We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience White City
from $42.65
More Info
from $53.68
More Info
from $649.00
More Info
Reviews (445)
Filter reviews
445 results
Traveler rating
232
133
62
16
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
232
133
62
16
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bauhaus style walking tour bauhaus museum dizengoff square rothschild boulevard area of tel aviv rathaus development restaurants israel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 445 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2019

This is the least impressive UNESCO site I have ever seen. It's a nice area, and we walked all over it, but it had no "special" feel to it.

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank GK C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2019

This is a unique area in Tel Aviv and it is worth wandering here to appreciate the style of architecture that was considered optimal in the 1920's-40's. It is minimalist, somewhat like Frank Lloyd Wright styles.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank CarltonClassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2019

I am a licensed USA Architect and world traveler. I did not have high expectations for Tel Aviv architecture as the city was founded in 1909 and then consisted entirely of sand dunes. (For reference, my favorite cities for architecture are Barcelona, Spain and Florence, Italy).

I was pleasantly surprised by the proliferation of extremely high quality restored Bauhaus structures throughout Tel Aviv. I cheated and took a TouristIsrael.com live architecture 2-hour tour with guide, that was excellent and economical.

The City of Tel Aviv has strict renovation guidelines that ensure all renovated structures are restored to their precise original condition, resulting in many beautiful Bauhaus era buildings. I can see why it is a UNESCO heritage site. Highly recommended - take a walking tour if you can.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2019

Most of the houses were built in the 1920-30-s years by german architects. Not all are white today but still you have a good impression, why is it UNESCO protected area. On a lot of houses you will find a little note - who built it, for whom, what was it former and what it is today. You can learn a lot from the history.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank 545medva
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2019 via mobile

Tel Aviv is known for many things and attractions, cultural, culinary, innovation and more - yet in it's heart the 'white city's a wonderful place to just walk around and see all the beautiful buildings renovated and preserved to show the beautiful architectural style over 100 years from Central Europe. No wonder it was recognized as an UNESCO preserved site - recommended...

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Markel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews