We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The birth of a nation”

Independence Hall Museum
Ranked #11 of 275 things to do in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Independence Hall- the birthplace of the State of Israel and the birthplace of the first Hebrew speaking city, Tel-Aviv. As one of the forerunners to the Historical Sites of the State of Israel, this house (cornerstone 1910) tells the story of the beginnings of the City of Tel-Aviv, Meir Dizengoff - the first Mayor of Tel-Aviv, and the famous ceremony which took place on May 14, 1948, as David Ben-Gurion declared the establishment of the State of Israel. Through audio-visual mediums come take part in the exciting moment in the birth of the State of Israel.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The birth of a nation”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Scriptures say "Can a nation be born in a day?" and this is the place it was birthed! The declaration of independence, knowing the response from Israel's neighbors would be immediate attack, was so courageous. The guide again was so critical in bringing detials of the story-like the call letters on the microphone. What a critical point in world history.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sande57701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    160
    43
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Inspiring Museum”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a very interesting small museum that you visit with a tour guide from the Museum. Our tour guide was excellent and provided a wonderful background. Our visit consisted on a tour with a guide and we watched a video. I highly recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BMK45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“well done movie and professiopnal presnetation.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

All in english and well done. Learned so much. Seemed like yesterday I was there in 1948 when it all happened

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very interesting great guide”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Though I have travelled to Israel on many more then one occasion, I have never visited this particular museum. Though it is small by its very concept, the tour guide was fantastic. She brought everything to light and brought forth her love of the country and its people. I believe it made all the people their sit up with pride and many sang aloud Hatikvah the Israel National Anthem

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank larryandevelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Independence Hall - 1st stop on your Israel Experience”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This should be your absolute 1st port of call on your visit to Israel. It demonstrates the bravery of the Israeli leaders in declaring independence and the modest facilities are a reflection on those early days. It makes you proud to be Jewish seeing what has been achieved despite all the adversity. Don't miss Favid Ben Gurion's inspirational speech. Enjoy and take some tissues.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ozijoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Independence Hall Museum also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Independence Hall Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing