We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good price, perfect location”
Review of Gordon Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gordon Inn Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

close to the main streets, good budget hotel, good and friendly staff. they help you to find your way in the city and have good advice for restaurants and bars., Hotel is 5 min. walk from the beach. Tel Aviv has great beaches

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruud1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 426 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night in April 2012 after 14 days of trekking around Jordan and Israel. It was easily the worst place I stayed on the whole trip.

For $75 a night, I expect more than tatty rooms, rarely cleaned shared facilities, lumpy beds and useless pillows.

Also, do not allow yourself to be duped by the photos. This place is 5 blocks from the beach, and nor does not it have a view of the beach. The area around the hotel has plenty of bars and restaurants, but nothing that justifies the price.

Spend a bit more and get a lot more is my advice for anyone considering this hell hole.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face onto the main street as it is busy 24/7, even during Passover...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Markgdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed in an 8 bed mixed dorm. We were given sheets that were meant to be clean but were dirty, and our room was cramped and small. The beds looked grosse. Woke up to three of our party of four covered in bed bug bites. Apparently the rooms had just been fumigated but obviously not well enough. We left after one night and demanded our money back for the second night.

Room Tip: Wouldn't recommend you staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank s06b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed one night in a 4 person mixed dorm, and one night in a double with shared bathroom. Both rooms were very clean, as was the bedding and towels.

DOUBLE ROOM was great with air con, but the air conditioning was freezing and we could not seem to regulate it. Staff is super helpful, location is great, and rooms are clean and tidy. 24hr reception - great! Breakfast is ok, but there are plenty of cute cafes 2mins away. Pleasant experience, thank you! Would stay there again.

DORM ROOM was cramped - the door hits against one of the bunks. Air-con in the double was not adjustable and was freezing. Shared. Bathrooms could do with a little renovating, but showers are ok. No lift, so beware if you have heavy or bulky luggage.

Staff was great and stored our luggage the whole day we checked out without charging anything.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask reception how/ if it is possible to regulate the AC in the doubles, as ours was bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ground_otter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

hey there i stayed there a night and was really deceive compare to the reviews i read before. the guy i saw at the reception for check in was just not a person you should see at a reception of a hostel. the room was [--], 8 bed in pretty small environment and not clean at all, shower is the same... the only good point was the breakfast in thz morning which is nice and the nigt evening receptionnist who been really kind. i would nt go back but give it a try to have your own idea

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcbreizh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I spent one night at this hotel and it was the worst night of my entire trip in Israel. I was originally at a different hotel but they were fully booked for one night so they recommended this one and booked it for me. When I got to the Gordon Inn I was informed that I could not enter my room for another hour because it was being fumigated for bugs. When I was eventually allowed to enter there were 8 beds in a VERY small room, they give you your sheets and towels in a garbage bag. The fitted sheet must have shrunk because it did not fit the single bed. There were rips and tears in the sheets, they had stains, and the pillow was lumpy and had stains on it as well. It turns out when they offer you a mixed room of guys and girls, they really mean that they will stick a 19 year old girl in a room with 7 old men. The tiny fridge they provide in the room fits one MAYBE two water bottles, defiantly not useful for that many people in a room, and it stunk, it had defiantly not been cleaned in months. The bathrooms were tiny, you could barley close the doors in then, the showers had mildew in them and stunk. The hotel is also on a busy street corner so it is very loud, you can hear everything going on on the streets all night long even with the windows closed. The bedroom doors need a key to be locked on the INSIDE as well as the out, and there is no quiet way to close the doors, there's no knob to turn, the key turns the lock, so if you wanted to close the door quietly you would have to put the key in on one side, open the door, put the key in on the other side, close the door, then lock it and take it out. No one does this (it would also be a huge pain to do it if you can think of doing it this way) so you wake up every time someone opens the door, and with 8 people in a room the door opens a LOT.

In the morning I went to breakfast where I was literally screamed at by the owner to eat my food and get out, apparently he had two separate breakfast times, and my room number was the second one, but rather then saying "please wait to eat until the second time" he screamed for me to get out and I didn't know why. He refused to allow another person get a cup of coffee because it was the wrong breakfast time, and yelled at her as well.

The breakfast. It was all clearly left overs from several days, the traditional cucumber tomato salad was slimy, the humus, tuna, and other toppings looked like they had past the expiry date. The bread was all in bags and was stale, and the juice machines had not been cleaned in G-d knows how long. There was mold growing on the spouts.

Lastly the location was horrible, it claims to be near the beach and shopping but the beach was at least a 15-20min walk away and the market/shopping area was at least 30min. There are so many better locations of hostels and hotels in Tel Aviv, some right on the water for the same price.

I will NEVER go to this place again, it was a horrible experience. Every hostel I've stayed at was a million times better then this place and I've been to a few sketchy ones.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tealbird_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Tel Aviv is relatively expensive when it comes to accommodation. This place is economical for Tel Aviv standard but what is going for it is location. It is a block away from beach and very close to good nightlife. So you can grab your towel and go to beach without any preparation. The room was simple and basic with Motel 6 quality. The bathroom was shared. However, seems like there are plenty of showers hence I never had to wait for one.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.9 mi away
Armon Hayarkon
Armon Hayarkon
#69 of 101 in Tel Aviv
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Artplus Hotel Tel Aviv - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Florentin House
Florentin House
#1 of 98 in Tel Aviv
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Abraham Hostel Tel-Aviv
Abraham Hostel Tel-Aviv
#2 of 98 in Tel Aviv
549 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beachfront Hostel
Beachfront Hostel
#8 of 98 in Tel Aviv
449 reviews
1.3 mi away
Little Tel-Aviv Hostel
Little Tel-Aviv Hostel
#3 of 98 in Tel Aviv
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordon Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordon Inn Hotel

Address: 77 Ben Yehuda | Tel Aviv, Israel, Tel Aviv 6343503, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 98 Specialty Lodging in Tel Aviv
Price Range: $73 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gordon Inn Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Tel Aviv, just steps from the beautiful shores of the Mediterranean , the Gordon Inn offers comfortable quality guest rooms. All rooms are air-conditioned, with flat screen TV's and a large selection of channels. On our doorstep are tons of great cafes, bars, and restaurants, whilst the major historic and cultural attractions of Tel Aviv, including the Bauhaus White City and the famous Rothschild Boulevard, Old Jaffa, the Tel Aviv Port, and the many museums, galleries, and cultural institutions are within walking distance or a short ride away by bus or cab. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Gordon Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gordon Hotel Tel Aviv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing