We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like the Manta Ray”
Review of Manta Ray

Manta Ray
Ranked #27 of 1,634 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Rehovot, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“I like the Manta Ray”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I like the Manta Ray not because it rhymes with Man Ray or with.. "panta rhei". It is an oasis of calmness within hyperactive Tel Aviv, right between Tel Aviv and Jaffo. It offers plenty of parking place and a superb sea view. In January when the sea raged it captivated me even more. Actually, I ate there twice over the last year, once with friends and once on my own. They focus on fish and sea food and ,master the domain but the menu is broader. The portions are generous and you get a sense of quality and care. Found the service friendly and attentive. I will definitely pay them another visit when next time in the area.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zurich71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,150
    880
    259
    72
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect location on beach, great view of city too”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

The location is excellent, right on the beach and the patio seating allows views of both Jaffa and Tel Aviv's downtown. Very nice at Sunset.
Inside seating is a bit crowded, large selection of primarily seafood. Portions are large and proportional to the price.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“On the beach and very popular”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

On the beach and very popular. Starts with a tapas-like concept with numerous small dishes presented from which you choose; we chose three fish dishes and all were really good. Entrees were also quite good, but not great. An enjoyable evening.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank AGinCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food in Wind :-)”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Walking along with the beach today, March 30, at Tel Aviv with sunny day. Chose a lamb + grape + chestnut with local Alexander blonde. Very unique taste. Italian style. Waitress is friendly. I asked to move from outside to inside as it was much windy out there. She helped and found a place for me quite fast and good. Wish to try shrimp seafood as it's famous as well next time when coming to Tel Aviv again. :-)

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j3ffyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fine breakfasts, fresh seafood and fun breakfast cocktails!”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I love lots of Tel Aviv restaurants but Manta Ray is one of my favorites! The location is perfect - right on the beach. When the outside terrace is open it is the best place in Tel Aviv to eat and enjoy a view of the sea.
Order anything - everything is good. It's busy at dinner-time so make a reservation.
If you come for breakfast be careful ordering - the portions are big as everywhere in Israel. Breakfasts are till 12. There's a special breakfast cocktail menu.
Don't be frightened by the service - most waiters in Israel are very casual and relaxed, but they are always friendly and helpful!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AsyaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manta Ray also viewed

 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Manta Ray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing