We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Abu Hasan / Ali Karavan
Ranked #13 of 1,634 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

It's true. Some times you read review on here and wonder how the reviews are so good. I took a bunch of three friends, who were all sceptical, couldn't pronounce "hummus" and couldn't understand why we were walking 20 minutes to have some dip. Within minutes of getting there they were won over. The food, atmosphere and value couldn't be beaten.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank griggs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    102
    31
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“the best hummus in tel-aviv yaffo”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Abu hassan makes the best hummus in tel aviv, I prefered the "masabacha" which is a kind of a hot hummus.
at weekends the place is very crowded and getting a place to sit is almost impossible as it is a very samll place, you can take a plate and sit outside which is nice, there is a very good atmosphere and the prices are very reasonable

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MiGHTyDuCK97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“best humus in israel”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

prepare to stand in line for a 30 min to eat the best local humus in tel aviv and one of the best in israel.
5 us$ !!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jhony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Having read about this place and all the hype, I made the pilgrimage down to Old Jaffa--twice, in fact--and join the chorus of praise for this simple hole-in-wall place. I have been eating hummus since I was a kid in Algiers. Abu Hasan's hummus is fabulous--just the right mix of ingredients and weighting of tahini. Very creamy and smooth!

The lunch crush was pretty intense with a mix of locals, tourists, workmen and soldiers jammed side by side at the tables inside and spilling out onto the sidewalk. So, I got a couple of fresh pitas and container of hummus to go, with a side of pepper dipping sauce--all for 16 shekels. Then, I ambled back to the promontory of Old Jaffa and had a picnic overlooking the sea. The perfect combination!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank quintraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just the best Hummus a man can ask for”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This place is a classic! Best Hummus I had in Israel.
Worth the trip from Tel Aviv's center. There are a few more good Hummus joint but this was my #1

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abu Hasan / Ali Karavan also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Abu Hasan / Ali Karavan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing