We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little oasis in the shuk”
Review of Hamitbahon

Hamitbahon
Ranked #130 of 1,930 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Restaurant details
Reviewed March 12, 2019

Delicious food, friendly service, lovely atmosphere.
Not expensive.
Worth making a special trip to the area just to visit this restaurant - really!

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank annbd454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 152 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2019 via mobile

We enjoyed our Israelian breakfast here. It’s exactly as on the picture and you can choose 2 drinks per person. Excellent price quality! Nice, friendly people. All and all we had our breakfast twice during our 5 day stay at TLV.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank murielSp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2019

We, company of 4 people tried this small restaurant first time, ordering from daily luch menu which is regular dishes + extra soup + beer half price. Portions were so big and food so tasty, that we decided to come back. And came back for another 2 times not looking for better. They prepare excellent home style food, and have 2 kind of draft beers. Service is excellent, waiters are kind and customer caring, spek English well. There is an English menu. One more point- you can see there several cats living at the place which was not annoying but rather fun! Location is good because of proximity to Carmel market and Allenby street.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank AlgisSk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2019

The four of us , on a rainy , cold , late afternoon , celebrating Papa's birthday . The place was not full - so we did not mention we had a reservation . Located just off Carmel market , this lovely small , family style restaurant "Hamitbahon" (the kitchenette) - offers a cozy and warm atmosphere , and unsophisticated home style cooking dishes .
On the table : 2 1/2 liter and 1 1/3 liter Malka blond draft beers ; 1 4 Mezze dish ;
1 beef couscous (with bins and rice) ; 1 beef goulash (on white rice) ; 1 3 chicken "poulkes" (on caramelized onions and rice) ; 1 Greek salad ; 1 white rice side dish ;
1 Nana/mint tea ; 1 americano coffee ; 1 carrot and nuts cake ;
On the bill : 357.00 Shekels (around USD 95.00 ) .
On The House ; 1 Arrack chaser and 1 chocolate cake .
While "Hamitbahon" is not a gourmet , high end , dramatically presented dishes "chef" restaurant - the food in this joint is delicious and even yummy .
Price is accordingly - very very reasonable .
Service by Yarden , the smiling waitress , was welcoming , friendly and fast : Thank you Yarden , for the chocolate cake and the Arrack and for being patient with us !
Highly recommended . We'll be back .

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank saul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2018 via mobile

Very tasty, fast and enjoyable service in the back of the Carmel Market.
Today we had fantastic chicken /vegetables /dry fruits couscous. A full meal in one plate.
Add few shekels and enjoy a full business lunch.
In addition there are so many options available to suit meat, vegetarian and vegan eaters.
Recommended.
Enjoy

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank DanYaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamitbahon also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Hamitbahon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing