We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of zepra

zepra
Ranked #79 of 1,614 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $70
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Food there is very spicy.I like the most fish from there.They serve a lot of
Food.It's very expensive but for such amount of food is ok. The waiters was very very nice.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank filb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    139
    41
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
335 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“I still miss Chimichanga”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I was a great admirer of Chef Avi Conforti's late Chimichanga Restaurant. I ate there many times and never failed to enjoy my visit. I was very dejected when Chimichanga closed and when Conforti opened Zepra near by I hoped it will replace its place in my heart and palate. Alas, this was not to be. I have now dined in Zepra at least four times before venturing to offer a not very enthusiastic report of it. Don't misunderstand - it is a fashionable, nicely decorated restaurant with good looking and tasty Asian Fusion dishes, but... and there are at least four buts. 1. The noise: the place has very bad acoustics, mediocre background music is pumped much too loud into the room and the diners, who in Israel are never very quiet, need to shoutin order to be to be heard. The tables on the other hand are crowded much too close together (this is not Paris, mind you) and so you have a much better chance of listening to the stranger at the next table than to the person you chose to dine with. 2. The service: It is prompt and efficient - a bit too much so. you have a disturbing visit by a waitress every few minutes to clear away every plate or glass which seem to be empty. Also they show a tendency to push the more expensive dishes on you. Which brings us to the third but - 3. The price: Quite inflated for what you get. 4. The food: It is good but not exciting. Every dish I had tended to be too sweat and nothing in the tastes was surprising or new. In summery - go to Zozobra in Hertzlia and got the same noise, much better Asian food and at half the price or less.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toni13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience. Never again.”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

After a great first experience, I decided to take my Mom here for her final evening in Israel.

A staff member described a 250 shekel 'tasting' menu that didn't include drinks or dessert. We each decided to try it, having experienced an INCREDIBLE meal at Machneyuda in Jerusalem with a similar concept of allowing the kitchen to choose our dishes.

First course arrives, chopped tuna sashimi (amazing). Second course arrives, salmon sashimi (amazing). Third course arrives, tuna sashimi (amazing, but enough sashimi?). Fourth course arrives, yellowtail sashimi (seriously, the point of a tasting menu is diversity, no?).

Out come the mains, chicken decent, but salty enough to rival the Dead Sea. Golden noodles (vegetarian) average, coconut rice excellent. Dessert (pineapple sashimi) was very good.

It's very hard to believe that the kitchen didn't choose this menu for profit maximization.

I then spent the next 20 minutes arguing with a waitress over our 697 shekel bill (including a complimentary dessert). With a complimentary dessert it should have amounted to 587. Seriously incompetent bordering on humorous, she simply could not see her error until the end where she rudely threw the correct cheque onto the table stating "that's it". The only reason I tipped was because the other staff were decent.

Amazingly beautiful restaurant, great sashimi (that's all we got to taste on the tasting menu), most staff courteous and competent (we got a seriously unapologetic and ridiculously incompetent example), very average mains. Overall a ruined experience, exploitative 'tasting menu' farce with absolutely no diversity. No repeat business or referrals. A real shame! Please make sure you thoroughly review your cheque and stick to your guns when your basic elementary school addition skills are being questioned.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Culinary_Batman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice Asian fusion”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Not cheap but definitely not more expensive than London. Great Asian fusion cuisine in a very well decorated space. Quite tucked away but worths the visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leo_London84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply the best! ( But expensive )”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

If you want to go have a culinary experience of one of the best Asian fusion restaurants in the world and don't mind paying a lot for it, than Zepra is a must!!!! If you want to lighten up the bill, than don't order a bottle of wine, just a drink or 2, eat there, than go have drinks somewhere else :-)
You will feel the food explode in your mouth from flavors and different tastes that you never knew existed before, and that will remain for a while. The ambiance is trendy, nice lighting, great acoustics. Sitting on the beautiful bar is just as nice if not nicer than the tables. The service: Impeccable. This restaurant is scheduled on my trip to TLV every time I go there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nkan969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed zepra also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to zepra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing