We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful reception”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Avia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avia Hotel
Ranked #97 of 98 Hotels in Tel Aviv
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Helpful reception”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

My wife and I chose this hotel purely for its proximity to Ben Gurion airport. We arrived on a Friday afternoon. The small lobby was quite well appointed. Chen, the receptionist was amiable and helpful.
Our room was large and comfortable, and the bathroom adequate for our needs, with well stocked shampoo and soap. I'm sure the dead cockroach in the bathroom was not included in the price!
Breakfast the next morning was a sad affair, as it was the Sabbath, so no cooked food. No staff was available, but there was plenty of fresh food and milk products to have a satisfying meal.
Staff did peer from behind the counter now and then, but made no effort to help.
My wife had to call the receptionist to help another guest with food.
We didn't expect much from this hotel, as we wanted a hassle-free and short trip to the airport the next day, and so it turned out.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank potteringharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    17
    14
    20
See reviews for
10
21
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

I looked for quick accommodation near Ben Gurion Airport. Unlike most international cities, there are not many choices near Tel Aviv’s airport, maybe 2 or 3 hotels. There are many choices if you don’t mind travelling a bit (well, more than a bit really). But we arrived on a Sunday nite, and flying out again Monday morning, so I desired a hotel near, and the Avia is the closest at perhaps 20 minutes drive, even if your GPS can’t acquire satellites.

It is a multi-storey edifice, not a multi-star hotel, (for which you will need to travel farther). But seeing as how we only spent 8 hours there (6 sleeping), it sufficed. On the other hand, the room cost is a reasonable shekel, and once you wake, you are treated to a well-structured breakfast and can be back at the airport in double quick time.

Why is this important? Because in Israel, it’s not the distance that matters (distances are small) it’s the traffic. So the closer you are to the airport, the more likely you are to arrive in a practical stretch of time. Enough politics!

Now, about the hotel. Check in was smooth and friendly. There’s parking right in front, and (exceptionally) it’s free. That’s because the Avia Hotel is located in the suburbs. So you will manage easily with your bulky cases. But of note is the convention hall in the hotel: that means noise, crowds, and rowdies. So the parking lot may be nearly full if you arrive contemporaneously with the partiers. Also, your room may leak noise from the party. But don’t worry; by 3 am most people may have departed, although some to the room right next to you.

Aside from that, the room we had was large and typically hotely, with TV, glasses, radio alarm that you have to set, etc. Cleanliness was just average. The bed was fine, and we like it firm. The breakfast ample, a good selection of salads, fruit, buns, jams, even pizza. A variety of breakfast-time beverages. And you can eat as much as you like.

The hotel may be improved when you arrive because renovations were under way. But don’t worry, the construction noise started at 10 am, and will be gone shortly.

Disregard the unimportant stuff I related so far. Here’s what matters: the hotel is close to the airport; parking is free right in front; the room is reasonably priced and clean; the breakfast will help you forget any problems that may have troubled you, and have a good trip.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kaldort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed in this hotel last week march 2014. I would not stay there again if it was for free.

Place is run down, Bathroom awful, chips out of the bath, rust on taps, Breakfast was awful and the breakfast room was filthy. Staff were not helpful, more interested in there argument with each other than our comfort. And so over priced.

Edel

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tel Aviv hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

This was the most terrible hotel we ever visited! The photos on the internet do not compared (on booking.com) with the reality: on the 1th/2d/3th/4th floor everything was boarded up, bricked-up doors,loose wiring, dirt, darkness, ruin, we walked into a rebuilding on its worst, etc!! The room next to ours was a big mess (if it was used by junks), the garden and swimming pool was empty and looked poor. Our room: their was no warm water,no small lightning nearby the beds, no cleaned beds and the floor looked dirty, etc…. Only the lobby looks comparing with the photos on the internet.
Oh... and on the 3th floor their was an open Jewish prayer service (shabbat) with beautiful songs (still something positive !).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elisabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Did not expect much after reading the previous reviews, but we really musts say that the hotel is much better than what is stated in some of the reviews. They must have renovated and updated everything. Clean and spacious room, comfortable beds, good parking facilities, bathroom including shampoo etc. The breakfast was overall average, however, extra plus for the nice man making omelets on request and a really good coffee machine. Further, there was free and fast wifi in our room. In the same building there was a nice restaurant with a bar, and as hotel guests we had 15% discount.
Can recommend this hotel if you need a night close to the airport.

Room Tip: We had a room on the fourth floor, clean and spacious even though we were three adults (family with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Activefamilyholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Not an impressive hotel, but we just stayed here one night because we had a very early flight and it was the most affordable hotel near the airport. About a 10 minute drive to the beach at Tel Aviv. It does look like the hotel is doing some renovations, so maybe it will be better once those are complete.

Pros:
Location, proximity to the airport
The new rooms are nice and roomy.
The staff was very helpful and friendly.

Cons:
We felt really unsafe. There was no dead bolt on the door into the room and the door was a hallow door, not a security door. One good kick would have opened that door, locked or not.

Room Tip: Wait until the renovations are complete. Hopefully they will replace all the doors and door locks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmFam365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Good location in the center of Israel, good restaurant near the hotel, we enjoyed eating there lunch and dinner! The service in the hotel was very nice! The hotel was reasonably clean. Children welcome! The room was convenient and the bathroom was clean and renew. We had a parking place in the hotel with no extra money charged. Small lobby but modern designed. It's not 5 star hotel but the price was fair!
10 minutes driving from the airport, 15 minutes to Tel Aviv!
3 minutes walking from a nice mall.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronitper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tel Aviv
5.0 mi away
Sadot Hotel
Sadot Hotel
#24 of 98 in Tel Aviv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kfar Maccabiah Hotel & Suites
4.9 mi away
Rimonim Tower Hotel Ramat Gan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Prima Link
Prima Link
#1 of 1 in Petah Tiqwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
7.5 mi away
Armon Hayarkon
Armon Hayarkon
#69 of 98 in Tel Aviv
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
6.6 mi away
Townhouse Tel Aviv
Townhouse Tel Aviv
#67 of 98 in Tel Aviv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avia Hotel

Property: Avia Hotel
Address: 4 Hahoresh Street | Yehud, Tel Aviv 5647003, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 98 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avia Hotel is situated between Tel Aviv and the Ben Gurion Airport (a 7 minutes ride). All hotel rooms are air-conditioned, with a refrigerator and a kettle in every room for preparing tea and coffee. Complimentary free wireless (wifi) internet access in the rooms and lobby. Breakfast is served in the hotel's dining room. The beautiful Charly Checkpoint restaurant offers international cuisine. The hotel also has a reception hall with a kosher kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing