We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Dallal

Dallal
Ranked #37 of 1,638 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Hidden next one of the more popular corners of Neve' Tzedek neighborhood, this beautiful restaurant offers a great experience. Dallal is based in an old manor house in one of the oldest locations in Tel Aviv. The old house stretches out further to accommodate another beautiful courtyard, and an additional house to the south, connecting to the Dallal bakery. The renovated house is beautifully designed from the early 20th century, and it is quite evident with all the money that was invested there. The marvelous details and even the equipment gives out a modern feeling. The place is suitable for meetings, family gatherings, and couples. I attended an event once but never tried to menu up until last. My wife and I decided to try the breakfast menu, and it was magnificent, definitely one of the best I've had. I ordered poached eggs with ragu meat and beans, sour cream and bread. The toasted French bread, locally baked, along with stew sauce was incredible. My wife ordered the salmon croissant with poached eggs, and it was a delight. Although we were quite full, we couldn't resist and try the local baked good, or the continental bread basket, which came with a couple of plain butter croissants, 2 brioche rolls, 2 pieces of white bread and black nutty alternative. Along came french butter, home made jam and home made chocolate spread. Lovely. We finished with 2 great Diemme cappuccinos. The bartender at the bar was very friendly and helpful, and invited us for some digestif. Prices are not cheap, and more on the expensive side, but it was well worth it. Reservations are usually required. The only reason I give 4 out of 5, is the fact that Dallal gives the feeling of money wherever you look, which for me is a bit annoying. I would clearly, recommend the place. There are parking lots around, but I would really suggest you take a stroll in the neighborhood prior to visiting the restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cybrosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    217
    71
    40
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food and magic location”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the food very much!
Had a great burger - cooked perfectly, very tasty and bread Was incredibile. Everything accompanied by roasted potatoes and a rice which Was so simple but so delicious! The place is really cute, great atmposhere and very clean! Service Was impeccable and people very nice and kind! Experience to be' repeated! Loved it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank giorgina82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
1,540 reviews
1,243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 698 helpful votes
“Great food in lovely location”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Located in very trendy and nice Neve Tzedek area, on a small street, Dallal is a lovely place, with several dining areas, both outside and inside, allowing for rather casual atmosphere.
The menu is short, some 7-8 of each starters and mains, but well balanced, with a great selection of Mediterranean dishes: we had an absolutely delicious roasted artichokes, not very kosher but nevertheless great shrimp tartar and quite original mushroom tortellini and some grilled sardines. Grilled fish served as a main was perfectly prepared while shabazi fish soup, with seafood, pasta, vegetables and many other ingredients deliciously spicy but clearly could be perfectly a shared plate for two.
Very nice wine list, with a great selection offered by glass and skilled and professional service - a place to visit over and over again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scipion-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A nice place tasty food to start to continue or close your day!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Dallal is situated in one of the most attractive places in Tel Aviv, Neve Tsedek. One can walk tour and eat in the same area.
we had a nice breakfast and as we saw around the food is varied.
you come for 2 hours (Friday morning). If you want to sit longer it is a problem but 2 hours for breakfast was enough.
i'm sure we will visit again. Next time will try the evening.
we do hope that next time it will be less noisy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Telavivian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“(Mostly) good food, but the experience is ruined by terrible service.”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Some dishes are very good, but the horrible service ruins the experience.

The fish dishes have a high potential to be complete failures.

The place doesn't even have the decency and courtesy to compensate for the bad service and failed dishes.

Ruined my evening...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Embee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dallal also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Dallal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing