We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our compliments to the chef”
Review of Popina

Popina
Ranked #88 of 1,597 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ra'anana, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our compliments to the chef”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Sylvester night dinner at Popina was fabulous. Dishes were exquisite and the service excellent. The amberjack tartar stood out but everything was delicious.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tzvika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    61
    24
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ramat HaSharon, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Little Place!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Great little place in Neve Tzedek.
Creative food with various cooking techniques.
Special Cocktails and nice Wine selection as well.
We tried various appetizers and mains and everything was very special and tasty.
Try the Shrimp Burger!
Food is a bit pricey, but the overall value for money is great.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ohad I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic food.”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Best meal we had after ten days traveling through Israel (and Istanbul). Who knew steamed shrimp could be turned into a delicious burger? Gnocchi, ravioli, beef carpaccio all divine. Excellent wine and friendly service to boot. On the pricey side, good for special occasions.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Varina27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertzliya
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very good but pricy food”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We set at the really nice outside court, as the weather was good. Between the four of us all dishes were excellent, including the wine that the waitress suggested. Service was very good too. Prices are pretty high but we will return some day to celebrate a special occasion.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrahmsY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A Stand Out in Tel Aviv”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Busy spot, with a fun and varied menu. The menu is divided into categories depending on how the food is prepared: steamed, grilled, etc. With dishes from light to hearty, there are choices for all. The featured cocktails are good as well. Service is good, though can be spotty. But, it's Israel: you have to be a little pushy sometimes to get what you want.

This is now our favorite "fancy restaurant" in Tel Aviv. We take out of town guests here to show that Israel isn't all hummus and felafel. And we go here for romantic evenings when we want a special night out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Global-Villagerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Popina also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Popina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing