We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leonardo Art Tel Aviv
Ranked #74 of 102 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our tour through Israel ended in Tel Aviv. We stayed only one night in Marina Hotel. Before we left I had read all the negative comments about this hotel, so my husband and I expected the worst. We were pleasantly surprised to enter a very modern, beautiful new room as you can see in the picture I've taken.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank omi55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaTLV, General Manager at Leonardo Art Tel Aviv, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
It is unfortunate that the Marina Hotel is not recognized for it's great location, modern renovation, unique Art Collection, impressive roof top swimming pool, lobby bar with direct access to the Tel Aviv promenade, beach and marina, as well as elegant conference and meeting facilities. I am very glad you experienced this for yourself and enjoyed your stay with us. Hoping to see you upon our returning guests.
Best regards,
Yair Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (612)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 612 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

First of all,you can't beat the location: you are two seconds away from the beach. The room we stayed in was redone in beautiful Italian decor: lovely colors, new sink, a stunning bathroom. But what detracted were small,easily fixable things: a safe that didn't work,a fridge that hadn't been plugged in, a broken board underneath the fridge. If there were a quality control person who actually did his or her job,I would have given the place a five. But small things add up and point to a bigger problem: Who is watching the shop?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaTLV, General Manager at Leonardo Art Tel Aviv, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to comment about the Marina Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed our renovated and refurbished rooms as well as the great location of the hotel, minutes from the Tel Aviv boardwalk.
Regarding the safe, refrigerator and broken board, one call to the duty manager or the reception at all hours, and you would have received immediate response, by either moving you a room or fixing the mentioned issues in just a few minutes.
As our reputation is very important to us you can be rest assured that we are concerned about improving our service, matching it up to our fabulous interior and exterior renovation. Hoping to host you in the future at the Marina Hotel.
Sincerely,
Yair Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

At 2am one night of our stay we heard a faint buzzing noise in our room & opened the bedroom door to find the hall corridor full of smoke. There was a fire next door to the hotel and our entire 5th (top) floor was thick with smoke & we had to evacuate. We were forced to stay up outside the hotel until 6am when it was safe to return to our room. We accept fires/incidences like this happen, but we very unhappy with the some of the problems at the hotel:
- The fire alarms in the bedrooms did not work (faint buzzing noise was not an alarm)
- The hotel staff did not react to the fire - people were streaming downstairs from the smoke-filled top floors & the staff downstairs were still checking people into the hotel.
- No communication at all about where to go or what to do. There was no fire procedure.
- Some fire doors were padlocked shut and could not be used.
- No apology or compensation for the inconvenience - we were told to go back to our rooms and open the windows to get rid of the smoke fumes.

It's a shame because the hotel apart from this incident was great, but safety should be paramount. Broken fire alarms in the bedrooms and padlocked fire doors are totally unacceptable and I would urge noone to stay in this hotel until this is fixed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBreger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaTLV, General Manager at Leonardo Art Tel Aviv, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your stay.
The incident you mention underwent complete clarification. We are obliged by law of the police and fire department to evacuate all guests from their rooms in the case of a fire, even if it is a false alarm as was the case, since the fire from the surrounding area activated our system.
Since guest safety is of top priority, the security department decided to reinforce these rules and when danger was ruled out, everyone was free to return to their rooms. As this was a clear inconvenience, we compensated our guests with a richer Israeli breakfast buffet until later hours of the day, had room service sent upon request, confirmed late check out and met other various requests.
It is unfortunate to us that your stay was not enjoyable and we hope to have the possibility to live up to your expectations should you stay with us in the future.
Wishing you all the best.
Yair Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

First of all, the hotel is very difficult to reach by car with the GPS. The system makes you turning around all the time as the roads network is labyrynthic and the hotel direction not clearly indicated.
However, it is closed to the beach.

Then it is impossible to park elsewhere than in the underground pay parking which is very gloomy and dirty, it will cost you an additionnal 42 ils per 24h.
Finally the prices are ridiculously expensive with 270 us dollars without VAT for a tiny room. Ours was situated just over the air conditioned fans of the hotel and very noisy. Inside ac is also noisy even at the lowest speed. Bathroom is very small with no separation for the WC.

Receptionists are not very kind at least the first at whom I asked to fix the wifi connection impossible to use. At the fifth level, the view was beautiful but the swimming pool was ridiculously small and overcrowded.
Customers where horribles yelling in the corridors at 3 AM coming back probably from the distant night club that you ear at night. Cleaning personal yells also in Russian from 7 in the morning so you will have to sleep with earplugs.
Breakfast was a buffet quite well correct but the orange juice was chemical and bad the cafe not good at all and the worst was the tea, with an horrible taste due to chlored water.

Such a bad experience, never again

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaTLV, General Manager at Leonardo Art Tel Aviv, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to comment about the Marina Hotel.
We, like all hotels located on the Tel Aviv promenade, do not have our own parking lot, however the adjacent parking lot leads you easily right to the lobby of the hotel. Regarding it being gloomy and dirty, it is a public parking lot and regretfully it is not under our maintenance.
As management has changed in the past few months and renovation of all of our rooms has been finalized, many of our guests find our new rooms sized just right during their stay, as well as free WiFi internet connection we offer and a rich Israeli breakfast buffet. There are various types of rooms at different rates. A family room or suite could have suited you better. Our impressive rooftop pool and bar offers our guests a spacious sunbathing area throughout the entire sundeck along with a great view while resting and relaxing. Swimming can be combined in the seashore only a few steps away from our lobby.
Wishing you all the best and hoping to see you again in the future.
Best regards,
Yair Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I arrived at the Marina Hotel in Tel Aviv in mid July with my 2 teenage children. The entrance is of bad repair and smells very badly of urine/bad drains.

The rooms were basic and cramped and the bathroom unbearable, sewage swell made worse by the very high temperature of that time. The staff tried to clean up the bedroom. We were not offered another better room which was disappointing.

The breakfast were basic you could however order Omelette which did it improve it, I did however found a long hair on the sweet rolls.

The pool area was attractive and suitable for young couples or singles. The girls although told to tie their hair up in the pool did not!! Whilst swimming in the pool I constantly had lumps of hair through my fingers!!

The staff generally tried their best to help out in anyway. I would not return to this hotel, it needs a total revamp and the drains sorting.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicudatchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaTLV, General Manager at Leonardo Art Tel Aviv, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for your comments.
I am glad to let you know that we have recently finished a full interior and exterior renovation of the hotel letting our guests enjoy high standard modernized rooms and facilities. Regretfully the public area by the hotel is not under our maintenance and the smell of sewer is due to draining problems connected to the sea shore. Our pool crew has been instructed to make sure all guests tie their hair and wear a cap while swimming.
Our Israeli buffet breakfast has various cheeses, pastries, salads and various side dishes. It is possible to order Omlettes and other types of eggs, as well as various filtered coffee and espresso to make your breakfast perfect.
I am glad you encountered our helpful staff and hope to have you again with us at the new Marina Hotel.
Best regards,
Yair Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Although the hotel is placed in the center of the city, the entrance is obscure in Atarim plaza. This plaza is an ugly place with many dark corners which you surly would like to avoid passing by. The back entrance leads to a narrow passage which overlooks Gordon sea water pool. The breakfast is moderate in Israeli standards. Noise comes from traffic in one side and from clubs in the other.
I will not recommend the hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: Take the upper floor (it may be more expensive)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank זכריה נ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaTLV, General Manager at Leonardo Art Tel Aviv, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time in commenting about your stay.
As the marina hotel has recently undergone complete renovation, the Atarim Plaza nearby is regretfully not being maintained and is not under our supervision.
The exterior renovation was extended as much as possible refurbishing our entrance and light projectors were placed throughout the parameters of the hotel to make the area more pleasant. Our high standard renovated rooms have been modernized ensuring an enjoyable and relaxing stay.
Hoping to host you in the future.
Best regards,
Yair Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

While the actual rooms in this hotel were fine, that's about all that was, actually not quite true the pool area is lovely even if it is quite a small pool for the size of the hotel. Staff at best were unfriendly, unhelpful and worst quite rude. The bar closes at 11p.m. so if you want anything after that it's tough. There is a nightclub nearby and on two nights it went on until 2am and 2.30 a.m. respectively, probably only affected rooms on the side that I was on. One night receptionist deserves a mention, Daniel and they could do with a few more like him. Also up in the pool area a lovely young lady called Maor and one young man behind the bar, Or. If anyone asked me to recommend a hotel in Tel Aviv I would tell them to steer clear.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the left side of the hotel as you look at it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathyit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaTLV, General Manager at Leonardo Art Tel Aviv, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for your comments.
As the Marina Hotel is located near Tel Aviv's well known restaurants and nightclubs on the promenade, noise may rarely be heard from the nightclub. Should you have advised reception of your disturbance, you would have been moved to a different room, as I see that you mention that Daniel was service oriented.
Our roof top pool area with spacious sundeck and bar enables you to rest and relax, swimming can always be combined in the beach just a few steps from our lobby.
After 11:00 p.m. our lobby bar and room service are at your service.
Your feedback is very important to us and be sure that we are always working to improve our service and focus on our guests' needs. Should you return to Israel in the future, we invite you to come and experience a perfect stay with us at the Marina Hotel.
Regards,
Yair Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.1 mi away
Leonardo Beach Tel Aviv Hotel
0.1 mi away
Herods Tel Aviv
Herods Tel Aviv
#60 of 102 in Tel Aviv
2,169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Metropolitan Hotel
Metropolitan Hotel
#57 of 102 in Tel Aviv
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Isrotel Tower Hotel
Isrotel Tower Hotel
#54 of 102 in Tel Aviv
360 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel
Grand Beach Hotel
#73 of 102 in Tel Aviv
781 reviews
4.3 mi away
Leonardo Boutique Hotel Tel Aviv
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Art Tel Aviv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Art Tel Aviv

Address: 9 Eliezer Peri Street, Tel Aviv 61032, Israel (Formerly Marina Hotel Tel-Aviv)
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range: $153 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Art Tel Aviv 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leonardo Art Hotel offers culture, comfort and a prime location on Tel Aviv's beachfront With its unique boutique atmosphere, the new Leonardo Art Hotel is the perfect place for a romantic getaway, family vacation or enjoyable business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Leonardo Art Tel Aviv reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Tel Aviv
Tel Aviv Mercure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing