We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an improvement !!!”
Review of The Ophir Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ophir Hotel
Ranked #31 of 40 Tel Aviv B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 24, 2013

As a Belgian citizen I often arrive to Israel for Business and stayed several times in the Hotel in the past as well as recently. I must confess that after the renovation - it certainly got a serious "facelift". The Hotel is centrally located and the room was very comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly and did all and beyond (especially the receptionist Avi) - to satisfy the customers. Unlike before, I do recommend the Hotel now.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 197 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed for four nights at this hotel. When you arrive it looks like a characterful place to stay right in the heart if Tel Aviv. However I had a series of disappointments and would not recommend staying here. The rooms are very bare and have not been invested in. Mine was unfinished with 3 sockets still awaiting plugs or fittings, a cracked loo seat, a missing light bulb and no shower curtain. The bathroom was basic with an old fashioned shower fitting that sprayed water all over the toilet when you use it. On my first day in town they had builders in who sorted two of these problems out. The doors are not sound proofed so when other guests returned at 4 am they woke me and others up.
The other issue is service. There was only a kettle in my room. When u asked for tea and a cup and a bottle of water I was sent a glass and tea bags and water in a jug. This turned out to have a dead fly in it. The cup and tray has not been cleared from the room and there is no bin, so dirty crockery and an old apple core adorn the side board.
Breakfast is offered in a cafe next door which is part of the hotel. Eggs, toast but otherwise very similar to what you get for supper ( eg plates of humus and salad). If like me you want honey, jam or marmalade on toast , forget it.
Other guests had similar experiences: I met Lithuanians who'd unaccountably been asked to change room at 1a.m.
That about sums it up. Location is good for downtown Tel Aviv but I hope the explanation gives you a picture why I'd avoid the hotel until they make some radical changes.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huisnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Not too far from coastal restaurant strip & near to Tel Aviv shopping, commercial, and cultural areas. Rooms are dated & in need of spruicing up. Over-priced and not up to international standards expected by tourists. OK primarily for short, overnight or transfer stays.

Room Tip: Can get better value in Tel Aviv - but may suit if you need to specifically be in that area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vernp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The place, I will not call it a hotel, is not for tourists. It looks like a place from a Hollywood horror movie that offers hourly male satisfaction services. The place is fitly, and this is a nice way of putting it. It is fully exhausted, with no room maintenance, and I am not talking about any kind of cleaning service, which indeed is obsolete. The ceiling in the room, I was in, had bloody spots all over it. The bad blankets smelled awful. But wait until early morning when cigaret's smoke, coming from the reception desk, spreads around to tickle your senses for a nice start of the day.

No noise isolation across the rooms bordering to each other, meaning all the rooms on a floor.

Do not order a wake up call, if you care about guests on your floor. If you do order a wake up call be aware that everybody on the floor will "benefit" from it.

Stay away from this place. For the price of this place you can stay in real hotel, with proper cleaning service and within the same area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hava_havanina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Just had a night at The Ophir Hotel on Dizengoff. It's in a great location, in the middle of Tel Aviv, about 15-20min walk from HaShalom rail station. It was ideally located for me as I wanted to see the bauhaus center. The beach is a 10 min walk, as is karmel market.

The staff couldn't have been more helpful on my stay and were good to talk to. The rooms are clean and simple and good for the price. I was staying during the Shabat so quite a few things were closed but there Is still plenty happening on Dizengoff. The staff also helped me book a taxi to take me to the airport.

You get a proper breakfast too with an array of bread, spreads and drinks. Free wifi!

Overall recommended for making my stay in Tel Aviv very convenient!

Stayed: October 2013
2  Thank youandiaredominoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

the first room i was put in had the curtains placed in a way that they blocked the ac unit.. so choose, either privacy or air

the second "upgraded" room?
no bin
no chair
mismatched furniture
empty front desk
noise
soap and shampoo? worse than a 200 rupee hotel in india
shall i go on?

still, as a place to crash smack in the center of tel-aviv it is OK. clean and well airconditioned. arrive late, leave early, and you're fine

altogether so much wasted potential, and thus extremely overpriced. sad.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IsraelTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is the most horrible "hotel" it sure doesnt deserve that name an hostel would be ten times better , they are like 4 brother i dont know if they are the owners or 4 managers but they are all rude , one sayd to me the day i left its 450 isl ! When the days before was 350 i said no way ! Ill rather go to another place so he said ok you just have to pay what you paid before when i go downstairs with the 350 he was occupied and his brother attended me and he said no ! Its 450! I told him his brother who was right there told me i could pay 350 they started arguing in hebrew , they obviously are in disagrement so the guy who told me i could pay 350 say to me i probably understand wrong wich is a lie he said to me as clear as water i just had to pay what i paid before, i grab my things and left NO WAY it should charge over 100USD its a disgusting place the lobby its always full of his family with babies and stuff , its very dirty! I found an old condom box in one of the drawers , the bath is horrendous i felt i was gonna catch a fungus or something, i could have died in that place ! From how many hotels you can say that? I was sitting in the toilet and the air extracter felt down ! If it wasnt for the electic cords it would have hit me in the head ! / i can tell you it sould be a very bad way place to die ! The internet NEVER works/ they are in remodelations also so they were making noises the whole morning and one of the brothers was just salking around with a glass of wine and smoking / i had to put some eap music very loudly in kind of a peaceful protest for them to shut up! I have in in whole europe and most of north and south america and i never seen anything as horrible as this! This place is a ripoff! Never go there believe me i used to not read the reviews before but i learned my lesson the hard way this is the first review i make since its so bad ! If you need something as cheap as this go to another hotel or even an hostel would be nicer

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Unemployedninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.6 mi away
Blue Sea Marble Hotel
Blue Sea Marble Hotel
#79 of 102 in Tel Aviv
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Center Chic Hotel Tel Aviv - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
4.3 mi away
Leonardo Boutique Hotel Tel Aviv
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sun City Hotel
Sun City Hotel
#88 of 102 in Tel Aviv
156 reviews
0.7 mi away
B House
B House
#18 of 40 in Tel Aviv
22 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel 34
Hotel 34
#5 of 40 in Tel Aviv
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ophir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ophir Hotel

Address: 43 Diezengoff, Tel Aviv 6428214, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Tel Aviv
Price Range: $76 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ophir Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in heart of the city, rooms fully airconditioned, cable t.v., free wireless internet, refrigerator. Find our hospitallity, the synthesis of comfort and efficiency. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ophir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing