We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Tel Aviv for families! A sanctuary!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tel Aviv
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beit Immanuel Hostel
Reviewed April 24, 2010

We spent 4 days in Beit Immanuel Hostel and if I ever return to Israel, this is where I will return. A real gem. We all had a good laugh at the previous reviewers who seem to be very inexperienced travellers. The bottom line is this: if you are single, want to party, have no interest in history and are inclined towards narcissim, then don't stay here. However, if you seek a sanctuary, a spacious, fresh, quiet place steeped in history, with lots of like minded people and those who volunteer their time, then come here. Located in old Jaffa, the building is over 100 years old and was formerly a grand hotel owned by the Ustinovs. Later it was used as a school and offices. The facade is exactly as it was in 1910 as displayed in photos in the history room showing a visit from the German Prince. Next time we visit, the grandeur of the now crumbling building next door will be restored. There is a large poster showing the planned restoration. Formerly an American and German colony, restorations are now taking place in buildings around Beit Immanuel. I prefer the unrestored nature of this place. We spoke to an 85 year old great grandmother who spoke of how she grew up in this area and was chased here by a cow as a child.
There is a large car park at the back including playground. Breakfast is fresh and all that you need. Friday nights are 'messianic' musical evenings (rather professional)- even if you are atheistic (as we are), this is most
moving and fun.
The rooms are very large, fresh 500 thread count cotton linen, bathrooms clean, tea/coffee in every room plus communal kitchen, reading rooms and large airy lounge area with natural light. Daily newspaper too! All this for less than $30 USD pp. Now, where else could you get this?
In short, this is a gem of a hostel and my only concern is that too many might find this out and the quiet discovery might change it's character. Don't tell too many people!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sorpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Beit Immanuel Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 50 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2010

The Beit Immanuel Guest House is an interesting lodging choice and I think it is run by church volunteers. This guest house has everything to be a great vacation experience but it needs some maintenance and the building next door is abandoned, unsafe, and actually falling apart. We had a large apartment style room that appeared to have been renovated in the 1940s and the subsequent maintenance on the room was definitely not professional. Overall this guest house is walking distance historic Jaffa, the neighborhood is uneven but safe, the staff is friendly and helpful, but I don’t know if this is the kind of place that you would stay more than one night.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kurt5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Beit Immanuel looks clean and nice, like the description says, met just two of the staff, one very nice and helpful girl that worked the afternoon/night, and a less helpful lady that worked the morning (which probably should have been placed in another job than sitting in the reception, as I didn't find her much friendly or helpful, felt more like I was bothering her by coming to the reception at all). They don't have a laundry service, even though it's stated on their page that there would be machines where you could use coins... at least according to the last mentioned lady in the reception.. I would remove it from the site, to not fool any visitors who might have to choose between places and base the stay on that it's laundry possibility's there.
If you're staying outside longer than 11:00PM you can borrow a key to a metal door one floor up (stairs), which is nice, though it should maybe have been a sign on the door which leads into the hostel after getting through that one. It's also free parking, which is super nice if you have a car. :)
It's a very sweet little church building outside the hostel, though I don't remember the name on it, but it seemed to me when the taxi drove me there, that he knew that church, better than the hostel for some reason.

I got a room for three, even though I just ordered for a solo traveler, which was OK, as I figured they probably had filled up the smaller rooms. The room in itself was simple, but nice with three beds, cupboards, and closets, and a small bathroom.
It's some noise from the hallway when people enter/leaves a room, but bearable, else the area seemed quiet as far as I can remember.

My problem started the first night when I entered the room after being outside, when it was two cockroaches running over the floor the second the light turned on, the next night I discovered it to be more than that + unwanted "guests" in the bed.
If it weren't for the bedbugs and cockroaches (or similar crawling bugs), and very hard mattresses in my room, I would have stayed longer, but after staying two nights with barely any sleep due to the really hard mattress, and waking up with bites from the bedbugs, I had enough.
I went down to the reception the last day and said I wanted to check out, due to the bedbug problem, which I got, with no more questions asked. What surprises me was that she didn't ask if I wanted to change rooms (if they had any available), or was it because it would be the same problem in the other rooms? At least I would have asked so if I worked in a hostel.

I knew some others I met on my trip thought it sounded like a good idea to stay there later, I didn't reach to warn them, but hopefully they had a better stay than me, with no bedbugs, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Only_in_Gods_way
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2009

a very old building in need for repairs. no lift so you have to struggle on the stairs if you have heavy luggage. 11 o'clock-the hostel is closed so if you are outside you have to be adventurous on some outside stairs to open a heavy mtal door on the first roof from outside a whole adventure. our room was clean execpt the terrible spots in the bathroom which were impossible to clean. a smoll breakfast in the morning which was nice as it was in a garden. you get what you pay for. 300 shekels for a double room is quite cheap for TEL AVIV -some £50.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitzi123466789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2007

I had the most wonderful experience here. I only stayed one night, but it was so memorable that I want to return for a longer stay. It was run by young volunteers, there was a religious service with music going on in the morning when I awoke, breakfast was wonderful, and I got a chance to talk to some very interesting people from diverse backgrounds. It was within close walking distance of Old Jaffa. The food sold on the streets was amazing. I couldn't have asked for a more delightful experience. One reason I want to return is to talk to and get to know the people who pass through, stay, and volunteer here. It was very sad to me that I had to leave before getting to know more about the people I met. The facilities were old but clean, comfortable, inexpensive, and open to light and air. This was two years ago, so I hope it hasn't changed.

  • Stayed: June 2005, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jadekitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2007

I have contacted Beit Immanual Guest House in Tel Aviv, Jaffa,
2 months prior to my trip.
I was asked for a one-night deposit to secure my reservation, which I sent via my credit card.

One day before leaving on my trip, I wrote them an email to remind them of my imminent arrival. To my surprise, this is the moment they awaited to inform me that the price for the room had increased with almost 20%!

Needless to say, I canceled my reservation because I didn't want to arrive to their door, tired and carrying luggage, just to be informed of yet another price hike.

In my opinion, the way they do business at the Beit Immanuel Guest House is absolutely outrageous.

5  Thank pulcino3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
Thank irinale2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tel Aviv hotels
0.3 mi away
Florentin House
Florentin House
#1 of 98 in Tel Aviv
139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar-Kayma Hostel
Bar-Kayma Hostel
#46 of 98 in Tel Aviv
9 reviews
0.1 mi away
Florentine Hostel
Florentine Hostel
#7 of 98 in Tel Aviv
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Old Jaffa Hostel
Old Jaffa Hostel
#31 of 98 in Tel Aviv
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
House in Shalma
House in Shalma
#14 of 41 in Tel Aviv
2 reviews
0.2 mi away
Milk & Honey Hostel
Milk & Honey Hostel
#12 of 98 in Tel Aviv
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beit Immanuel Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beit Immanuel Hostel

Address: 8 Auerbach Street | P.O.Box 2773, Tel Aviv 61027, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 98 Specialty Lodging in Tel Aviv
Price Range: $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing