We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abu Hasan / Ali Karavan

Abu Hasan / Ali Karavan
Ranked #17 of 1,392 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

It's true. Some times you read review on here and wonder how the reviews are so good. I took a bunch of three friends, who were all sceptical, couldn't pronounce "hummus" and couldn't understand why we were walking 20 minutes to have some dip. Within minutes of getting there they were won over. The food, atmosphere and value couldn't be beaten.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank griggs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    90
    28
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“the best hummus in tel-aviv yaffo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Abu hassan makes the best hummus in tel aviv, I prefered the "masabacha" which is a kind of a hot hummus.
at weekends the place is very crowded and getting a place to sit is almost impossible as it is a very samll place, you can take a plate and sit outside which is nice, there is a very good atmosphere and the prices are very reasonable

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MiGHTyDuCK97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“best humus in israel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

prepare to stand in line for a 30 min to eat the best local humus in tel aviv and one of the best in israel.
5 us$ !!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jhony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Having read about this place and all the hype, I made the pilgrimage down to Old Jaffa--twice, in fact--and join the chorus of praise for this simple hole-in-wall place. I have been eating hummus since I was a kid in Algiers. Abu Hasan's hummus is fabulous--just the right mix of ingredients and weighting of tahini. Very creamy and smooth!

The lunch crush was pretty intense with a mix of locals, tourists, workmen and soldiers jammed side by side at the tables inside and spilling out onto the sidewalk. So, I got a couple of fresh pitas and container of hummus to go, with a side of pepper dipping sauce--all for 16 shekels. Then, I ambled back to the promontory of Old Jaffa and had a picnic overlooking the sea. The perfect combination!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank quintraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just the best Hummus a man can ask for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This place is a classic! Best Hummus I had in Israel.
Worth the trip from Tel Aviv's center. There are a few more good Hummus joint but this was my #1

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abu Hasan / Ali Karavan also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Abu Hasan / Ali Karavan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing