We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, horrible service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Port Said

Port Said
Ranked #37 of 1,561 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Israeli, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
“Great food, horrible service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

The food it tasty and very impressive in its simplicity and freshness. The service, however, is horrible - and this is based on several visits I made to this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shircalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    80
    13
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Tel Aviv”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We were brought here by locals - thank goodness because the menu is only in Hebrew, although the waitstaff does speak English. We also came back a second time without our local friend and managed to order well even though we can't read Hebrew.

Dishes are small and fun to share. Our favorites were the Brad Salad and the sweet potatoes (although they were out of sweet potatoes the second time we visited!).

Great atmosphere - cool DJ, kind of hipster, all outdoor seating, free "chasers" (aka shots) on the house each time we visited.

Closed on Friday evenings for Shabbat ... although friends told us they reopen very late on Friday night. We went around 8:30pm and they were closed though.

Our best meal in Tel Aviv hands down.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
216 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“incredible spot!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

good simple food with friendly staff. Good music and great crowd. dishes are unique yet simple and tasty.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitsanw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Every dish was amazing, fantastic atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I was taken here by locals (you need to, if you can't read the menu in Hebrew!) We sat outside and the atmosphere is amazing. Get there early as it gets so busy. Fantastic music with a great DJ, our friend picked all the dishes and it was like sharing plates, and each dish was absolutely delicious. Try the beef tartare and the stewed beef and the aubergine with tahina - literally everything we ate was fantastic, even the tahina, the beans houmous and the bread. Then we got an apple pie dessert which was also great. This is a real find and luckily not a tourist trap so don't tell too many people about it, but definitely go!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BizTravAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Rating this 4 for the atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

The atmosphere is great, it's very lively and upbeat and an ideal place to meet with friends. But the staff are aggressive and unhelpful, I waited forty minutes for a table and left after the waiter gave our table to another group.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Candice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port Said also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Port Said? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing