is a sight that brings you back to the age old stories you've heard in primary school. In the distance lie Jerusalem and Jericho, to the right the green Jordan valley. Only since the last peace agreement between Jordan and Israel has the Jordanian side of the Dead Sea been developed and now boasts some quality hotels such as the Marriott and the Kempinski Hotel.
We took a "day-package" at the Marriott which included access to and a dip in the Dead Sea with complimentary mud, towels, slippers, lunch and pool access. Alas, at JD 70 per person a little pricey when you don't really want to swim in a hotel pool but the food in the Italian Restaurant was good. Of course you can use the rather crowded public beach down the road for JD 15.
Back to the salty sea...it's a little difficult to image at first but it's really true, you float...the dead sea contains 8.6 times more salt in it's water then any ocean...you float. That's it.
Man, don't shave, women, don't shave either.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Idenburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    176
    44
    8
    11
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Funny”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Ok. I was a bit disappointed when we went to the Dead Sea . It's a small place, you can only go to a small beach and the water was full of dirt, plastics bags, cups, bottles, so not very clean. You have to pay to go there and it's was not the best part of the long coast we had seen. My friends enjoyed the floating effortlessly and the rubbing themselves in mud... Very funny,

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alicems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Can,t sink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Its best if you say a night in one of the hotels for easy access to dead sea. Don't put your head under or get water in eyes, just float around good fun and if you want rub your self in mud a lot of fun but only for a short time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Now I believe it can be done”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I did a day trip to the Dead Sea and we enjoyed our visit except the cost. It seems that you are taken to a resort by the Dead Sea and it costs 16 dinars to get in per person. You get a little bit of a beach front in not very good condition or clean and nothing to recommend it except you get to swim in the Dead Sea. We it's all they say it is, you really do float in the sea, one guy really did try reading the newspaper as he floated. It was cold out but much better in. You do get to use the facilities at the resort and toucan buy Dead Sea product at the shop. I'd try and find some free access if I was you and avoid the resort.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Superbunny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“a must visit in Jordan (unless you have visited the on on the Israel side)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

This sea is the only place on earth where you can float effortlessly and you can enjoy being in the water (don't immerse your head in it though unless you have very good goggles on) without having to worry about getting drown, even when you don't know how to swim at all.

It's a must visit for the above reason. Further, if you fancy a smooth skin, take time playing with the mud, let it cover your entire body, you'll see how smooth your skin has become.

I was thinking of a family picnic, depending on the weather, it is unlikely you can have one anyway if you have small kids with you because there is a high likelihood they'll want to go swimming in nearby pool (they won't fancy the salty water going any where near their eyes).

make sure you visit a good hotel that has good facility available nearby the sea so can you enjoy the experience without having to worry about finding water to wash your eyes or face or you can continue enjoying the deadsea while your children playing in the pool or kids playground nearby.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dr E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dead Sea also viewed

 
Madaba, Madaba Governorate
Dead Sea Region, Jordan
 

Been to Dead Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing