We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the Elite Experience”
Review of Messa

Messa
Ranked #19 of 1,636 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Top of the Elite Experience”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and son treated me here for my birthday. It was a surprise, during a very short trip to Israel, so I had no clue about the place and did no research it prior to going. It was one of the best gastronomical experiences that I ever had. The place is hidden behind some industrial type steel doors with no windows that may as well hide city power transformers or a YMCA gym. However, once you step inside, you know that you are in for a special treat. The calamari and seared tuna are incredible as is the carpaccio. I cannot wait to go back. A must stop in Israel.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    126
    62
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Amazing Meal in Tel Aviv”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

How weird is it to be eating the best calamari of my life during Passover in Tel Aviv? Did I mention we had shrimp too? Messa sits behind non-descript doors about a ten minute walk from the Azrieli Centre. Inside there is a narrow room done in white with high-top stone tables down the middle for family style seating or more private dining along the sides. The decor screams pretentious with its over-sized lampshades and projected still life images. But the pretension stops there. This is serious food, prepared by a talented kitchen and served by an expert staff. While we wait for our appetizers, chef sends along an amuse bouche of delicious smooth gazpacho with a puree of smoked eggplant just for interest. The matzoh (hey, it's Pesach) comes with a lovely pesto of mint and parsley and a truly great lemony hummus.

We start with calamari, steamed to perfect, tender doneness and served on a layer of thinly sliced beets with tomato sauce, coriander and cress. I can't recall a better calamari ever. The Shrimp Balagan dish comes a close second. The medium shrimp are grilled with a lovely, smokey spice blend and served on pureed potatoes with lots of fresh thyme. They didn't last long.

Mains were equally impressive: the gnocchi in a buerre noisette is perfect and comes with tender roasted chestnuts in a creamy sauce. There is also a ravioli stuffed with truffles and served with a gentle blend of mushrooms, crispy onion shards and olives. This is an outstanding dish and more than ample in the smaller size. The entrecote is cooked to order and served with more pureed potatoes. The smaller portion is quite small, so if you're hungry, trade up to the larger.

There is a small but careful selection of red wines by the glass, but you'll pay for what you get. Dinner for three with a glass of wine is 450 NIS before tip.

Service is brisk, informed and friendly. We turned up without reservations and dressed like we were about to clean the garage. They let us in anyway, but next time I would dress up a little and call ahead. A place this deserves a bit of mascara and some advance warning.

Not to be missed!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food. Terrible pricing, still more than worth it”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Great Food. Terrible pricing, still more than worth it.
the service is excellent, and the bar is especially impressive with the gorgeous crowd.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank GuyBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious food - best restaurant in Tel Aviv”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

IF you are visiting Tel Aviv, this is the place to dine. It's is at the end of a street, so when we walked in we were amazed by the ambiance. Excellent decor.
The food, was delicious well prepare and tased yummy.
The staff were extremely friendly and attentive. All attractive and beautiful I must say.
The place to visit and enjoy a whole meal.
The chocolate foie gras was out of this world.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobSrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our dinner at "Messa" was great from the very beginning. The lamb baklawa and veal cheek were amazing, as well as the desserts.
Although being on the pricier side, and not a place for casual dining, "Messa" definitely is a place to visit and enjoy a whole meal - from starters and cocktails to wonderful desserts.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vladi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Messa also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Messa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing