We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing from the beginning till the end” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Popina

Popina
Ranked #92 of 1,561 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing from the beginning till the end”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

One of the (if not the) best restaurants ever.
The chicken breast with truffle dish was by far the best I ever tried.
I'm a meat lover, but it was so good, I must admit it was the best dish I could have.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GEZNER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    58
    22
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible experience at Popina last night”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

We heard a lot about this place so we came expecting a magnificent dinner. We had reservation for 9.45 pm - we had to wait 45 minutes before we were seated. Not a great start but it happens. The service was slow and forgetful - we had to remind the waitress to serve us the beer we ordered twice, only to recieve it at the end of our meal. We had to ask for water three times and in general it felt like we are bothering our server and we should be thankful since they let us eat there. The food wasn't interesting, every second dish had truffle oil (which I like but tastefully). Three out of eight dishes total we didn't even eat half. No one asked why. The desert part was the best closure, we had the chocolate fondant, which felt to us not even half baked - we returned it twice and ended up not eating it because it was terrible. When they served us the check they didn't take it off, when we asked why, the answer was we thought about it but we didn't.. It was after we have them our credit card. Then they said they would if they could but since its a tourist credit card, they can't. Very strange. They offered to give us a discount for our next visit - we declined and left upset and with a bad taste in our mouth.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Iritnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RISHON LEZION ISRAEL
Level Contributor
313 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Truly it is one of the best dishes we have ever had in a restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

A true jem in the delightful Neve-zedek an old part of Tel-Aviv. The dishes were sofisticated, original, varied and very tasteful. The service was quick and proffesional and we enjoyes each bite. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank couple59060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Good food, great service, all out good time! Loved the wine and deserts are a must. The cheesecake is sooo good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tzachi220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

not only is the food Great, the waiter was great as well. My drinks were always full, and the atmosphere is the place where you wanna hang out. their drinks and wine would make you want to stay there all night

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank emezrahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Popina also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Popina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing