We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were disappointed with the display but fascinated”
Review of Palmach Museum

Palmach Museum
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$350.00*
and up
Private Tour: Customized Half-Day Walking Tour of Tel Aviv
Ranked #4 of 274 things to do in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Interactive history museum by appointment only.
New York City
Level Contributor
246 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“We were disappointed with the display but fascinated”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We were told to make reservations in advance as they had limited touring and they fill up quickly.The positives -procedure for booking was excellent, my emails were promptly returned, we were contacted when they changed our reservation for an earlier time and confirmed each step. The young soldier was very enthusiastic in her telling of the Palmuch experience before we started the tour. Negatives -we thought we were on an English speaking tour and received recording devices. We were with a large school group and once the tour started, you basically went from display to display with your ear phones. There were no interactions with the tour guide.The exhibits were very worn which I suspect has more to do with financial constraints. We stayed at the Dan Panarama so we visited with a taxi. Make sure the driver puts down the meter.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    766
    151
    38
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Love it”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This museum is an interactive museum. You have seen few museums like this one. Need to reserve in advance. Excellent Experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Palmach Museum, Tel Aviv”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

What a wonderful way to learn about the beginnings of Israel as we know it today. You enter your journey as one of the "recruits" that joins the Palmach and end with Israel becoming a State. The story unfolds in each room as sights and sounds take you back to pre-1948 and the beginning of Israel as we know it today. We joined a group of Israeli high school students and although our tour was in Hebrew we had headsets that allowed us to also hear the tour in English. I encourage everyone to take time and visit this museum.

Reservations are a MUST. Groups entering the museum are small and need to be to experience the full effect of the tour! I am so glad that on this trip to Israel (and I have been on many trips) I was able to visit this museum!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“our visit to the palmach museum”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

A do not miss experience.One and a half hours of pure drama.A most unusual presention of a History lesson.

Howard Moss

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank HowardMoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“PALMACH MUSEUM, TEL AVIV”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Located at 10 Haim Levanon St in Tel Aviv, this by reservation only museum is incredible. It is state of the art, interactive history come alive in tableau form, in video form and in surround sound. As you move from room to room, each exhibit describes the history of the formation of the Palmach, Israel's first Army.

You can not run through this museum as each room moves you through a series of tableaus, vignettes, sights and sounds.

Each room has seats. Each visitor gets headphones in your choice of language. When we were there, there was a very large group of Anglos present, so our small group used Hebrew, French and German head phones.

All in all, an amazing museum and incredibly well worth the visit. We give it Five Stars.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank rebrapp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palmach Museum also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Palmach Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing