We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best!!!!!!!!”
Review of Vaniglia

Vaniglia
Ranked #20 of 42 Dessert in Tel Aviv
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
102 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“the best!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We have now eaten at 3 of the Vaniglia outlets, and this is without a doubt the finest ice cream that i have ever tasted! I am a chocolate lover, and there were 3 or 4 different chocolate combinations that appealed and were delicious. Coming from Northampton, MA, home of Herrels Ice Cream which I had previously considered the best, I was very pleasantly surprised.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mordechai K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    15
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
234 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Fantastic gelateria”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Ice cream is now, blessedly, a super competitive business in Tel Aviv; and this has been my favorite for years. They first opened in a little neighborhood store front in northern Tel Aviv (on Basel Square), and have slowly expanded to several branches -- and unlike other businesses that let quality slide with expansion, this place has maintained really great quality. I love the flagship flavors -- cheesecake and bittersweet chocalate, and usually choose one of those, alongside my other favorites -- pistachio, or banana pecan, or mascarpone with wild cherries. One of these days I will have the good sense to just walk in and point randomly at two unfamiliar flavors, and go for something new -- because it is all so good. There is a ton of variety for everyone, and it's always fresh. I remember once asking, years ago, why they didn't offer sugar-free varieties (they eventually did) -- and the answer was, we haven't found a way yet to make it as good as the original flavors. I loved the honesty of that answer, and the high standards it reflected.

A few hints: Vaniglia really shouldn't be classified within Neve Tzedek per se, as their are locations all throughout Tel Aviv -- in such hot spots as off Rabin Square, and at the northern port. But my favorite location will always be the small shop on Bazel Square -- one of the most charming squares in Tel Aviv, a wonderful place to sit and enjoy some free time, plus you get the added twinge of fun of eating great ice cream at Vaniglia's original small location.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
330 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Tasty ice cream”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stumbled upon this nice little ice cream shop not too far from Rabin Square. They have a big selection of flavors, some of them traditional flavors from Israel. It was a hot evening, so we couldn't resist.

The ice cream doesn't come cheap (pretty much a given in Tel Aviv), but it was delicious.

Definitely a place to check out!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pat5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
237 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“very delicious”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

After dinner, we wanted ice cream. Saw a little shop with long lines on a hot evening. Figured it must be good. And it was surprisingly delicious (and this is someone from the Dairyland who knows custard). The choices and all the possible combinations were seemingly endless.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best ice team”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

I was in mitcham hatachana, and came across the ice cream place... Omg so Many options didn't know which to take!!!
Amazing!!! Must go!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Viola78Bournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vaniglia also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Vaniglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing