We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointing”

Tel Aviv Museum of Art
Book In Advance
More Info
$295.00*
and up
Tel Aviv Museums Tour from Tel Aviv Hotels
Ranked #6 of 277 things to do in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum features a rich collection of art including European works from the 16th to 19th centuries, Impressionism, Post-Impressionism and 20th-century modernism.
Spokane, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

It's great as an exhibition centre, but I must admit, that temporary exhibitions are presented in a better way than permanent collection. My general impression was that with such resources they could have done better.
Beware of hall administrators! It's not only that they watch you constantly in the halls, but they follow you to other section of the museum)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank IvaGorenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    924
    388
    99
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not for us”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Enjoyed the photography exhibits but didn't appreciate some of the modern art. We didn't stay too long but having said that there are definitely some pieces worth looking at.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BluebelleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best in Tel Aviv, but not amazing”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The TAMA is nice and fun, but you should check out the exhibits online before going. The Israeli exhibits aren't always great, but sometimes there are real gems.

I personally recommend the Modern art section. It's a bit hidden so you might want to ask the staff how to get there. But it's my favorite section, a great collection.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank haoneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Impressive new wing”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Recently added an impressively designed new wing. Displays a wide selection of modern Israeli art with a selection of 20th century classics

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank dlisbona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A must for an art lover”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This museum has a wonderful collection of pictures from the impressionist to our day (earlier too, but apart from a lovely Rubens portrait and one by Gainsborough not so amazing, in my opinion.) There is one gem after the other. Almost too much to take in in one visit, so I will have to to come back. The museum shop is filled with very nice things.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hanica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tel Aviv Museum of Art also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Tel Aviv Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing