We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where The Thai Diplomats Eat”
Review of Thai House

Thai House
Ranked #22 of 1,594 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
124 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 525 helpful votes
“Where The Thai Diplomats Eat”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Thai House website makes that boast - and having eaten there I can understand why. I had probably some of the best Thai food I have ever tasted (and I have tasted a lot!). Situated just a couple of minutes walk from Frischman or Brograshov Beach, this place is a little gem in downtown Tel Aviv.

The service is friendly and attentive, the food is well priced (28 shekel for appetizers and average 60 for the entree) and the taste is sublime. My business colleague and I tried the spring rolls and the papaya salad to start with and then moved onto the tradtional Naam Tuk Moo/ Neua
(sliced beef/pork) and the Green Chicken Curry with Coconut. Fabulous!! (* Make sure you tell your server how spicy you like the dishes*) Finished off with some turkish coffee or thai tea and you have a perfect meal.

If you are staying downtown at the Renaissance/Sheraton or are just visiting the beach for the day, I'd strongly recommend that you try the Thai House, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    231
    73
    32
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
396 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Delicious, Authentic Thai Food”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Had dinner with a colleague after finding this place on Tripadvisor.com. I had the green curry chicken, which came in a generous portion with a large plate of rice. We started with an order of spring rolls which were better than the usual spring roll. They tasted as though the ingredients were fresh vegetables as opposed to some frozen then deep fried tasteless thing.

I also had some sort of mango coconut drink, as they don't have Thai iced tea.

Colleague had a beef dish that he enjoyed. I didn't get the name of it because he had the server surprise him. He also had a drink. Total bill for the two was 280 shek after tax/tip. (About $80)

Very good. I will be back.

Helpful?
Thank Danield528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salem nh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The food was good. The service could have been more attentive and there was some confusion on being seated. Would go back again however.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Never been to Thailand, but if the food is this good, I might just go!

I especially like the starters (Som Tam with sticky rice in particular).

The main courses are large but not as good in my humble opinion.

The staff and service are excellent, pity you cannot smoke there anymore!

Pity they don't deliver as well.

All in all, well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Thai in Israel”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Sophisticated, Authentic and delicious flavors. This place is a little gem in Tel-Aviv. Great for small family special occasions.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai House also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Thai House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing