We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere”
Review of Manta Ray

Manta Ray
Ranked #28 of 1,635 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

The food here is excellent. The salads are serviced tapas style, which is very nice. You get to try a variety, and you should. They're great. The seafood was excellent. But the view was the show stopper. We have a view across the sand, and to water to Jaffa. Very nice.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geofyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,152
    882
    260
    72
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Seafood delight”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Coming to Israel twice a year from the US, I always go at least once to this restaurant. The great view of the sea adds to a great atmosphere. For appetizer you can select from a variety of small dishes - shareable. For main dish their fish, whether grilled or baked, are delicious. A bit pricy, but worth the meal. The service is pleasant, although at times, when very busy (e.g: Saturday lunch) it is a bit slow. I definitely recommend visiting this restaurant. Yum!
Reservations recommended. I saw a few people were turned away as they did not have reservations.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Location, location !”
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Great location , probalby better for lunch than dinner. Starters were not very special, however the main courses - fish - were very good !
Service was good and prices as expected from the location.
Would come back for private dinner for sure.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank PR_S18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Location, Fantastic Food, Comfortable Atmosphere, bit pricy”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This spot was amazing. The menu is great, the appetizers were fantastic. I had Tzatziki and Baba Ganoush for my appetizer, 2 glasses of wine (Savignon Blanc from Mt. Tabor) and a fish main course. The atmosphere was great, beach-goers and businessmen alike. The staff was friendly and attentive. They had a few conversations with me throughout my meal making me feel very at home. You eat facing the water (wait to sit outside if the temp is warm enough). All it all it was great, my only surprise was the overall cost (which i did obviously see on the menu, just the total $67 for lunch seemed like a lot but the location was 100% worth it!)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank rlavorgna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
512 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Best seafood option on the promenade”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is not the first time I visit Manta Ray and they never disappointed me in terms of food quality. This time I had filleted mullet on a bed rice with vegetables - fish was tender and rice was very good - I've eaten all of it. I did not have reservation but arrived quite early (6pm) when place was half-empty. It filled up rather quickly so reservation is highly advisable. I had window table and enjoyed views of night sky/sea and illuminated Jaffa.
Again, great experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manta Ray also viewed

 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Manta Ray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing