We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best of the Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catit - CLOSED

Catit
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Israeli, French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The Best of the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

The best meal of my 8 day stay in Israel. We did the tasting menu which was nothing short of an orgasim of taste. The setting and ambiance are memorable. The staff were outstanding. This is a must!

Helpful?
Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    58
    18
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Israeli cuisine at its' best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

This is definitely the best place to try the most sophisticated Israeli kitchen.
Prices tend to rise high up, but you might find some good deals at lunch time.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tsafrir L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
316 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Absolute best of the best in Israel / Middle East”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Catit is known as one of, if not the, best restaurant in Israel. We were keen to try it out to see how it compared to 1, 2 and 3 star Michelin experiences we've had elsewhere.

Catit doesn't hold any Michelin stars, because Michelin doesn't cover the Middle East. However, the head chef, Meir Adon, trained at world renowned restaurants such as Le Cordon Blue in Australia, Alinea in Chicago and Arzak in San Sebastian Spain.

The cooking at Catit is difficult to pin down. It's a mixture of Pan European, Far Eastern and Middle Eastern. The chef is not afraid to use bold flavours and does so competently and with great success. The cooking techniques used are at the forefront of advanced gastronomy and the service is exemplary (much less formal than you'll find in many Michelin star restaurants).

Catit has been around for about 10 years and used to be located outside of Tel Aviv. However, about 5 years ago the restaurant moved and is now located in Tel Aviv in an unassuming location. However, don't let the location throw you off. Catit is a first rate dining experience.

When we visited Catit we tried the dinner tasting menu, which consisted of:
-Appetizer (9/10)
-Raghu eggshell filled with roots (9/10)
-Sea fish sashimi (9/10) or "Indian Summer" (9/10)
-Scallops Risotto (9.5/10)
-Bar shell shitake consommé jelly (9.5/10) or Barbecue smoked Young Lamb (9/10)
-Lavender panna cotta (9/10)
-"Land" dessert (9/10)

In total the bill at Catit came to about 1,100 Shekels (including service charges, bottle of water, half bottle of wine, a glass of wine and a glass of mocktail). Given the quality of ingredients, level of cooking and the service, the hefty price is justified.

Compared to other Michelin dining experiences I would place our experience at Catit to be easily comparable to 1 or 2 star Michelin dining experience. In fact, our dinner at Catit ranks as one of the dining highlights of 2012 and given the range of restaurants we've visited, that is saying something!

I'm dying to give Catit another try to see what more is on offer...in short, Catit is a 'must-go' destination for any foodie on Israel.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TKB001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Gourmet experience for foodies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had a large group for a business dinner. Fantastic food experience combined with beautiful, upscale atmosphere and attentive, knowledgeable service. Presentation of the dishes was artful. Tastes were complex and delicious. Server enthusiastically explained everything we were eating. A special gem in Tel Aviv!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ExecGirlTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
128 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“haute cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

If you are a really sophisticated diner, this high-end restaurant is for you. The dishes are made with such meticulous care and over-the-top creativity that it is truly a bacchanal feast. However, it's very pricey. great for special occasions. Truly one of Israel's top-notch places.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcmlix1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catit also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing